Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Book of the Art
'Everville' is a direct sequel to 'The Great and Secret Show' and as such if you enjoyed that book then you will find plenty here to get your teeth into. While an excellent novel it is perhaps not quite as stunning as the previous volume as, perhaps inevitably, the sequel route of 'more of the same' means there is less nto suprise the reader: once again the novel deals...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Jane Aland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite an art form
I enjoyed the first book of this - currently - unfinished journey, but did not find myself as involved with this second novel, finding the characterisation less interesting and some of the plot elements almost half-assed. Also, having spent much of the previous novel fleshing out two supposedly main characters, Barker then kills them off seemingly for the Hell of it, just...
Published 15 months ago by tel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Book of the Art, 29 April 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
'Everville' is a direct sequel to 'The Great and Secret Show' and as such if you enjoyed that book then you will find plenty here to get your teeth into. While an excellent novel it is perhaps not quite as stunning as the previous volume as, perhaps inevitably, the sequel route of 'more of the same' means there is less nto suprise the reader: once again the novel deals with an attempt by a magician to harness the mysterious power of 'the Art', while evil shaman Kissoon attempts to call forth the nightmarish Iad Uroborus from beyond the dream-sea of Quiddity to invade our world, and a small American town becomes the site of an apocalytpic battle. Practically all of the major characters from 'The Great and Secret Show' return (including some who seemingly died at the end of that novel), but Barker does introduce a new couple - Phoebe Cobb and her lover Joe Flicker to provide the emotional core of the novel: interestingly having spend the majority of the previous novel detailing the trials and ultimate triumph of lovers Howard and Jo-Beth, Barker callously disposes of the couple in a virtual cameo to repeat this emotional journey with this new pair. Still, despite a certain familiarity this time round 'Everville' does move the grand narrative forward, and crucially providing a background story for series 'bad guy' Kissoon.

The novel's main weakness is the fact that this is the second book in an unfinished trilogy, and as such will inevitably leave the reader somewhat frustrated, as plots are set in motion for the final, and thus far unpublished Third Book of the Art. As far as the journey goes, both 'The Great and Secret Show' and 'Everville' are enjoyable reads, but it will be up to the prospective reader as to whether they wish to invest the time and energy on a story with, as yet, no ending: at the time of writing it is fully 13 years since this book was published and the chances of Barker finally getting round to writing the concluding volume (especially considering the number of other unfinished sequels and ongoing multimedia projects he has 'on the go') are looking increasingly slim...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite an art form, 11 May 2013
I enjoyed the first book of this - currently - unfinished journey, but did not find myself as involved with this second novel, finding the characterisation less interesting and some of the plot elements almost half-assed. Also, having spent much of the previous novel fleshing out two supposedly main characters, Barker then kills them off seemingly for the Hell of it, just so the reader can supposedly give a damn about the new introduced struggling-to-understand characters. I wonder if he, Barker, had his heart in the work, and also if it will ever be finished - or if there is enough idea to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect blend of the magic and mystery in our lives., 14 Oct 1997
By A Customer
I found this book kept me riveted throughout. the many plot twists and surprise events made the spectacular writing of Clive Barker alive with freshness and vitality that some of the best writers put foward. the many vivid characters that Barker created, such as Tesla Bombeck, a self-made woman, add a whole new dimension to horror/mystery writing. Tesla's wit and inner beauty make you genuinely feel for the problems Tesla faces. Overall, I found this book to be one of my all-time favorites. -Keith Jacobson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A great story but......., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everville: The Second Book of the Art (Kindle Edition)
This is a really good book. The problem is that this kindle edition is full of typos/misspelled words which are annoying and take away from the enjoyment of reading. This is not a free book so I expect quality and NOT a book that has obviously not been proofread and should not be sold containing so many mistakes. Not good....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book and well worth a read. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a book with a great plot, Very enjoyable, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everville: The Second Book of the Art (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book and well worth a read. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a book with a great plot, Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT NOVEL, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent novel .The problem with the Kindle edition is that towards the end of the book there are dozens and dozens of spelling mistakes .I recently purchased Imajica in the Kindle edition and that also had numerous spelling errors.Most printed books have one or two errors but these Kindle editions have a large number of mistakes.I still enjoyed reading Everville because I have read it several times before in paperback.
I get the impression that the person who typed up the Kindle edition did not understand English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly outstanding sequel to 'The Great And Secret Show'., 8 Mar 2006
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
On a mountain peak, high above the city of Everville, a door stands open: a door that lets onto the shores of the dream-sea Quiddity. And there's not a soul below who'll not be changed by that fact.
Phoebe Cobb, once a doctor's receptionist, is about to forget her old life and go looking for her lost lover, Joe Flicker, in the world on the other side of that door, a strange, sensual wonderland the likes of which only Barker could make real.
Tesla Bombeck, who knows what horrors lurk on the far side of Quiddity, must solve the mysteries of the city's past if she is to keep those horrors from crossing the threshold.
Harry D'Amour, who has tracked the ultimate evil across America, will find it conjuring atrocities in the sunlit streets of Everville.
The year of 1994 saw the first publication of Everville - The second Book of The Art. Following on from the awesome novel 'The Great And Secret Show' (1989), 'Everville' is the second installment into the proposed trilogy. The novel is a spectacular escape into the limitless world of Clive Barker's imagination. The story of Everville stands well as a story on its own, and can indeed be read without having read the first book, but it does work best as a sequel.
Everville finds itself exploring and expanding more upon the characters that appear in the first novel. The storyline becomes more intense and fast-paced, with the complex ideas and principals of the novels forming a powerful underlying basis to the book.
This sequel is nothing short of genius, delivering a gripping and involved storyline that will set your imagination alive. This is a book that you will truly treasure for the rest of your life. Please, if you haven't already done so...go out and read this book.
Running for a total of 640 pages, the book doesn't once lose it's interest or it's hold over you. A true masterpiece in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greater than the first?, 20 Sep 2000
By A Customer
...Not neccesarily. This is an extremely good book, but it isn't quite as good as the first one. Also, the ending did little to bring the story to a close. The second chapter in a trilogy always seems to be this way. Other than that, it is a really good book, with better plot twists than the Sixth Sense (which had a pretty lame "plot twist" if you ask me.)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it! You WON'T be sorry!, 21 Feb 1998
By A Customer
There's nothing for me to say except this is an absolutely superb novel. I began with The Great and Secret Show, and was just, completely blown away. I've read many King, Koontz, and Straub stories, among other authors, and must say that a lot are "top of the line", but I had NEVER read anything like The Great and Secret Show. Imagine my surprise at finding out that "Everville: The Second Book of the Art" existed. I was not disappointed. There's no way to describe these two books. Like I said, you just have to read them!!!!!!!!!! They are among my top ten most favorite books, probably even top five. And, I've read hundreds (maybe thousands) of great books! Just discovered Clive Barker's writing's last year, but I'm thoroughly hooked now. Amie J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing sequel to the First Book of the Art, 10 Feb 2002
He painted the picture in the first book. Drawing us into the epic battle that ensued. With this second book he blows the doors off - but I think he means to! Amazing sequel which I found draws you into the action quicker than the first book and keeps pulling you along to the frenetic climax. FANTASIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews