Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class act
Bette Midler does so many things so wonderfully and as a singer is among the most versatile performers of all time: no matter whether she does pop, rock, blues, musical numbers or jazz-standards, she always belongs to the very best within the field. This album shows why her recent albums have all earned her Grammy-nominations for Best Traditional Pop Vocal; when it comes...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by james davies

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bette could be better
i was disappointed that this was a re-release of other Bette recordings - ok so it's different but not new
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by Bazza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class act, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
Bette Midler does so many things so wonderfully and as a singer is among the most versatile performers of all time: no matter whether she does pop, rock, blues, musical numbers or jazz-standards, she always belongs to the very best within the field. This album shows why her recent albums have all earned her Grammy-nominations for Best Traditional Pop Vocal; when it comes to not only sing, but live great lyrics, no contemporary singer comes close to the ever Divine Miss M. Her voice has that bittersweet quality, and she has the heart and the brains to deliver performances that are utterly authentic and moving. The arrangements are swell and the selection is truly eclectic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bette could be better, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
i was disappointed that this was a re-release of other Bette recordings - ok so it's different but not new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For my mum, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Fiona (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
What can I say, not my taste but the old dear loved it and didn't stop playing it everytime i got into her car.
I find myself singing along now as the songs are all catchy.
I didn't know it was a re release of some old songs but it didn't seem to bother my mum who loved it.
If you like Bette then this can't be bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleep warm in dreamland..., 8 Dec 2010
By 
amdg "amdg" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
With the UK success of the recent best of, Rhino UK came up with this new compilation. Luckily for fans Bette was allowed to choose the tracks and write the notes. A third of the tracks come from the For the Boys soundtrack, most of the others are more recent including the rarer He Needs Me. If you don't have a lot of Bette's catalogue, this is a great way to listen to her extra fine interpretations of some traditional pop songs. Particular highlights include her superb take on Peggy Lee's The Folks Who Live On The Hill and Dreamland, written for her by Dave Grusin and Allan + Marilyn Bergman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Midler's best but a good addition to your collection, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
Good Midler classics and easy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely CD., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
This was Bette Midler as I like her. Soft, gentle and relaxing. good to chill out to. Love this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American classics, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
This is a collection that is sure to appeal to the Bette Midler fans-of which there are legion. Everyone of the songs on this album has been recorded before so they are not original but what Miss Midler does is put her own emphasis on each song making it her own.
Even if you have never heard the songs before and are looking for easy listening then give this album a try. You won't regret it I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
I am afraid this is a biased review, but Bette cannot do any wrong for me and this is another example of how a singer should be. Nothing fancy or complicated just a great all round cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Different, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Ms. Carolyn A. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
Having already got one or two CDs of Bette Midler, I was very disappointed in this one. Still I expect I'll continue to play it and hopefully it will grow on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 23 Mar 2011
By 
M. Joan Yates (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memories Of You (Audio CD)
I bought the CD after viewing Bett Middler pereform on Graham Norton show here in NZ - I have been a fan of hers for a long time, but I was disappointed with this CD. She still sounds great, but I wasn't too keen on her choice of songs on this occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memories Of You
Memories Of You by Bette Midler (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews