Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value
These days this tablet trades at significantly less than you can buy any other tablet with 3G and GPS. It is light, a nice size, and comes with a free case. It feels sturdy, I haven't noticed it being slow (except with a live wallpaper). It seems to have good wifi, 3G and GPS signal strength. The screen is responsive, only needing a light touch, and bright...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by I. Downes

versus
80 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good-looking average boy
According to the product description, this has an Intel Atom N550 1.5 Ghz processor, 16GB internal storage, 2GB (is that the RAM or SD card?) and running Android 2.2

If you lookup the specs on the Viewsonic website, the Viewpad 7 has completely different specs - QUALCOMM 600 Mhz processor, 512MB internal storage and 512MB RAM.

Well, I ordered one to...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Sanjay Karanjkar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value, 8 Dec 2011
By 
I. Downes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
These days this tablet trades at significantly less than you can buy any other tablet with 3G and GPS. It is light, a nice size, and comes with a free case. It feels sturdy, I haven't noticed it being slow (except with a live wallpaper). It seems to have good wifi, 3G and GPS signal strength. The screen is responsive, only needing a light touch, and bright.

Adobe Flash isn't compatible but Skyfire does the same thing better (uses less data when on 3G). You will need a micro SD card, as the internal memory is almost none existent, but that's £12 for a 16gb card. But if you can cope with using iplayer through the web interface on skyfire, this device offers significant financial savings over any other genuinely branded product.

Contrary to what one review suggests it does not need a special car adapter, but it is mini USB not micro USB like most new devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great unit, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
I have been very happy with my purchase of the Viewpad 7, I got it in Jan 2011 and it does everything I need it to do. Whilst the processor is 600MHz is not the fastest in the world it runs very very quick and have found the screen to be very responsive. Android Marketplace access is great for lots of apps, and whilst it doesn't have flash (I use an iPhone anyway) so am not used to having it and it would only drain the battery. For iPlayer access however I am using the Myplayer app. Have found it a great device that actually still fits in my pocket and yet is big enough to be used for Sat Nav too, I use Navigon app..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does everything I need it to, 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
I bought this device because I wanted a eBook reader, video player, music player, web browser, GPRS and upgraded phone. It does all of this really well.

APPS
Android market is well serviced and the management system on the device is simple to use. I find Tweetdeck works particularly well for Twitter and you can add all your social media accounts to it.

BATTERY
Life is reasonable if not streaming media or running apps constantly. Also turn off wifi/apps if not required, to conserve power. Charges quickly from mains or slightly slower from USB source.

DEVICE
Comes with the flexible case and good noise isolating, in-ear bud headphones. I found the flexible rubber was a bit too snug and the vacuum was affecting my breathing so changed the rubber buds and works brilliantly. Good volume even on a noisy tube.
Has 'flight mode' and vibrate capability. Does a mini vibrate when you use function buttons but you can switch off if required.
Virtual keyboard is ergonomic and device does that clever thing which changes aspect from horizontal to vertical to allow easier reading use when you physically tip it. POssible to type with both hands on the keyboard but I am a lady so I probably have slightly smaller fingertips.
Possible to load and set personal ringtones and message alerts but you need to get the instructions online to do this as it doesn't come with any except how to actually get the device up and running.
You will need to purchase a micro SD card with this product and your choices are 16MB or 32MB. If you choose not to, your camera and video capability won't work and the space for other media will fill up very quickly which will restrict what the tablet can do.
The permanent notification bar at the top of the screen will show icons when you have alerts for social media, email, warnings etc...

EMAIL
Works great with multiple accounts from different providers,you can switch between them without having to keep logging in. You can set up push email or just use a browser to access.I prefer to use Opera to access my work email. Using Gmail you can access most functions from the tablet but restricted from the account settings and therefore can't access the filters, out of office etc.. menu.

FLASH
Bah! Slightly annoying is the lack of flash capability which denies access to iplayer and authoring functions on Posterous. Although you can view Posterous spaces/main site, can't really edit it.

PHONE
Automatically is loudspeaker unless connected to headset or bluetooth device.Contacts will synch with email contacts automatically. As does the calendar function. Haven't yet found how to get a notification flashing out of it so if you don't hear the alert tone it may be some time before you check your messages.

3G/WIFI
Connects to wifi automatically when in range, if capability is on. Switches to 3G via SIM card when out of range automatically, without alerting you.

Overall, it's a very intuitive device and has completely replaced my mobile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Viewpad7, 7 Oct 2011
By 
C. B. Inns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
It is somewhat clunkier than other slimline tablets. It does not handle flash although skyfire gets you half-way there. Screen resolution reasonable, screen sensitivity fine, battery OK. A purchase of additional memory is necessary.

The main plus point is that it has 3g. Insert a sim card and you can get some terrific deals, e.g. 6 months internet for £20. I am not quite sure why anyone would buy a tablet with wifi only. If you want portability (and surely that is the point of a tablet) then the lack of 3g really limits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good-looking average boy, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Sanjay Karanjkar "Sanjubaba" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
According to the product description, this has an Intel Atom N550 1.5 Ghz processor, 16GB internal storage, 2GB (is that the RAM or SD card?) and running Android 2.2

If you lookup the specs on the Viewsonic website, the Viewpad 7 has completely different specs - QUALCOMM 600 Mhz processor, 512MB internal storage and 512MB RAM.

Well, I ordered one to see if this was really an Intel Atom N550 with 16GB memory. To my disappointment, the specs are as per the Viewsonic website (QUALCOMM 600 Mhz processor, 512MB internal storage and 512MB RAM) and I have returned this item to Amazon.

In the nutshell, the letdowns are: Slow processor (will not be upgradeable to Honeycomb, also will not support BBC player), No memory card included, screen resolution not very impressive.

However, if you are not too bothered by the slow processor, I must say that the tablet is very smart to look, feels expensive, has a responsive touchscreen, and comes with a SIM card slot and leatherette case. Which is why I have given 3 stars to the product.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update: I see that the product description has now been corrected to "ViewSonic ViewPad 7 (7" screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't be without it now - superb little machine., 8 Feb 2012
By 
Joiner (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
Had it now for almost three weeks and every day I learn more about it with each download, whether an app, kindle book, or document or pdf. Now that I've downloaded the DejaOffice app that links all diary and contact information between my laptop, Palm Tungsten E2 (there are still times when the smaller machine has a place) and the ViewPad nothing gets missed.

Using the onboard Navigation facility is also a dream. Not as good as the regular TomTom in terms of onboard ancillary information, but this comes free and having used it five times over country routes and once in Birmingham, it operated without hesitation or fault direct to the destination, even recognising a small rural village by nothing more than its name, not even a county entered. That's impressive, as is the Google Maps facility, which tracks your movement to an amazingly accurate couple of metres - yeah, OK, you can get that on your phone, but that's not like having a paperback-size map in your hand.

Ease of use and clarity of display are other features I applaud, making reading downloaded (and copied over from the PC) reference and technical books a dream, even complex graphs are easy to read.

The phone is as good as the rest of the facilities.

Everything in a package the size of a paperback. Best buy for years.

Video'd my daughter when trying out her choice of wedding dresses and she was blown away by the experience of seeing what they looked like in real-time and how stunning she looked from ALL angles, not just the static view you get in mirrors.

Just buy it!

(Oh, and the downloaded 40+ pages of ViewSonic User Guide is just so much scrap paper. You're far better off going onto YouTube or one of the Android forums for help getting into the various functions, especially the facility for dragging over files off your PC, which is 'hidden' behind one of the menu screens - once you've sussed that everything is simplicity itself.)

And the standard case it comes in is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars broother has it and its great, 12 May 2012
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
my brother has this and i must say i am quite jealous, tje battery lasts for a long time because my bro is continuosly playong on it witb out charging it. He said that its not that fast but im sure the price overides it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I expected, 9 May 2012
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
When I bought this I thought to my self this is made by a well respected company. As I opened the box I thought that it was a bit chunky but looked stylish it came with a case aswell which I was not expecting. As it is a 2.2 operating system it isn't as fast as the ipad but u have yo remember that the ipad is more then double the price and doesn't have 3g built in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tablet and phone !! buy one, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Joseph Sullivan (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
I purchased this from amazon a while ago,and got it for an excellent price,it is very good,only small drawback is it cannot use flash player,because the specs are not high enough 600mghz processor,but browsing the web is no problem,and the screen is great and capacitive as well,so quite smooth,it connects to wi fi with no problem,has android 2.2 installed,but probably wont get any further updates because of the specs 600 mghz again,,you can download all the apps from android market,the tablet is quite weighty, but not over so,i find it comfortable to use and hold,,the screen around the edge is thin which makes it look good,the screen is glass,it comes supplied with a leatherette case to keep it protected,it also seems to hold a charge for quite a long time,if you switch off wi fi,gps etc,i compared this to the galaxy 7 inch tablet and the commtiva is smaller in size,although a bit thicker,and the commtiva can take any sim card and be used like a mobile phone,make calls,browse internet,navigate like a sat nav with google navigation for free, this little tablet is excellent and a lot cheaper than an ipad,and it makes phone calls,no ipad can do that yet!! so i would highly reccomend this tablet/phone think of it like a large iphone,just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AWSOME, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: ViewSonic ViewPad 7 ( 7 inch screen, Android 2.2, ARM11 600MHz, 3G, Wi-Fi, BT2.1, Micro SD slot, front and back camera) - Sim Free (Electronics)
I must admit I am still trying to get to grips with ViewSonic the hand book was rubbish not enough information.,and when I went on the internet site I could only find things to buy.What am I doing rong ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews