Customer Reviews


372 Reviews
5 star:
 (207)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


238 of 260 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keith Richards - Caught in a cross fire hurricane
Keith Richards is in danger of becoming respectable, what with starring interviews on the Andrew Marr show, bit parts in Disney's "the Pirates of Caribbean" and an emerging status as national treasure. He has even received the ultimate accolade this week namely a vicious attack from the increasingly insane ex Trot and current bigot Peter Hitchens who blamed him for...
Published on 27 Oct. 2010 by Red on Black

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No need to lock up your daughters....
Like a lot of people I was really looking forward to reading this book. Keith Richards always had the aura of a swashbuckling hero with a colourful past. I was really looking forward to reading about and separating myth from reality regarding Mr. Richards life. So was it a case of lock up your daughters? Not at all really, the worst they would get would be an inane...
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Pazza


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

238 of 260 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keith Richards - Caught in a cross fire hurricane, 27 Oct. 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Hardcover)
Keith Richards is in danger of becoming respectable, what with starring interviews on the Andrew Marr show, bit parts in Disney's "the Pirates of Caribbean" and an emerging status as national treasure. He has even received the ultimate accolade this week namely a vicious attack from the increasingly insane ex Trot and current bigot Peter Hitchens who blamed him for causing more damage than the Iraq War and described him as "a debauched, capering streak of living gristle who ought to be exhibited as a warning to the young of what drugs can do to you". As usual Hitchens couldn't be more wrong since after reading "Life" a electrifying autobiography ghost written with James Fox someone ought to work out the physiology of Richards since the man is clearly indestructible despite the most astounding chemical intake and even more remarkable he appears to going as strong as ever. The life of this man who founded the Rolling Stones, invented rock guitar, gave us "Honky Tonk Women", "Brown Sugar", the seminal "Exile on Main Street" and a host of other treasures is something we should warmly celebrate and not carp about.

Great rock autobiographies are a rare species but this book by Richards amounting 547 pages ranging from a drug bust in Fordyce, Arkansas to a quick final explanation that he did indeed snort his Dad's ashes (but in a very affectionate way!) and ending in the death of his dear old mum Doris is a very intimate, revealing, warts an all account of a fascinating life packed with brilliant photographs and stories to spare. Fox has captured his subject well and you can hear Richards voice loud and clear with its colourful language of "cats", his love of Shepherd's pie ("don't bust the crust") and roguish charm. You will not be surprised that a large part of the book deals with Richards copious pharmaceutical use. Indeed with parts of his memory wiped out sections of the text are given over to the first hand remembrances of family members and friends like Waddy Watchel, Don Was and his great mate Bobby Keys which are often very harrowing. The legendary Freddie Sessler "Keith's second dad" is a key figure here. This is a man who described himself as "the worlds oldest groupie", got Keith out of "scrapes" and supplied his drugs including pharmaceutical cocaine graphically described in a passage on page 373. Richards knows that he was lucky to survive all this hedonism and the poignancy of his remarks when he tells us stories about the deaths of fellow travellers like Billy Preston and Gram Parsons are all the more pronounced and sad for it. The fact that his co-conspirator Ronnie Wood navigated this madness particularly with a his own "freebasing" crack cocaine indulgences which Richards highlights from 1980 onwards is another example of the "get out of jail" philosophy of life employed by the two most colourful members of the Stones.

At the core of the book is the Jagger/Richards relationship which has gone through phases of almost tender brotherly love to intense visceral hatred (listen to "Had it with you" on Dirty Work which charts the nadir of this phase). The cleaned up Richards circa 1980s "Emotional Rescue" cannot today forgive Jagger's attitude on "his return" who had "fallen in love with power" and whose constant put downs of him are still very raw. As he states "the phrase which rings in my ears all these years later is "Oh, shut up Keith". Things gradually improved over the years and despite Jagger's Knighthood ("the Mick I grew up was a guy who'd say shove your little honours up your ar*e") by 2004 Richards and Jagger were working a closely as ever and he accepts "you've got to go through the bulls**t; its like a marriage"

The book charts all the great Richards myths, the blood changing, the skull ring, the tax exile in France, the falling out of the tree incident and the Toronto drug bust in huge detail which finally led to him giving up heroin. The part however which I especially enjoyed was his early years around Dartford and Sidcup and his passion for the blues particularly Jack Elliot and the impact of Elvis. The generosity throughout to the great Charlie Watts who clearly is the glue that holds the Stones together, and a great loss to the United Nations Peace Keeping Corps, is genuine and full of love. Watts survival from cancer is emotionally charted by Richards and his relief tangible that Watts came back. And then there is the music not just with the Stones but Keith's side projects like the X-pensive Wino's which is a tale well told; while his relationship with Anita Pallenberg and its impact on the construction of the Stones greatest song "Gimme Shelter" is fascinatingly unveiled.

The life of Keith Richards is a chronicle of the ultimate rock survivor and icon. Frankly he should not be here and the fact that he never sleeps means he has been here "longer" than the average 66 year old. Despite yourself you can't help but be absorbed by the myth and legend of the man, his bluntness and his often outspoken nonsense. Let us be frank anyone who calls his dog "Syphilis" must have something going for him. Consequently when in a hundred years time someone sits down and writes the definitive history of rock music it should start with the sentence that "In the beginning was the riff and the riff was with Keith".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No need to lock up your daughters...., 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Paperback)
Like a lot of people I was really looking forward to reading this book. Keith Richards always had the aura of a swashbuckling hero with a colourful past. I was really looking forward to reading about and separating myth from reality regarding Mr. Richards life. So was it a case of lock up your daughters? Not at all really, the worst they would get would be an inane discussion about the merits of open guitar tuning over a cup of tea in a Carnaby Street cafe. Who would have thought that Mr. Richards would be so boring. Granted, he's had a much more exciting life that most if us could ever dream of but by rock star standards this autobiography is dull, tedious and overlong. It's only the final 100 pages or so that were enjoyable and for the first time in many moons I actually struggled to finish this book. Some reviewers have attributed this to the prose but for me there was nothing interesting to make me want me to read on unlike, for example The Dirt, Scar Tissue or Slash. Mr. Richards also comes across as a sexist moron, especially in his defence of knife / gun use. Rock star or not, knife crime and gun crime are abhorrent and for Mr. Richards to revel in his use of "the blade" is pathetic and quite frankly, nor very 'ard at all Keif. Girls in the book are often referred to as chick or bitch. Whilst I wasn't particularly offended by this Mr. Richards I can understand why some people would be. One gets the impression that Mr. Richards was trying way to hard to be cool and to live up to his billing as one of the coolest guys on the planet. Unfortunately he comes across as being dated and irrelevant. I would never had believed that I would be writing such a comment but there you are. Never try to get inside your heroes, you will be disappointed. So, Keith Richards, a grizzled old rock war horse? Not likely. More like seeing a mundane donkey parading up and down Blackpool Pleasure Beach whilst sucking slowly on a stale stick of rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He doesn't need my help..., 11 Oct. 2011
By 
Keith Randall (Isle of Man, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Hardcover)
We're told that this book has sold over a million copies, so the subject doesn't need my help.

However, I would like to say that I have read this book six times this year, and I've enjoyed every minute of doing so. I shall dock one star for various inaccurate statements regarding records, musicians and so forth. For example 2120 South Michigan Avenue was not the place where ALL of the stuff (as Keef alleges) that the Stones had been listening to came from. Chess label music - including two Keef favourites, all of the music which became the first-rate albums 'The Best of Little Walter' and 'The Best of Muddy Waters' was recorded at Universal Studios by the legendary recording visionary Bill Putnam for many years before Leonard and Phil Chess acquired '2120' in 1957 - and then there's the output from other labels like Sun, Vee-Jay, Fire, Stax, Excello and others.

Also, I really would like to but I cannot agree that Mick Jagger is a world-class harmonica player when compared to the likes of Kim Wilson, Rod Piazza and Curtis Salgado - and surely (in reference to the song ' Down Home Girl') "Leiber and Butler" should be Leiber and Stoller - but that may be down to error by someone other than Our Man.

The very good news for me is that this book fires me with enthusiam for something which the estimable Mr Richards and I have in common: we love music, particularly blues and its related stuff. That's maybe all we have in common apart from being English and having the same initials and perhaps that's one of the reasons I enjoy the book, as I marvel at how very close to the edge a person can get and how often he and saxophonist Bobby Keys and several others do...

In reference to a fellow reviewer's comment about Eric Clapton only being mentioned in passing, I find it far stranger that another Eric, Eric Easton, who was The Rolling Stones' co-manager with Andrew Oldham in the crucial, formative years, is relegated to a couple of mentions. Then again, Easton was not particularly scrupulous, it is alleged in other publications.

I find this book fascinating, entertaining, informative (there's some wonderful insights into his and Mick's songwriting methodology) and many occasionally horrifying and often very funny anecdotes; I particularly enjoyed the pithy comments (Keef is of course a master of such comments as anyone who has seen or read an interview with him will already know..although he is strangely and disappointingly quiet on the subject of 'Stella Street') regarding Bill Wyman's decision to leave the Stones.

There's no doubt that I shall read the book again and again and it will be just as enjoyable and fascinating. Thanks Keef - well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superstardom Sarf London Style, 29 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Hardcover)
It's hard to judge this book. When I was thirteen my sister and I gravitated from Elvis and Cliff to the Beatles and the Stones, buying every LP as it was released. Later at University Beggars Banquet was played more than anything. Many years later I played Exile on Main Street solid for ten years, so much I can hardly listen to it now.

So I can't be objective, its like reading a book by my cousin. It's very very frank about relationships, about drugs, about occasional violence. There's a lot of stuff about musical technique, just like Miles Davis's autobiography, which it reminds me of. I don't understand most of this not being a guitarist, but the feel of these sections is great. It makes you want to get out all your John Lee Hooker and Jimmy Reed records.

The section about Brian Jones is revealing. This is actually the first book about the Stones I have read, so in comparison with the general familiarity from newspaper stories and rumours I had this is great, and Richards has an aura of telling the truth, by and large I would mostly buy what he's saying. There is also a very moving section about Gram Parsons, who seems to have been one of his closest musical associates and friends.

Earlier, all the stuff about his family is fabulous. Its worth tracking down the full length version of the Andrew Marr interview on BBCi incidentally, where Marr and Keith say his childhood was Dickensian which was exactly what was going through my head when I was reading about his wonderful family. His mother and his maternal grandfather were something else.

Some of the stuff about about the early sixties blues scene echoes what you can read in, say, a Pete Townshend biography I've read. Incidentally, Richards has almost nothing to say about any of his contemporaries musically, except to some extent the Beatles. But mostly that's about how the Beatles were marketed and about the scene they created. No opinions are expressed about say Clapton, the Who, or Hendrix. But then Richards isn't into judging much, unless someone steps on his blue suede shoes (or gets to the cottage pie before he does - read the book).

Mostly the book is about the folks he meets as he navigates his way through life which was always a struggle for one reason or another until the end of the seventies when he emerges from heroin and then meets his current wife Patti.

And of course there's some fascinating stuff about Jagger. I started to skip a little towards the end as I am less interested in their later music. But this is great for Stones fans and also it's a fascinating social record. If you want to know about superstardom south London style go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What A LIFE, 14 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Kindle Edition)
Life is the best rock biography I have ever read (though it is not a genre I often indulge since it is mostly moderate talents with big heads blowing their predictable trumpets). The quality of the writing is actually poor, sort of speech rhythms, but that's fine since you just hear Keef's voice drawling at you in its charming, amiable way.

His life is full of surprises; being unwittingly used as getaway driver for a jewellery heist when the Stones were already big, delicate and understanding about the women who mattered, badly bullied at school, great, bizarre drug stories (which could so easily have been a tedious staple in lesser hands) and always the wry observer of the wild world he moved through.

Perhaps predictably, what endears the most is the artist in the man. He loves the music. He is as big a fan as any hormonal teenager. It even starts to seem odd that the (brilliant, wonderful) Stones should be such a success since what we have here is a man who adores other musicians.

Despite his laconic swagger on stage, there is none of the expected arrogance. He spent days on end learning tiny little variations on chords just to play London pubs - that was the horizon of his initial vision of the Stones.

In the end this is a life-affirming book, brimming with artistic passion and never taking the pop world seriously. Like all great artists, Keef comes across as a true one-off, and a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sympathy for the old devil, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Hardcover)
There are bound to be many glowing reports from lifelong 'Stones fans who won't put up with any criticism or doubt. I'm no huge fan but you'd have to be pretty obtuse to deny the huge influence of the Rolling Stones and there are plenty of their tracks that I like and have done for years.
To be honest I didn't hold out much hope for this but must admit to being surprised at how well the reader is led along and at the candid way everything is laid bare including no few moments that don't exactly cover Mr. Richards in glory.
All the famous myths about him that have almost become urban legends are spoken about and quite a few lesser/ unknown ones too. He is very open about his myriad substances of choice and how they have influenced so much of his life. But these anecdotes aren't really what set this autobiography apart from any other. Rather it's the fascinating insights into his dynamic with the rest of the band, (often destructive and bitter but ultimately artistically productive and mellowed with age),.
There have been a lot of reviews that have tried to set this up as some sort of 'Keef against the world' type thing which frankly is rubbish. He has done pretty much whatever he wanted and although has nearly killed himself off all in all it seems to have been a bit of a blast. In all fairness he himself doesn't come across as someone either feeling hard done by nor as some sort of hero, (although many fans and peers would argue strongly that he is), but neither does he pretend to be 'just one of the lads'. His life has been well out of the ordinary and the events described in this book show just what a rollercoaster ride this man has chosen to be on and a sad look at those who left too early.
Never dull, never self important or big headed, this is an interesting and page turning read that really has appeal for both the fan and casual follower alike.
Straight, witty and as mad as a hatter, Keith Richards life was always going to be a read to keep you glued and he hasn't messed it up.
Not for the faint hearted but nothing gratuitous or bragging either. One of the best releases of the autobiography season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good up to a point, 17 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Paperback)
For an autobiog this proves to be a surprisingly good read. Keith comes across as not a bad chap really - a bit of a boy scout in fact - and ultimately a family man. He also reveals a nice dry wit.

The most interesting parts of the story are to be found in the years covering childhood and the birth of The Stones. We get a vivid picture of life at the wrong end of London and the shabby feel of postwar Britain.

Keith pays huge homage to his rhythm and blues influences. He's reasonably charitable towards Jagger and Jones despite several bust-ups. It's touching to read of the obvious deep feeling he has for Charlie Watts and for old pal the late Ian Stewart.

We could have done with more on how all the big hits were conceived and less technical guitar stuff. I'm not sure whom that was meant to impress - guitarists presumably - but 98% of the readers must have felt like skimming it.

Once the 80s roll around the thing becomes a bit of a bore. The band itself ceased to enjoy cutting edge status and stopped producing material that wasn't meaningless filler. Keith gets all bogged down in tales of drugs, drink, chicks, fights etc - in other words rock star stuff which we've heard already from countless other sources. He seems determined to have us believe he's some kind of gangster pirate figure with guns and knives to hand. Come off it, man!

It's best to remember him as the guy who gave us all those great riffs in the 60s/70s. That's where the fascination lies in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The new Thomas de Quincey, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Hardcover)
My previous experience of pop biographies gave me low expectations of this genre of literature. I began reading with the intention of giving up as soon as I got bored. However I managed to finish the book which proved to be quite readable and well written on the whole apart from the last couple of hundred pages which were mainly lists of names of all the amazing wonderful people KR has met. But the first two thirds of this bio was much better with lots of information about the early days of the Rolling Stones. To be critical I would have liked to know what KR thought about the music of the other great bands of the 60s and 70s but there was very little on this. It would also have been interesting to read some self-criticism of his parenting skills - he took his son Marlon on tour with him at the age of 7 and Marlon witnessed the whole drug scenario. Was that a good upbringing? How did Marlon turn out in the end? Those questions don't really get answers. On the whole it's a good read but not worth more than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And still alive, 9 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Hardcover)
It is a great surprise that Keith remains with us. He has lived about 10 peoples' lives and is happy to share some of the most intimate details of those lives. Such a talent - as a musician and as a writer. It is clearly not fair that someone should have so much talent and so much fun (and so much luck with his health) - I feel like throwing my tv out the window just for the hell of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fascinating story told somewhat oddly, 14 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Life: Keith Richards (Paperback)
My brother read this book as a lifelong Stones fan and told me some of the more interesting stories so I thought I would give it a go whilst on holiday. Keith's story is interesting in itself, but perhaps more so was the backdrop of the times he has lived through and people and places he has visited.

The pluses for me:
1. The early years growing up in post-war Britain (sets the scene in rather stark contrast to the later decadence)
2. Seeing how they filled a music vacuum in the early sixties
3. Hearing about the swinging sixties in London and how small and classless the set was
4. That I know enough of the Stones music to have had the most recent mentioned song going around my head after reading of it (until the early 80s)
5. The book more or less ends at 1980, saving us from the dull years

The minuses:
1. It seemed like he is trying too hard to prove his music credentials throughout - surely his record speaks for itself?
2. The 'This is your Life' way he inserts stories from other people - do we really need a story from Kate Moss about spring onions, or is he just name dropping?
3. That he 'is' a gangster - yawn, isn't that what minders are for?
4. From early on he is at war with the establishment (even when Mick gets his knighthood) as it is them against the Stones, but he primarily lives in the USA - sell out?

So three stars for a good, but not great, read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life: Keith Richards
Life: Keith Richards by Keith Richards
£5.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews