Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read...
I am all for self published novels and am willing to download the sample before I decide to purchase, so I have little time for those that bitch in their reviews about grammatical errors and typos. I am no English Teacher and only read books to relax so I am willing to give authors a good bit of slack on this issue as long as the book has a good story. This book has a...
Published on 4 May 2011 by steamerni

versus
44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad SF debut
Advertised as having an appeal to those who enjoyed "Babylon 5, Star Wars and Battlestar Gallactica (tos)" this is a space actioner with a fair bit of characterisation thrown in.
The focus is on a small team of pilots who are trained up on a secret star-fighter, only to not quite make the grade for further testing, only to find circumstance will put them back in the...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, I'd happy pay full price, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Tried this out based on previous reviews and while it was a slow starter, it certainly gripped me towards the end. I look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Battlestar Galactica style, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well written,and hard to put down. This is just the beginning as lots of questions and avenues open up for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great SF read, give it a go even if not a SF fan, 31 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Only just got back into SF books after reading The Star Crusades series (also worth a read if you like this). I noticed this was part of a series and free so gave it a go. Very impressed with the story and characters. Just ordered the second in the series today. Even if you are not normally a SF reader or fan give it a go, it won't cost you anything and you may be converted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good read, 30 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was my first kindle book and I enjoyed it a lot although not up to quality of the top Sci Fi writers, the story is fast paced and interesting, like many others here I did get a little annoyed with some of the errors in Grammar and spelling but that aside well worth reading.

Just about a third of the way through the second books so will give my verdict on that later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Free book, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Free book - good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
To be fair it was free, I would have been upset if I had paid for it. This is a poorly written book it just doesn't get the plot or the characters into any sort of sense and lacks imagination. I gave up on it about a third of the way through can't tell what page I got to as it was a Kindle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately boring, 26 Jun 2011
By 
B. C. Hughes "Spudz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
a rather boring read with characters that are extremely one dimensional that you really don't care if they get killed. Even for a free it's not worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars stupid characters make this too annoying to like, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Maybe it's aimed at children, in which case it might work. For adult fiction the characters are one dimensional and stupid beyond belief. So many things are telegraphed but the protagonists are too dumb to see the obvious. I'll try to avoid spoilers, given that so many other people seem to like this, but..... someone is captured, then inexplicably escapes, and their behaviour is oddly changed, then they're put straight back in a position of responsibility? really? in what military organisation in the entire history of reality & sci-fi is NOBODY suspicious about this?

I'll give it 2 stars and not just 1, because some of the writing and action is pretty good, but this really could have done with sitting down in the pub with some critical mates asking a few questions.

Glad I hadn't paid money for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typos ruin it, 24 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The book itself is OK, fairly average sci-fi plot. The Kindle version is absolutely littered with grammatical errors and typos which are very distracting and ruin the read. Lucky to get 2 stars considering the number of errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Honour of the Knights (First Edition) (The Battle for the Solar System) (The Battle for the Solar System Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews