Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See Emily Fly
This Spanish made horror about the demonic possession of a 15 year old girl, is set in England and stars English actors. Despite being derivative and cliched at times, there are enough twists and ideas here to ensure it succeeds in its own right. There are interesting studies into the motivations of the characters in the film, especially the brother of Emily's mother, a...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Awful
Don't waste your time, like catching something on TV in the early hours of the morning, most likely channel 5.
Published 3 months ago by MR K P DUTTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See Emily Fly, 1 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exorcismus [DVD] (DVD)
This Spanish made horror about the demonic possession of a 15 year old girl, is set in England and stars English actors. Despite being derivative and cliched at times, there are enough twists and ideas here to ensure it succeeds in its own right. There are interesting studies into the motivations of the characters in the film, especially the brother of Emily's mother, a disgraced priest who the parents turn to in desperation to perform the exorcism. Revalations regarding his true calling provide the most enjoyable plot twist in the film.
The portrayal of Emily Evans is also interesting, Emily being a typical troubled teenager, whose turbulent emotions allow the forces of evil to take hold of her. Less successful are the portrayal of the parents, both coming across as rather one dimensional.
Somewhat lost in all the hype regarding 'The Last Exorcism', this subtle little study into the nature of evil and the existance of the Devil is well worth a visit. This dvd release is a bare bones affair, with no extras to speak of. 4 out of 5 for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Awful, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Exorcismus (Amazon Instant Video)
Don't waste your time, like catching something on TV in the early hours of the morning, most likely channel 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A SURPRISINGLY GOOD CHILL !!, 20 July 2014
By 
UKCATLADY (Stockport,, Cheshire. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exorcismus (Amazon Instant Video)
I hadn't even heard of this film, and so many films about exorcisms have been made, I thought it'd probably be just another version of the same story. I was glad to be proved wrong.
It gripped me from the opening scenes - I wanted to know more about this family.
It was just as much about the relationship between a teenage girl wanting to push her parents boundaries, as about the supernatural. Doug Bradley, the architect of the film, really made you care about these people; and the plot, with all its twists and turns was certainly not predictable, right to the very end. With 3 dimensional characters brought to life with very good and believable acting, fans of films in this genre, will certainly not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modern day exorcist, 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: Exorcismus [DVD] (DVD)
Exorcismus is a modern day exorcist with a twist. It is well filmed, acted and the story lines twist is original.
As a fan or horror film I really enjoyed this one. It is very well put together and when 15 year old Emma's behavior worries her parents her priest uncle comes to the rescue.....
I am not allowed to give the game away in my review so I can only strongly recommend you watch this one for the twist to be revealed.
Its a classic case of wanting something that when you have it isn't quite what you expected & goes terribly wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing, feeble attempt at an exorcism movie, 4 Jun 2011
By 
D. Lucas "guidebook vulture" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exorcismus [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed with this film. It looks and sounds like it should be a decent horror flick, but it totally misses the mark. Poor quality acting, which is not helped by awkward dialogue. There was no chemistry between any of the family members, so I couldn't feel anything from watching them going through these experiences. The story is not gripping. The scares and thrills are very underwhelming. I get that its not a big budget hollywood spectacle, but it lacks any artistic value I expect from an indie movie as well. I'd give this one a miss if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time - dialogue is poor, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Exorcismus (Amazon Instant Video)
A waste of time - dialogue is poor, acting is poor... nothing new to see here, please move on !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exmo ses mo, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exorcismus [DVD] (DVD)
not as good as other horror films I have seen and I have noticed that pictures can be deceiving so read about the film before buying it,out of 10for horror I give this film a six
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS JUST A POOR "EXORCIST" RIP OFF......AVOID!!!, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Clarke "Sue Clarke" (Tintagel,Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exorcismus (Amazon Instant Video)
There is the classic & original "Exorcist" and there are films that just copy and manipulate such a brilliant film. EXORCISMUS is one of them!!! Poorly filmed, poorly acted, poor story, poor dialogue, poor shock factor, this is just a waste of time. This is a poor excuse to just cash in on the mass market of today's modern society, and try as you will to please the average modern, stupid, pathetic normal chav like persons. Watching this pathetic film it is absolutely clear that the director is trying to bring the one & only classic into this modern day version, and it just FAILS MISERABLY. It is SO utterly sad that one cannot help but shake your head in disbelief and utter a few blasphemies under your breathe!!! AVOID THIS FILM AT ALL COST.........IT IS THAT BAD!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: Exorcismus (Amazon Instant Video)
Been there, Done that, Got the T shirt!
Such a valuable waste of my time - might as well have chewed on a bag of nails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just give her some cough linctus..., 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Exorcismus [DVD] (DVD)
Emma has an argument with her mother because she wants to go to a concert in London with her friends.

She has a convulsion and her family take her to the hospital, but the doctors do not find any physical problem. Her father tries to convince his wife to send Emma to school, instead of homeschooling, but she prefers to keep Emma at home.

Emma is sent to a psycho-analyst, but she asks her friend Rose to record her session of hypnosis.

When Emma listens to the tape, she believes she is possessed by the devil and asks her parents to be submitted to an exorcism with her uncle, Priest Taylor. Her mother is against the ritual and recalls that Chris was responsible for the death of a teenager, in the past in an unsuccessful exorcism.

But when Emma levitates in the kitchen in front of her family, her parents call Chris....

If you could imagine a cross between the Exorcist, and Eastenders, with the now increasingly annoying found footage 'novelty' thrown in, you get this boring mess.

It's a well trodden road when watching this, but the Priest wants to profit from the tapes, so there has to be a twist. Sadly there isn't anything to write home about, and it's as if the film makers haven't a clue either.

The film ends with the girl in hospital, and special guest star Doug 'pinhead' Bradley, sitting by her bed and saying something of no relevance.

It's boring, bar a few good moments from the lead, and it also offers nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exorcismus [DVD]
Exorcismus [DVD] by Sophie Vavasseur (DVD - 2011)
3.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews