Customer Reviews


990 Reviews
5 star:
 (830)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despicably Funny
I have watched every big cartoon film for the last 25 years ( foster carer ) and this is without doubt the funniest, best story line and best produced to date . Any cartoons after this will have to be something truly special to even come close!!!
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by The Bard

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here come the minions!
Despicable me is no classic, but it's a fairly amusing animated comedy. Steve Carrell does a good Bela Legosi impression as Gru, who is trying to steal the moon. The 3 orphans that Gru adopts are cute and funny, but it's The Minions who completely steal this film. Not quite sure exactly what they are, anyone who does know, then answers will be appreciated, but they are...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despicably Funny, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have watched every big cartoon film for the last 25 years ( foster carer ) and this is without doubt the funniest, best story line and best produced to date . Any cartoons after this will have to be something truly special to even come close!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect mix of hilarity, despicability, girl power and minions, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I loved this movie and my 10 y.o. daughter loved it even more. It is so good, that I hardly know where to begin - so I tried to put the whole review in four points, mentioned in the title:

1. Hilarity - IT IS HILARIOUS! REALLY! There is hardly any 15 seconds in this movie that would not contain a really good gag, children or/and adult oriented. Whoever wrote the scenario was a genius!

2. Despicability - the main character, Gru, is really a delight to watch: ugly, grumpy, mean, petty, vengeful, scheming, permanently aggravated and wholeheartedly devoted to the cause of evil - and in the same time incredibly insecure, convinced deep in his heart that he is a looser and haunted by the every day stronger feeling of the impending doom, for him and his evil army. I believe also that even his name is a kind of evil double entendre: it is obviously an abbreviation of "gruesome" but GRU was also, during the Cold War, the name of Soviet Army military intelligence, in charge particularly of assassinations abroad. In some James Bond movies GRU appeared under the name of Smertch. It gives a particular flavor to Gru, considering that his character is clearly inspired by some of the supervillains from James Bond franchise. His geriatric sidekick (and only friend - well, kind of) doctor Nefario and his murderous dog/rat/wolverine/skunk like pet (even after two viewings of this movie the jury is still out in my house on the question "what is this animal?") give also a great show!

3. Girl power - any parent of little girls (I have two) will fall immediately in love with Margo, Edith and Agnes, the three little orphaned sisters Gru adopts. He does it for his own evil reasons and does intend to treat them harshly and get rid of them as soon as they are no more needed - but of course ends by being completely taken under the sweet and soft but in the same time surprisingly totalitarian control little girls exercise over their fathers, adoptive or not...))) Agnes, the youngest of the three (she is barely out of the diapers) is particularly sweet - if only she was real I would adopt her on the spot and spoil her silly all the rest of my life. Tomboyish Edith is in principle the one who is the toughest and the boldest - but she was already hurt enough in her life to hide behind her pink hat which she refuses to take off even to sleep. Both her and the precociously adult (at least on surface of things) Margo are also a delight to watch. If you already are a parent of a little girl, you WILL LOVE this movie. And if you do not have yet a young daughter, get one!

4. But as far as the reasons to watch this movie go, even the girls must cede the first place to the minions! The incredibly devoted, fearless and highly professional and in the same time impossibly immature and conflicted "evil" army of Gru minions is THE greatest treasure of this movie. By looking at the cover of the DVD you can see some of them and frankly whoever conceived Gru minions was a world level genius. I do not want to provide spoilers, but believe me - they pack incredible fun! There is also at least one scene when their childlike devotion to their master almost made me cry - before another outburst of laughter (including a lot of giggling) in the cinema took over...

I purposefully omitted in this review many characters and did not hint at most of the gags and scenes, to avoid spoilers and keep things short.

To conclude, this is a TREASURE OF A MOVIE. A thing to buy, watch, keep and re-watch on regular basis. And I ABSOLUTELY HOPE FOR A SEQUEL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quotable, re-watchable masterpiece for all ages, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Paul Ward (Hatfield, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Not one for controversy, but Shrek... who? Toy Story... yawn.
Being a man of a certain age and having too many children aged between 5 and 22, I tend to measure the success (or otherwise) of films by the number of times it's referenced by the younger members of the household and how certain lines have become a part of everyday conversations... and this one has already taken a spot in the top 10.
It has everything: great main 'evil' character, Gru (Steve Carell), kids with attitude (the smallest, Agnes, is terminally cute - check out her cheek drums and her reaction to losing her toy unicorn to a wayward laser), hilarious 'Baddie' (and probably most quotable character)- Vector (voiced by the brilliant Jason Segel), an out-of-character but nonetheless entertaining Russell Brand as a senile, almost deaf, mad scientist. Even the small part played by Julie Andrews (as Gru's mum) is worthy of mention (behind every evil supervillain, there's a mother who... well, let's just say she wouldn't be selected to play the part of a singing nun!)... and yes, there are the minions. One of the funniest and most original animated characters I've ever seen (and who ever thought of the individual names is a genius!).
A final thought (Light Bulb!) - what happened to the merchandising? As far as I can tell, there're a few over-priced minions available and very little else. Lego versions of Gru's house, car and aircraft along with mini Lego minions? Or how about Vector's house with its shark tank?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film for kids (and adults), 11 July 2011
This review is from: Despicable Me (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Took my three year old to the cinema to see this, and he liked it so much bought it for him on 3D blu-ray. Has enough jokes to keep adults amused, and my little boy loves the sillyness of it. Has a good 3D effect as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great funny kids film with a few jokes for the grown ups!, 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
My 3 year old daughter absolutely loves this film........and so do I! Never have I wanted an army of minions more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despicable pleasure, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
My first encounter with Gru was returning home from the Caribbean and one of the films available on the flight was Despicable Me.

To say the hours flew by is perhaps too much of an obvious pun to those that would pick up on it but, it does sum up how engrossing the film was. Unkowingly to the viewer, at first, there is a fair amount of emotional content in the film and the voice overs are hauntingly accurate in portraying the characters.

At times, especially the beginning, you feel somewhat guilty in veiwing this animation but, believe me, that feeling soon fades to one of pure enjoyment and involvement with all that is happening in the film.

The plot is simple, as such but, soon develops into the sort of story you will find it incredibly easy to relate with.

For myself, having enjoyed everything in the film (apart from the hideous Vector) the end penultimate scene of the ruthless Gru and his 'associates' brought so much joy to my heart inspired by the choice of music for that scene.

Having now enjoyed the film more than a few times I still cannot get it to sit right in my thinking the the lovely Julie Andrews plays the voice/charater of Gru's mother. Unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great film!, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I can't tell you how much i love this film, the yellow minions crack me up, love the soundtrack by pharrell williams and the plot of the story is so sweet. A film you can watch no matter how old you are, it will make you laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for kids, 25 April 2011
By 
S. Stewart (London, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I wasnt too keen on watchin this with my daughter when it came. Eventually decided to spend what I thought would be a gruesome hour plus, which turned out to be a really funny animated movie that we ended up watching it more than once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not Despicable, it's great!, 15 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I first saw this film at the cinema, along with my husband and two children (8 & 5). It appealed to all of us and had lots of funny parts for both adults and children. We bought it on DVD as soon as it was released and it has become a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Hilarious and so unique!, 14 April 2011
By 
MR. A. Uddin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This CGI animation is different and refreshing compared to 'cartoons' i have watched in the past, normally when I watch a comedy, there's a scene that makes me laugh out loud, this film had TONS of it!! I was in stitches. not to mention its charming and perfect for a family get together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 299 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Despicable Me (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free]
Despicable Me (Blu-ray 3D) [Region Free] by Chris Renaud (Blu-ray - 2011)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews