Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Insight in the life of a Master Horsemen
National Hunt fans have been blessed to live through an era of fantastic, fit horses due to massive improvements in equine training and two sublime sportsmen - namely the indomitable AP and the sublime Ruby Walsh. Walsh comes from fine stock - his grandfather was a trainer and so is his dad, Ted (not to mention sister Katie who is also a jock!). Ruby, and his ghost...
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by Colin Mayo

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest account, but hard to read at first
I adore Ruby Walsh as a jockey, and this book is certainly a must-read for any NH-Fan. Walsh, so no doubt priviledged by birth, has made it to the very Top of his game, because he has talent, works hard, questions himself, but certainly also because he has the right team behind him. Its refreshing to read in the foreword that Ruby thought writing a book is just a piece of...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by Catrin Nack


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Insight in the life of a Master Horsemen, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Colin Mayo "Rooster Booster" (Hemel Hempstead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
National Hunt fans have been blessed to live through an era of fantastic, fit horses due to massive improvements in equine training and two sublime sportsmen - namely the indomitable AP and the sublime Ruby Walsh. Walsh comes from fine stock - his grandfather was a trainer and so is his dad, Ted (not to mention sister Katie who is also a jock!). Ruby, and his ghost writer Malachy Clerkin, really show what it is like to be a race rider - the thrills, the spills, the injuries of which poor old Ruby (who is currently nursing a broken leg after a fall at Down Royal on 6th Nov)has suffered more than most. What I liked about this book was the way Ruby talked through his big races, Papillion and Hedgehunter in the National; Kauto in the Gold Cup - what he had got right, the mistakes he had made, the horses he missed (Denman in the Gold Cup)- I really felt I was there riding along side Ruby and I've not felt that reading any other jockey's book. This is a very vibrant, honest account of a saddle artist who is at the top of his game - certainly the best book I have read by a jockey. I loved Ruby's details; the annoyance he feels when being asked to tip horses (as if he has some inside knowledge); the poor standard of Irish changing rooms and why jocks are junk food addicts - unbelievable but true!This book is a must-read for anyone interested in NH and the life of one of the all-time greats. British and Irish race courses will miss Ruby's presence whilst he is recovering from his broken leg but by buying this book you can re- live his greatest moments - lets hope he returns to the saddle soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest account, but hard to read at first, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Catrin Nack (Hamburg Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore Ruby Walsh as a jockey, and this book is certainly a must-read for any NH-Fan. Walsh, so no doubt priviledged by birth, has made it to the very Top of his game, because he has talent, works hard, questions himself, but certainly also because he has the right team behind him. Its refreshing to read in the foreword that Ruby thought writing a book is just a piece of p**, which he soon found out it isnt. Personally I found it quite difficult to get "into" the story, as the style, very much like you and I would talk on the street, is a bit tiring at first; many sentences contain only a word or two, and one has to get used to this. I too enjoyed Ruby's outspoken opinions about facilies on Irish Racecourses, Fastfood, some medical treatment he received; it was great to re-live his Grand National wins. It was interesting, but strange, to read his view about chosing Kauto over Denman when the latter won the Gold Cup; I found Ruby's anger only partly understandable - he stayed loyal to Kauto Star, and you cannot ride them all. I would have loved to read more about the great horses Ruby rode, even Kauto Star, who next to Commanche Court and Hedgehunter is the most mentioned horse in the book (who else?) doesnt get have as much coverage as I would have liked to read. Big Bucks is mentioned in about two sentences, as is Master Minded, for example; but it might be naive to think that its horses that make jockeys. Ruby's view on life is no doubt very very focused, and not sentimental by a country-mile. It might be that the book is more a blokes books than one for us soft-hearted femals fans of the sport. No doubt it is a great christmas pressie if your husband or boyfriend is keen on the horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruby, a great read for racing fans., 19 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a keen follower of National Hunt racing, Ruby is my favourite jockey. I remember many of the races Ruby wrote about and it was good to hear about the races from a jockeys perspective. I would recommend this book to all racing fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruby, Ruby, Ruby, 17 Jun 2012
By 
C. Clements - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Written in such a way that you can just hear Ruby Walsh speak it as you read along, it pulls little punches and Ruby comes across as a man not frightened to say it as he sees it. Born into a racing family, Ruby clearly is set for a life in horse racing, in some shape or form from an early age.

Some enlightening opinions are voiced on stewards, riding tactics, injuries, family success and racecourse facilities amongst many other topics of interest to National Hunt racing fans. This book is hard to put down if you're a fan of the sport or the author and rates alongside other very good racing autobiographies such as Mick Fitzgerald's 'Better than Sex' and Paul Nicholls' 'Lucky Break'.

Highly recommended for all sports fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant jockey of our time., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic rider and family of riders, such gentle people with an understanding way and above anyone else I know to ride jump horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ruby, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed tis book. It follows Ruby Walsh throughout his racing career to the present day. I can, however, not help thinking that this book has been written rather prematurally as hopefully Ruby has many years left in racing ahead of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good reading, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ruby: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Of all the racing books I have read over the years about horseracing, this is the only one I have struggled with. It has taken me 4 months to read. The book does not hold your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hubby's Xmas Present, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what you need for santa's stocking for a horse racing fan. Hours of peace and quiet while hubby enjoys reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruby: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
enjoyable,it's just like listening to Ruby talking. Highly recommended for relaxed reading .most interesting to read his feelings on various things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, quite enjoyable, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruby: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read fro anyone that ever owned a pony or horse. Very funny start when he was in Ponies.Good Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ruby: The Autobiography
£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews