Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joe bonamassa
Ibecame aware of Joe Bonamassa by word of mouth and bought one of his cds Inow have them all.Live at the albert hall is the latest release.Iwas moved by the wonderful music contained on this double cd.Icould go on and on about how good this guitarist really is his vocals have it all. Sheer class is about the best way to sum it up. There is a dvd available of this gig and...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by hound dog

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
A great guitarist, with some great songs, but somehow the live atmosphere doesn't come across. Production is not good and frankly I got pretty bored listening to the 10minute solo instrumental. Probably great live.
Published 16 months ago by Olaf Stormcloud


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joe bonamassa, 21 Nov. 2010
Ibecame aware of Joe Bonamassa by word of mouth and bought one of his cds Inow have them all.Live at the albert hall is the latest release.Iwas moved by the wonderful music contained on this double cd.Icould go on and on about how good this guitarist really is his vocals have it all. Sheer class is about the best way to sum it up. There is a dvd available of this gig and takes pride of place amongst my Magic SLIM albums .If you like amazing blues with a dose of rock thrown in for good measure. Do your self a favour go out and buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant !, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
This is the full recording of what was a superb concert including guest appearances from Eric Clapton and Paul Jones. I have to say Joe Bonamassa did sound a little nervous talking to the audience but frankly the playing of him and the beefed up band (two drummers and forn section) was just superb
Highlights ? well Sloe Gin , Last Kiss , Ballad of John Henry, Better Times, Moutain Time - actually pretty much all of it, but if you want to hear what the fuss is about then this CD is a great place to start.
His guitar playing is a pleasure to listen to and this works as a record of the then pinnacle of his career.
(It was available on downloard for about three weeks last year so thats how I know what it sounds like ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live From The RAH, 23 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
Excellent companion piece to "live from nowhere in particular". Band is smokin' and Joe is on fire. Great mix of originals and covers. The blues are in safe hands, and Joe is definitely the best of the bunch of hot young things. He has absorbed and moulded all that has gone before into something very special. Here's to the next 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Bonamassa: Axe Hero, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
I have just discovered Joe, mainly by listening to Planet Rock. I thought the day of the guitar hero had long since passed in the realms of the distant folklore . However, Joe has given the virtuoso player fresh new life and this live double CD allows the first time listener to become aquainted with this supreme but underated talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Bonamassa a true Great that gets better and better, 6 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
Well what can you say about this guy' I have all of Joe's albums and this one is awesome.I first saw Joe live in Birkenhead about three years ago and his guitar playing made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.I love the brass section on this recording, and the live version of slow gin on this set is simply brilliant. I cannot wait for the blue ray dvd to arrive so I can see it and enjoy a true great guitar player . keep on playing the blues Joe' a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joe bonamassa live from the albert hall cd, 5 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got the dvd when it was released. got a bootleg of this on line. will i be buying
this official release. of coarse i will. the guy is the best of a great bunch of
players about at the moment. buy everything he has released if you like blues rock at its very best. if you like free bad co led zep etc just buy, and go see him live. stunning! got into him with a free track on a classic rock cd and havn't looked back. on this release joe and eric trading solos. the best of the old and new
GREAT STUFF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING TALENT, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
I first came accross this guy on Planet Rock radio. I went to youtube to hear more then, I bought this album.
Outstanding is somehow, a real understatement to describe this talent and the album he has produced, but any word would be. Having played guitar since the age of sven and performing live at 13 yrs. old, you can begin to understand what a master he is. There is nothing that I dislike on this album, the atmosphere must have been incredible at the venue.
The favourite track for me is Sloe Gin, but there are some others that come close.
Joe Bonamassa has a style and sound all of his own, even when he does a cover. This kind of talent only goes to show the manufactured so-called talent from the TV reality shows for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Bonamassa - Live from the Royal Albert Hall., 22 Aug. 2013
By 
J. R. Wilde "eclecticJez" (Herfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
I have nothing wrong that I can say about Joey B as I own just about everything he's recorded and this stacks up with some of the best. I do, however, have one small suggestion for potential buyers - get the DVD version and watch as well as listen. Having seen the concert, the CD just seems to lack a certain je ne sais quoi; maybe it's the intimacy of the visuals, the sight of the band and the audience reaction, JB's facial expressions as he's fighting for a note or sustain, the obvious pleasure shown by both Eric Clapton and Paul Jones when they appear, whatever, it adds something to the performance that seemed missing on the CD.
Having said that, if you're a fan of the blues, played by one of the best in the business, just buy this double CD, sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a performance, 17 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
I am new to joe`s work but not for much longer!!This is a staggering performance containing some blues/rock music of the highest order.You must get this album.What a modest performer who clearly likes to share his music with anyone who appreciates his "sound".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rewriting the book on guitar, 29 Mar. 2011
By 
Robert Potter "mojowire" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From The Royal Albert Hall (Audio CD)
I first came across JB at a gig at the Hawth, a small theatre in Crawley, back in 2008. The next tour was on a rather larger scale, and included this gig (which I didn't get to), and last year I saw him again at the Hammersmith Apollo. In between times I have collected all his official releases and quite a few bootlegs.

The thing about Joe is not just that he is a stunning guitar technician - there are lots of those, especially in the metal genre (IMHO): his focus on a blues-derived form of music means that he has retained a lot of soul, feel, call it what you like, but an emotional connection to the music which reaches out to the listener. And moreover, this guy is a reconnection to the fretwork of the bands I grew up with: his influences are not just the blues originals, but actually primarily the 60s British Blues Boomers, as you can tell from his set list over the years: this Albert Hall set comprises mostly originals or covers of fairly recent stuff, but mainstays of his earlier live gigs have included tunes from Jeff Beck (Blues De Luxe), Free (Walk In My Shadow), Mayall (Another Kinda Love), Tull (A New Day Yesterday - sometimes segueing into Yes's Starship Tooper and Würm), TYA (One Of These Days), Blind Faith (Had To Cry Today), Rory Gallgher (Cradle Rock), Hendrix (Are You Experienced, Spanish Castle Magic, If 6 Was 9), and Z Z Top (Just Got Paid the perennial finish, with added Dazed & Confused as a middle segment). He really really knows his 60s stuff - you often get a few bars from something else - Kashmir, say, or I Want You (She's So Heavy) - in the middle of his extended solos. Oh, and he's pretty damn good on acoustic, too... and if you really must have shredding, shrieking, and gibberish lyrics you could try his side-project Black Country Communion: some great guitar work, but not as much fun for me, I must say.

Anyway... to the Albert Hall... The sheer range of the playing is outstanding: from the amped-up acoustic thrash of Woke Up Dreaming through the straight soulful "traditional" blues of So Many Roads, Further On Up The Road (showing chops easily on a par with guest Eric Clapton) and Your Funeral My Trial (featuring long-time supporter Paul Jones), through the tribute to the 60s/70s (Blues De Luxe, Just Got Paid) and his own modern blues (The Great Flood, Ballad Of John Henry) and on to more straightforward rock like Happier Times, Sloe Gin, Story Of A Quarryman)... An inexhaustible supply of licks and runs, and some damn good tunes, soulful vocals, a stunning performance.

If you like guitar, get this. For someone like me, coming from that 60s time, Joe Bonamassa is the best thing I've seen or heard for 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live From The Royal Albert Hall
Live From The Royal Albert Hall by Joe Bonamassa (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews