Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
To a certain extent it is the 2nd DVD with its 'extras' that helps put 'The Trip' into context. You see the various takes of a scene and then realise just how much effort has gone in to catch impromptu idle banter on screen. This banter between 2 Actors at the top of their profession is for me 'edge of the seat' stuff. You're waiting for the next quick, but half muffled...
Published 10 months ago by Katan David Mark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I found this after a while quite boring. I bought this expecting more but was very disappointed.
Published 7 days ago by Keithm


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once around, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this when it was on TV . It was certainly entertaining but I can't think of any reason why I would want to watch it more than once .
To me the entertainment came from the subtlety of the performances , the sometimes understated subtext . The second time around all that would be gone .
I enjoyed it but wouldn't want it on my shelf . Having said that , if you haven't seen it then it's worth the price to watch once and then pass around your friends .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brydon makes it for me, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I thought coogan was a bit of let down in this, he seems to get less and less funny the older he gets and begins to take himself far to seriously, brydon is hands down the funnier of the pair and the show is good don't doubt it but on the next trip leave steve coogan at home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, tedious, self indulgent, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I am generally a fan of both Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon, but the endless repetitive and frankly boring impressions made this unwatchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 April 2013
By 
Mr. Thomas E. Richardson (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Haven't got round to watching this but imagine it will be really very funny when i get round to buying a DVD player to play it on, oh yes and a TV I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Its Moments, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Johns (South-East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
This travelogue has been getting gushing praise from everyone, including the comment "pathos drenched" in The Guardian. It was cleverly scheduled to pick up viewers switching over from the execrable Downtown Abbey, with which it compares favourably. The premise is that an aging comedian (Coogan) is commissioned to write a restaurant column in The Observer. He invites along chat show host Brydon and they travel around eating expensive food up north.

The best bits are when Brydon winds up Coogan. In addition to eating, they spend their time doing impressions. The Michael Caine impersonations were good in the first episode, but less funny when repeated in a later episode. Tedium starts to set in from episode 2, as it becomes apparent that they don't have anything particularly interesting to say. Arguably, the low point was Brydon and Coogan delivering an excruciating rendition of Abba's Winner Takes It All in their car, at which point I questioned 'Why am I watching this ****?'

It picks up a bit at the end and the dream sequences were funny. Ultimately though it was perhaps Brydon who was the star of the show. As for Coogan, he seemed most bothered about his image and sex appeal. Perhaps he should lighten up a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gift, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
brought as a gift at xmas the film was asked seen the film before but wanted for their collection oh hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moronic Reviews, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I rarely find myself writing reviews for things off amazon but it annoys me when people are moronic. The Trip is a superbly acted, well SCRIPTED series. Why do people think that a programme that has been directed by Michael Winterbottom would have some improvised comedians being filmed while dining across Cumbria?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No no., 7 Sep 2011
By 
Briel fan (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't like this, too repetative. I do like both of the actors/comedians and that's why I bought it. Andit won a prestigious film award I think. These two are better in other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 108 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars self indulgent tat, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
This is self-indulgence beyond compare. Repetitive conversations, the same old tired impressions over and over again, and absolutely zero plot. Has put me right off Coogan and Brydon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is total junk, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Really really disappointing. Having read all the reviews I was looking forward to some good entertainment. But it's hard to understand what is the point of this DVD. Brydon is a pain in the arse with his repetitive impressions, whilst Coogan is just boring. the trip lacks any real purpose ande just isn't at all funny. Didn't finish it - it's not even easy watching as Brydon is so annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trip [DVD]
The Trip [DVD] by Michael Winterbottom (DVD - 2010)
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews