Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Summer Read
Donna, a leading scientist in her field, is not happy with her boss, decides to resign from her post knowing she has another job to got to. Her new job allow her to carry on her research but her old boss comes after her, but what is he after? Her new employer tries to protect her from this threat but gives her other problems to worry about. Throw in a love triangle and...
Published on 14 July 2012 by highkicks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A vested interest
I found this book a bit dislocated. Heroine was supposed to be super intelligent genesist, but seemed dim about men. Trying to be James bond and mills and Boone didn't work for me.
Published 22 months ago by rroberta stableford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Summer Read, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
Donna, a leading scientist in her field, is not happy with her boss, decides to resign from her post knowing she has another job to got to. Her new job allow her to carry on her research but her old boss comes after her, but what is he after? Her new employer tries to protect her from this threat but gives her other problems to worry about. Throw in a love triangle and family problems and you have a really intriguing read. Must look out for the follow up as you really need to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vested interest, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
Great book but hadn,t realised another 7 after this one. Now on book 4 and every one equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vested interest review, 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
I have found this book gripping to read.
It reminds me of a English Da Vinci Code.
It's full of interesting twists and turns.
The baddie Forester is a evil peace of work and you really feel for anyone who works for him or gets caught up in his nasty going on's.he has people bumped off at the drop of a hat,his will in hit man John Lui is as evil as Forester.so no one wants to upset this very ill man.who leaves fear where ever he goes.
The love triangle between Donna, Richard and Sam is interesting and keeps you guessing.
Richard's father Sir Richard is head of a secret group called the Order. His mother is also a member.she is a battle axe with a heart.
The Order are a group of scientists who make top secret scientific discoveries,they live in a world of secrecy.controlling who or what is happening about them and the world.
If you are looking for a new book to have a good read then I would recommend this one.
I have just started the second book Dark Secrets (A Vested Interest),as A vested interest leaves you wondering what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A vested interest, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a bit dislocated. Heroine was supposed to be super intelligent genesist, but seemed dim about men. Trying to be James bond and mills and Boone didn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Vested Interest Book 1 (Kindle Edition), 1 Aug 2012
By 
Ajoobacats "Ajooba Cats" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
Dr Donna Rigden resigns from her post at D'netics in Louisiana after her new boss, Forrester, who takes over the company halts her research. On leaving her job, Donna stands up to Forrester who swears to avenge her for insulting him. Her cousin, Gary Browne works for the Newcastle Stem Cell Research Centre. Knowing her boss' reputation for being a dangerous man he arranges for Donna to be brought to the UK immediately.

Donna has been in contact with Richard Triplet for 5 years. Richard is the son of very influential Sir Richard Triplet who owns and runs the Newcastle Stem Cell Research Centre. Donna finds herself caught between Richard and Sam, a surgeon at the Stem Cell Research Centre and is put in a situation where she has to let the one she truly loves go.

Forrest continues his search for Donna stopping at no limits, he finds her forcing her to go into hiding. Forrest also needs the therapy developed at the Newcastle Stem Cell Research Centre to save his own life and he stops at nothing in attempts to achieve his goals. Teamed with a sinister gangster, Forrest pursues Donna in Newcastle.

Will he get the treatment in time? Will he capture Donna and torture her to death like he intends? Add to the mix a secret order and an eccentric and powerful Matriarch Lady Annabelle Triplet and things get nail bitingly exciting. Lady Annabelle is Richard's Grandmother and provides much humour and entertainment but is a force to be reckoned with.

This love triangle with science and medicine as well as technology has a lot of twists and turns and is the first in a series of 7 books to date. I did have a few pet peeves while I was reading it, an English woman referring to a saloon as a sedan, Sam being the only doctor managing trauma cases. Where was the anaesthetist? The Neurosurgeon? The maxillofacial surgeon? The science is understandably simplified but based on real principles.

The book ends on a cliff hanger, leaving us wondering what our protagonist Donna will do next and what she and her friends will face, as dark forces are after the work they are doing.

A highly enjoyable read and I look forward to continuing to read the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
The story didn't grab me at all and I gave up fairly early on. Perhaps I should try again, in which case my review would change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a vested interest, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant! What a page turner...in a hurry to read book two! Definately worth reading if you like a good long read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller, 23 May 2014
By 
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
“A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene” by John and Shelia Chapman is a gripping and intriguing medical thriller and the edited version of "A Vested Interest".
Our heroine, scientist Donna, clashes with her boss Forrest when she applies for a new job in New York. She quits but is forced to relocate to London for her safety because her research is of great interest and her boss won’t let her go without a fight or serious threads.
The medical and technological part of the story is great science fiction and serves as a great and fascinating background for the also very accomplished thriller segments. A love triangle and more complications make this a rich and very rewarding first in a series.
A must for fans of science fiction and medical thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Immortal Gene, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story, I didn't know which way the story was turning lots of twists in the tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vested interest, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene (Kindle Edition)
Strange but compelling reading theorists and turns which keeps you guessing the ending, then the book ends and you are non the wiser
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Vested Interest - Immortality Gene
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews