Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opus reviewus really quite good...err.. us.
Purchased this on a whim based purely on the retro cover art and really chuffed I did. They sound like an amalgam of early doom (such as pentagram and black sabbath) and melodic 70's heavy rock. There is tasteful use of organs which adds an atmospheric quality to the album. Subject matter for the lyrical content is so unrelentingly and overtly satanic to an almost comical...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by Ade Arksey

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get a new singer
Summary: Decent-ish, but fatally flawed. That flaw wears a pope mask and calls itself "Ghoul".

Undoubtedly the worst aspect of this album is its vocal performance. A few bright spots, but generally bland and lifeless, further damaged by the kind of sub-Cronos lyrical piffle that will make you remember why this kind of thing went out of fashion in the first...
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by David W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opus reviewus really quite good...err.. us., 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
Purchased this on a whim based purely on the retro cover art and really chuffed I did. They sound like an amalgam of early doom (such as pentagram and black sabbath) and melodic 70's heavy rock. There is tasteful use of organs which adds an atmospheric quality to the album. Subject matter for the lyrical content is so unrelentingly and overtly satanic to an almost comical degree it could grow tiresome for the casual listener but fans of bands such as electric wizard and their ilk will appreciate it. Having said that the lyrics are more of a joyous celebration of satan than a shock factor approach favoured by some black and death metal bands. Stand out tracks for me are con clavi con dio (with a cracking intro bass driven riff that geezer butler would be proud of) and death knell but there isn't a single bad song on the album. They have keen sense of melodicism and a dare I say a pop sensibility uncommon with modern doom rock bands. If you like the sound of a band that combines the best parts of wishbone ash and doom don't hesitate in buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can Satan really be this melodic?, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
Ghost are what you would expect if Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple had a baby with overtly satanic lyrics. Intrigued? I know I was after seeing the Metal Hammer cover story on these guys. There's no way that a band should be able to be this melodic, concise and immediate. Occult rock shouldn't really be this easy to listen to. Yet it is. These Swedes have really got their stuff nailed down to the max. I just saw them at Soundwave festival in Australia. I was a fan after hearing the C.D. and after seeing the excellent show I'm now telling everyone I think might be remotely into them to go out and get this album quick smart. It's no where near as heavy as their image would have you think, and is soo well constructed. If Satan has tunes this good we all need to go to hell. The fact that Lee Dorian of Napalm Death and Cathedral fame should fall over himself to sign them to his label should say a lot to those in the know. These guys have a major fan in James Hetfield of Metallica fame. Are you really going to tell him he's wrong? I don't think so. Revel in the glory of Satan with Ghost. There are infinately worse things you can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (MP3 Download)
I saw Ghost performing a song live on Skuzz TV channel.
The entertaining sight of faceless ghoulish Monks playing the instruments and the singer in full cardinal robes with a skull mask made me keep watching...I thought the music was fantastic so I bought the MP3 download from Amazon.

Its not easy to say who Ghost remind me of, there is a bit of Sabbath in some of the riffs, but some of the choruses are pure pop, very hooky. Its really a seventies flavoured mix of pop/rock/doom metal.

The songwriting is fantastic, there is real craft in the melodies and dynamics.

The band are obviously talented and tasteful musicians, and the vocals are just superb, very clean and melodic.

The sound of the album is quite retro, which is a good thing.
The guitar tones are fantastic, and the production has good seperation between the vocals and all the instruments, a very earthy natural recording.

highly recommended, the only downside is getting these songs out of your head once you have heard them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost - They won't spook you... they'll delight you!, 14 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (MP3 Download)
Bought as the band were one of the support acts of the "defenders of the faith 3" tour and if i'm honest - words fail me when it comes to explaining how good this band is and how amazing Opus Eponymous is.
Definitely worth checking out if you like old school prog. And if you get chance to go see the band live... DO!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 70s-style Retro Stoner Metal, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
I am listening to this right this moment. As I type, final track "Genesis" is playing out. This is the first time I have listened to this album, and I already know I love it! I generally give albums a few spins before judging them, but occassionally something just smacks you in the face as being awesome right off the bat, this was one of those albums.

So then, how does it sound? Well, it's a bit rocky, a touch metally and a touch doomy. Definately Sabbath influence, I reckon some deep purple in there too. And it sounds like that really; it's got guitar, bass, drums, vocals and a hammond organ (Oh yea, 70s throwback at it's finest). So clearly, this band likes retro then. And why not? They do it superbly. I can't put my finger on what it is they do with this fairly average selection of instruments to capture such a cool and groovy sound, but there is certainly something special going on here.

Musicianship is certainly accomplished, some nice guitar solos (short, not long boring expeditions) and there are some excellent riffs.

Vocals? Well vocally, the singer here is very good. His voice is not the best I have ever heard, but it's nice and melodic and it certainly fits the tone of the album here very well indeed. I would say some of the vocal harmonies are quite cheesy but it doesn't detract from the album. If anything it just adds to the retro 70s vibe they are going for.

As for the lyrics I can't claim to be that familiar with them having only just heard the album, but they mostly seems to be quite daft satanic/hammer horror movie type affairs. Not really my personal bag, but again it fits the Black Sabbath sort of vibe.

Recommended? Highly, to any rock or metal fan. Particularly anyone who likes a bit of stoner or doom, this should suit you a treat. I predict big things for this band off the back of this release.

Dom x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have Ghost, you have everything!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
Best album I've listened to in years. It's so different. A combination of dark organ church music with hard rock guitar riffs. Papa provides differing vocal styles (e.g. sinister/syrupy sweet). The vocals, with the awesome guitar riffs, rhythm guitar, bass, drums and the spooky organ plus the ghoulish lyrics make an album you'll want to listen to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
top tunes, brill live show too!!!!!!! a must see band the tunes are all good no fillers on this cd. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
The cd arrived fast and in perfect conditions, and the price was like a gift.

Nothing to say about Ghost, they are just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Martand (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
I discovered Ghost purely by accident when they supported Trivium in London and that was it! I was hooked. I have thus far seen them on every UK show and have even been Papa Emeritus for Halloween :)

When you strip away all the makeup and pageantry, Ghost is still musically incredible! And addictive too!! Try them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love IT, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opus Eponymous (Audio CD)
I had heard most of the songs on this cd before, so I knew what to expect,still it is nice to actually own the album and support the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Opus Eponymous
Buy MP3 Album7.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews