Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2004
I absolutely love the film Beauty and the Beast and needed the soundtrack. I have nearly all of the Disney soundtracks and this soundtrack, along with the Aladdin and The Little Mermaid soundtracks are the best. It contains all of the music from the film, and unlike with some of the soundtracks, none of the characters voices over the songs have been edited out. The best songs on this soundtrack are Gaston, The Mob Song and Beauty and the Beast and even the reprises are brilliant. With this edition you also get a new song, Human Again and a demo recording, but the quality of the classic songs surpass the new song and the demo recording. Prepare to be blown away.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2005
This wonderful CD has fifteen tunes drawn straight from Disney's hit movie, Beauty and the Beast. The prologue includes the poem-like story of the Beast, and then the CD launches into the songs. They're all here (though not in the order that they were in the movie, sadly), even five instrumental tunes that were in the background during exciting scenes.
The paperwork for the CD is minimal, with no "extras" or anything to recommend it. But, the music is great, making this CD a great purchase for anyone who has to take car rides with kids (like me). Highly recommended!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2007
This soundtrack marks the tenth anniversary of the release of Disney's 1991 classic BEAUTY AND THE BEAST {this CD was released in 2001.}

Beauty and the Beast is about a strong willed young woman {Belle} who longs for "much more than her provincial life" and gets it, when she breaks an enchantresses spell put on a Beast and his castle.

This CD features every song and instrumental piece of music from the movie ~
tracks 1 to 15 and track 18 {played over the end credits} plus three extra pieces of music ~ track 16, track 17 and track 19.

The songs:
1. Prologue - 2:29. Here, the narrator informs the audience how and why the Beast became a Beast. The narrators voice belongs to David Ogden Stiers {the voice of Cogsworth the clock!}
2. Belle - 5:07. I saw Beauty and the Beast when it played my local theatre, and this particular song sounds exactly like what I heard in the theatre!
3. Belle {reprise} 1:05.
4. Gaston - 3:40. A superb song, brilliantly sung by Richard White {Gaston} and Jesse Corti {Lefou.}
5. Gaston {reprise} 2:04.
6. Be Our Guest - 3:45. The glorious Jerry Orbach {Lumiere the candlestick} sings this song as Yves Montand!
7. Something There - 2:19. Paige O Hara {Belle} shows off her beautiful voice.
8. Human Again - 4:55. A song never included in the original 1991 film, but has since been included on subsequent videos and DVD's because it gives an insight into the enchanted objects point of view.
9. The Mob Song - 3:30.
10. Beauty and the Beast - 2:45. Angela Lansbury {Mrs Potts} recorded this song in 1 take!
11. To the Fair - 1:58. An instrumental piece.
12. West Wing - 4:25. An instrumental piece.
13. The Beast Lets Belle Go - 2:22. An instrumental piece.
14. Battle on the Tower - 5:29. An instrumental piece.
15. Transformation - 5:50. An instrumental piece.
16. Be Our Guest {demo} 3:29. This song was originally meant for the character of Belle's father, but the team gave it to Belle, because they didn't want to waste the song on a secondary character.
17. Beauty and the Beast {Work Tape and Demo} - 3:58.
18. Beauty and the Beast - 4:07. Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson at their very best!
19. Death of the Beast {Original Early Version} - 1:29.

Duration of CD = 64 minutes & 50 seconds.

As well as the songs, you get a booklet of song words with this CD, and they begin with a few words from Alan Menken {he and Howard Ashman wrote the songs for Beauty and the Beast} ~

This special tenth anniversary release of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST is accompanied by an extra sense of emotion. My friend and brilliant collaborator, Howard Ashman is no longer with us. So, I'm especially pleased that several "behind the scenes" recordings have found their way on to this disc. I think they'll shed some light on our creative process as we shaped these songs.
The previously unissued original cue for "death of the beast" was the first attempt to musically convey the emotion in this pivotal scene. It was felt at the time that something more ethereal was perhaps better suited to the moment the animators were striving for. So we recorded a new cue, which was used in the final film.
When listening to these work tapes and demos, I can't help but feel Howard's presence in the room. I dedicate this album to his memory.

If you've never seen Beauty and the Beast, it won a Golden Globe, a Grammy and it's the first and only animated film to ever be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture. Also, it came early in the Disney Renaissance (1989-1999, starting with The Little Mermaid and ending with Tarzan.}

Young or young at heart, Female or male, this CD will enchant and enthral anyone who listens to it.

UTTERLY FABULOUS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2001
Another example of the wonderful musical resources available to the disney empire. The quality of vocal and orchestral work on this album is second to none from the gentle strains of "Something There" throught the knockabout humour of "Be Our Guest" and on to the soaring finale this is an enthralling musical journey.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Disney's "Beauty and the Beast" had two great composers Alan Menken and the late Howard Ashman

The music and lyrics are wonderful they are full of emotion and passion. Their songs have beautiful melodies, with lyrics that tell a story and in turn they give a heart to this film which is about trust and love.

For any Disney movie fan this is a must to have in your collection. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
The songs and score of "Beauty and the Beast" are arguably among the best in Disney history. Apart from the movie versions of the songs, this album also includes some beautiful demos sung by Howard Ashman and Alan Menken themselves, as well as an alternative musical piece for the death of the Beast scene; let alone it comes with a beautiful cover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
I have always loved the Disney film so when I saw this on Amazon in digital form ,I just had to buy it. Not only has it got all the songs sung by the Disney cast, but also the music and some extra versions by different people. Great value for money and a fabulous way to relive the story or just relive the magic of the music and lyrics of a classic tale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
I'm a school escort on a bus of 7 special needs children, music makes them happy😊this CD was a hit and they love to clap along! Excellent condition and would buy from them again😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Now that I have finally managed to find where Amazon placed it in my PC I am listening to it all and it is fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
Bought this by mistake and even though I haven't downloaded it I can't have a refund! Bad show Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)