Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern (cult) classic.
As much a character study as it is a comedy this hidden-away gem reveals much, both good and bad, about the "real" Coogan and Brydon as they munch their way across Cumbria.

Coogan plays up his sullen, introverted reputation as he pines for his girlfriend and tries to get his Hollywood career back on track. Meanwhile Brydon provides most of the comedy as he...
Published on 31 Dec. 2010 by GT247

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars alright if you enjoy long drawn out films!
Found it such a bore, it never seemed to get going. Such a shame as these two actors are very good. It just goes on and on and on. There was a scene at the start where it lasts about 8 minutes of them trying to impersonate Michael cane!!!!
Published 3 months ago by deb hollie


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern (cult) classic., 31 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
As much a character study as it is a comedy this hidden-away gem reveals much, both good and bad, about the "real" Coogan and Brydon as they munch their way across Cumbria.

Coogan plays up his sullen, introverted reputation as he pines for his girlfriend and tries to get his Hollywood career back on track. Meanwhile Brydon provides most of the comedy as he continually annoys his colleague with constant impressions and upbeat mood.

You could easily get lost watching 2 or 3 episodes in a row (or better still all 6) whilst listening to the repartee between the guys. This show would excel if released on blu-ray but, until that happy day, this DVD is a super way to spend a cold winter's night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
To a certain extent it is the 2nd DVD with its 'extras' that helps put 'The Trip' into context. You see the various takes of a scene and then realise just how much effort has gone in to catch impromptu idle banter on screen. This banter between 2 Actors at the top of their profession is for me 'edge of the seat' stuff. You're waiting for the next quick, but half muffled impression, snide dig or personal reflection almost as if it's a suspense drama. It's a bit like watching Picasso doodling in the sand. But then that's why I gave it a 4 rather than 5. I needed at times something just a little less than idle banter.
And why oh why did "Trevor Eves" get relegated to 'deleted scenes'? It was probably my absolute favourate scene. Possibly because it didn't quite fit in to 'idel banter'?
And don't miss the gripping flashing swordplay as they fight through who does the better Michael Caine impression - and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trip is a Michelin Star Feast!, 22 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say this is one of the best things I have seen on TV in recent years. It is sublime, from the acting, to the stunning scenery of the north and the hauntingly beautiful soundtrack crafted by the deft hand of Michael Nyman. Everything comes together like a dish served by Heston Blumenthal. I genuinely agree with the other review stating this will become a classic in years to come and will most likely be used for students who are wanting to study beautiful film making.

The comedy served up by Messrs Coogan and Brydon act merely as a backdrop for something far more dark going on in the bleak countryside, all of which seem to make this a post-modern classic love story, and like every love story there is a certain amount of tragedy, seemingly around the corner at any given moment.

Michael Winterbottom deserves the most praise. This is just fantastic stuff, and it's certainly not a run of the mill comedy in the vein of "Gavin & Stacey" or even " Alan Partridge", this is far more sincere and sombre and gives a real insight into a fractured soul aka. Coogan.

Credit where credit is due, Coogan has gone out on a limb here, and it works brilliantly. I do not think I will see another programme so achingly sad and funny for a long time. Well done to all involved, it has been a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melancholy merriment, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Allan Gordon "allangordon" (Erskine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
The Trip is simply extraordinary - it defies easy categorisation - is it a comedy or a drama, is it a post-modern exploration of fame and celebrity? However you choose to define it one thing is absolutely clear - it is very funny, especially in the competitive use of impersonations. The basic plot is that Steve Coogan has been commissioned to review half a dozen restaurants in the North of England and when his American girlfriend backs out he eventually asks Rob Brydon to accompany him on his trip. This is the basic narrative drive which then becomes an exploration of the nature of fame, the impact of ageing, the importance of love and relationships, comedy and the beauty and distinctiveness of the North of England.
The Trip is remarkable also for its cinematography. The lighting is beautiful and the locations are not just a backdrop but an integral part of the whole narrative. The Trip is a hymn of praise to the beauty of the North of England. Steve Coogan muses on the distinct identity that the North has and the central role it played in the Industrial Revolution and popular culture. The Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales are shown in all their wintry glory - I found myself planning when I could re-visit these magnificent landscapes. Rob Brydon recites Wordsworth at Malham and Bolton Abbey and although it is partially played for comic effect it is genuinely moving. Serious points are made through comedy - Steve likes to impart information and apply scientific knowledge when he visits landscapes whereas Rob likes to just enjoy the moment quietly. The two approaches are equally valid but very different. Steve has the tables turned on him at Malham - just watch as he tries to get away from another geology enthusiast.
The Trip is also courageous. Both Rob Brydon and Steve Coogan seem to play recognisable versions of what we may imagine their real characters to be like. Steve is neurotic, self-questioning and egotistical; Rob is open, sincere, light-hearted and relatively straight forward. There is a cruelty and egotism in Steve Coogan's character that is not only the source of humour but I found it to be genuinely unsettling on occasions. The series also juxtaposes the relationships with women that both men have. Steve is ostensibly more `successful' with women - he has had far more sexual partners and relationships but Rob's bond with his wife is very warm, loving and stable. Which brings me on to the abiding quality of The Trip - it is profoundly melancholy. Steve may be the bigger name but fame and success are transitory and for all his aspirations to be a great comic actor he has not achieved all that he feels he could have. He is preoccupied with ageing and both physical and professional decline. I will not say too much but in the final closing scenes it is clear which man is the most fulfilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hybrid helpings, 2 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I am not British so I didn't really know Steve Coogan.(Sorry Steve) The other guy I had seen on some Gavin & Stacy episode on a British Airways flight. I had no expectations of any sort really, just a hunch that it might be interesting. Michael Winterbottom is the director and his cinematography is just breathtaking. The landscapes are heartbreakingly beautiful. The food he photographs would make Nigella Lawson blush--my fave being the sticky toffee pudding with creme anglaise shot. The comedy is based on the supposed rivalry between the 2 comics, one moody, one not. Both are excellent at impersonating famous actors and their oneupmanship is hilarious. The out takes are genuinely funny. It's a whole new film genre.. the atmospheric -yet- silly- buddy movie for food and drink lovers.
God bless the BBC and Baby Cow for this ingenious offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sticky Toffee Pudding" or "Too Much Cheese", 10 July 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
The cover says it all!

It has been a long time since I have seen a television series that has made me laugh so much. The joy or embarrassment of this one is that we never know how much we see is scripted and acted, and how much consists of Messrs Coogan and Brydon playing themselves, of the director Michael Winterbottom placing them at a dining table and just turning on the camera.

Those who have seen the opening scenes to Winterbottom's film `A Cock and Bull Story' will already be aware of the chemistry that exists between these two performers. Or perhaps it is the very lack of chemistry between them that provides the entertainment?

Full marks are due to both actors for bravely bearing their personalities, even if this was within a scripted context. Coogan says Brydon's autobiography should be entitled `Too Much Cheese', but Bryon quickly retorts that Coogan's should be `Sticky Toffee Pudding'. The difference between them - Coogan is portrayed as a lonely soul, personally and professionally unsatisfied, whilst Brydon finds warmth and solace in the love of his family - is encapsulated in their discussion of the fable of the hare and the tortoise: Coogan is for the hare whilst Brydon contends that the tortoise may be slower, but he is certainly happier.

Both send themselves and each other up rotten, and their attempts to outdo each other in the stakes of Michael Caine impressions are a must-see. Indeed, impressions are a major feature of this series, ranging from the sound of sonar to that of Stephen Hawking.

Meanwhile, the scenery in the Lakes and the Dales is its usual stunning self. And hardly a drop of rain to be seen! I did take exception though to seeing Coogan driving after a lunch consisting of red, white, AND rose wine!

There is a generous package of extras, but alas nothing that is particularly enlightening about the workings-out of the series; no interviews with the participants that would break the mystery of the divides between fiction and fact, true opinion and script. Instead, we have fifty minutes of deleted scenes and an inane forty-five minutes of the two elaborating on the phrase `Gentlemen, to bed!' A behind-the-scenes photo-gallery and films of the preparation of the food are also included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic watch., 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Seeing the episodes close together rather than spaced out over their weekly time slots on TV is much more satisfying and enables the viewer to pick up far more on themes and strands that run through the series. The sense of coogan as a tragic hero is nicely played and hats off to the man for being willing to play himself in this way.
They play off each other beautifully and now that quiz shows has claimed our Welsh friend it's easy to forget what a good actor he is.
This slow pace and lingering shots of the scenery work exceptionally well. The reality of bickering friends constantly trying to outdo each other is uncomfortably familiar and ultimately it is the humanity of the "characters" (because that's what they are) which make sthis series so special.
This is one of my favourite Coogan projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Farnhill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
We watched The Trip when it first came out on the BBC and it really does bear repeated viewings so it's well worth having the DVD for that alone. Without spoiling the contents for those who haven't seen it before, it takes at least a couple of viewings to appreciate the running themes through the series and the very accurate observations that come in a torrent as you watch each episode. Having the material that was cut helps appreciate how the series was crafted. So, very much recommended, particularly if you're a fan of Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon or you like black comedy. It delivers even more if you have visited or lived in the places they visit as part of the series. The food and restaurants, somewhat ironically, are almost incidental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and funny, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Coogan and Brydon may not be everyone's cup of tea on their own....but together thay make a perfect match. Coogan outwardly brash - always looking out for the next piece of 'skirt'. Brydon in the background, knowing he's a married man with a young child. And their approach to reviewing restaurants in the North of england is honest and refreshing. They know value when they get it and are similarly NOT impressed when they don't. It's a pleasant ramble arounde some of the best scenery that England can dish up, mixed with anecdotes and observations of life. A cut above yer average food review and worth the time spent watching the six episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy friends & good food?? :-), 2 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I love watching this, especially while away abroad working for long periods.
We all enjoy the fruits of our labour in this one-time life...appreciative of good food and the characters of each and every one of your friends, from the deepest sea to the highest mountain, everyone has a story without even saying as much...and this DVD brings all that.
I watched the "In-flight movie" version on the plane but was nothing in reflection to the depth when you watch both discs of the full package in this DVD. Excellent, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trip [DVD]
The Trip [DVD] by Michael Winterbottom (DVD - 2010)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews