Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars33
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2011
i was disappointed that this was a re-release of other Bette recordings - ok so it's different but not new
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
What can I say, not my taste but the old dear loved it and didn't stop playing it everytime i got into her car.
I find myself singing along now as the songs are all catchy.
I didn't know it was a re release of some old songs but it didn't seem to bother my mum who loved it.
If you like Bette then this can't be bad.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Bette Midler does so many things so wonderfully and as a singer is among the most versatile performers of all time: no matter whether she does pop, rock, blues, musical numbers or jazz-standards, she always belongs to the very best within the field. This album shows why her recent albums have all earned her Grammy-nominations for Best Traditional Pop Vocal; when it comes to not only sing, but live great lyrics, no contemporary singer comes close to the ever Divine Miss M. Her voice has that bittersweet quality, and she has the heart and the brains to deliver performances that are utterly authentic and moving. The arrangements are swell and the selection is truly eclectic.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
With the UK success of the recent best of, Rhino UK came up with this new compilation. Luckily for fans Bette was allowed to choose the tracks and write the notes. A third of the tracks come from the For the Boys soundtrack, most of the others are more recent including the rarer He Needs Me. If you don't have a lot of Bette's catalogue, this is a great way to listen to her extra fine interpretations of some traditional pop songs. Particular highlights include her superb take on Peggy Lee's The Folks Who Live On The Hill and Dreamland, written for her by Dave Grusin and Allan + Marilyn Bergman.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
Fine compilation of many of Bette's recordings. Makes you want to get the original albums. Even if you have the albums these tracks came from, this is a nice collection featuring Bette at her finest. Thanks to Rhino.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
This is a collection that is sure to appeal to the Bette Midler fans-of which there are legion. Everyone of the songs on this album has been recorded before so they are not original but what Miss Midler does is put her own emphasis on each song making it her own.
Even if you have never heard the songs before and are looking for easy listening then give this album a try. You won't regret it I promise you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
This is one terrific CD. Not available in America but a welcome addition to my collection. I will be playing tracks of it on my radio show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
This was Bette Midler as I like her. Soft, gentle and relaxing. good to chill out to. Love this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
A beautiful album you need this one for your collection bette as truly a wonderful voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
So relaxing, just what I need to chill out with my feet up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)