Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beauty & the Beast (Audio CD)
I absolutely love the film Beauty and the Beast and needed the soundtrack. I have nearly all of the Disney soundtracks and this soundtrack, along with the Aladdin and The Little Mermaid soundtracks are the best. It contains all of the music from the film, and unlike with some of the soundtracks, none of the characters voices over the songs have been edited out. The best songs on this soundtrack are Gaston, The Mob Song and Beauty and the Beast and even the reprises are brilliant. With this edition you also get a new song, Human Again and a demo recording, but the quality of the classic songs surpass the new song and the demo recording. Prepare to be blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 21 Mar 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty & the Beast (Audio CD)
This wonderful CD has fifteen tunes drawn straight from Disney's hit movie, Beauty and the Beast. The prologue includes the poem-like story of the Beast, and then the CD launches into the songs. They're all here (though not in the order that they were in the movie, sadly), even five instrumental tunes that were in the background during exciting scenes.
The paperwork for the CD is minimal, with no "extras" or anything to recommend it. But, the music is great, making this CD a great purchase for anyone who has to take car rides with kids (like me). Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Supreme, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beauty & the Beast (Audio CD)
Another example of the wonderful musical resources available to the disney empire. The quality of vocal and orchestral work on this album is second to none from the gentle strains of "Something There" throught the knockabout humour of "Be Our Guest" and on to the soaring finale this is an enthralling musical journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Audio CD)
My daughter loves the film. Bought this for her fancy dress birthday party and she was belle. She loved the music, lovely cd. Happy mother of 4 year daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got this for my sister- but love it as much as her!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Audio CD)
It doesn't beat watching the visuals with it- but if you have seen the film (and I warn you sternly- you MUST before purchasing this) you will love being able to sing along to it while getting on with domestic life.
The 'Beauty and the Beast' tune is famous (nice voice J.B Fletcher!) and, obviously, so is 'Be our Guest'...But best of all are Gaston's vain, manly, arrogant, booming ditties. Gaston is one of the most underated villians ever...anyone who has come into contact with his villianous charm will love the git forever in the same way we adore Darth Vader and Gollum. Disney are making a live-action movie of 'Malificent'...and did one about Snow White where a lot of attention was given to the Evil Queen (Charlize Theron)...also in their sites for this format is Cruella Deville...

Great. Now let's hope they do one of Gaston! Tom Hardy was made to do it...(oh, and live-action Belle? Jenna Louise Coleman. Hell yeah.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty & The Beast Soundtrack, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always loved the Disney film so when I saw this on Amazon in digital form ,I just had to buy it. Not only has it got all the songs sung by the Disney cast, but also the music and some extra versions by different people. Great value for money and a fabulous way to relive the story or just relive the magic of the music and lyrics of a classic tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movie soundtracks of all time, 28 April 2013
By 
Maria Potter (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Audio CD)
The songs and score of "Beauty and the Beast" are arguably among the best in Disney history. Apart from the movie versions of the songs, this album also includes some beautiful demos sung by Howard Ashman and Alan Menken themselves, as well as an alternative musical piece for the death of the Beast scene; let alone it comes with a beautiful cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tale as old as time!, 22 Oct 2007
By 
AMG - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Audio CD)
This soundtrack marks the tenth anniversary of the release of Disney's 1991 classic BEAUTY AND THE BEAST {this CD was released in 2001.}

Beauty and the Beast is about a strong willed young woman {Belle} who longs for "much more than her provincial life" and gets it, when she breaks an enchantresses spell put on a Beast and his castle.

This CD features every song and instrumental piece of music from the movie ~
tracks 1 to 15 and track 18 {played over the end credits} plus three extra pieces of music ~ track 16, track 17 and track 19.

The songs:
1. Prologue - 2:29. Here, the narrator informs the audience how and why the Beast became a Beast. The narrators voice belongs to David Ogden Stiers {the voice of Cogsworth the clock!}
2. Belle - 5:07. I saw Beauty and the Beast when it played my local theatre, and this particular song sounds exactly like what I heard in the theatre!
3. Belle {reprise} 1:05.
4. Gaston - 3:40. A superb song, brilliantly sung by Richard White {Gaston} and Jesse Corti {Lefou.}
5. Gaston {reprise} 2:04.
6. Be Our Guest - 3:45. The glorious Jerry Orbach {Lumiere the candlestick} sings this song as Yves Montand!
7. Something There - 2:19. Paige O Hara {Belle} shows off her beautiful voice.
8. Human Again - 4:55. A song never included in the original 1991 film, but has since been included on subsequent videos and DVD's because it gives an insight into the enchanted objects point of view.
9. The Mob Song - 3:30.
10. Beauty and the Beast - 2:45. Angela Lansbury {Mrs Potts} recorded this song in 1 take!
11. To the Fair - 1:58. An instrumental piece.
12. West Wing - 4:25. An instrumental piece.
13. The Beast Lets Belle Go - 2:22. An instrumental piece.
14. Battle on the Tower - 5:29. An instrumental piece.
15. Transformation - 5:50. An instrumental piece.
16. Be Our Guest {demo} 3:29. This song was originally meant for the character of Belle's father, but the team gave it to Belle, because they didn't want to waste the song on a secondary character.
17. Beauty and the Beast {Work Tape and Demo} - 3:58.
18. Beauty and the Beast - 4:07. Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson at their very best!
19. Death of the Beast {Original Early Version} - 1:29.

Duration of CD = 64 minutes & 50 seconds.

As well as the songs, you get a booklet of song words with this CD, and they begin with a few words from Alan Menken {he and Howard Ashman wrote the songs for Beauty and the Beast} ~

This special tenth anniversary release of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST is accompanied by an extra sense of emotion. My friend and brilliant collaborator, Howard Ashman is no longer with us. So, I'm especially pleased that several "behind the scenes" recordings have found their way on to this disc. I think they'll shed some light on our creative process as we shaped these songs.
The previously unissued original cue for "death of the beast" was the first attempt to musically convey the emotion in this pivotal scene. It was felt at the time that something more ethereal was perhaps better suited to the moment the animators were striving for. So we recorded a new cue, which was used in the final film.
When listening to these work tapes and demos, I can't help but feel Howard's presence in the room. I dedicate this album to his memory.

If you've never seen Beauty and the Beast, it won a Golden Globe, a Grammy and it's the first and only animated film to ever be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture. Also, it came early in the Disney Renaissance (1989-1999, starting with The Little Mermaid and ending with Tarzan.}

Young or young at heart, Female or male, this CD will enchant and enthral anyone who listens to it.

UTTERLY FABULOUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music cd just like watching the video. Astounding, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beauty & the Beast (Audio CD)
The music is excellent and very moving. The quality is second to none. It's like being in a theatre but instead of watching the show on stage the musical comes alive in your own home. Fabulous. Would recommend it to everyone. My four year old loves it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a far away land, a young prince lived in a shining castle, 12 May 2005
By 
C. Crabtree "ceci x" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Audio CD)
To begin with, I am referring to the cd you see on the webpage, not an unavailable edition. This cd is becoming rarer and rarer, and it took me a while to find it. It includes all the songs from the film plus most of the score (although the songs come before the music, probably so that if you dont want to listen to the music, you can listen to the songs and then turn the cd off! - Why would anyone want to do that???).
The oscar winning song "Beuaty and the Beast" is perfect when you want to relax, and the other songs are enough to get anyone in the mood for romance or dancing (odd combination?)
Anyway, to cut this review short, its a brilliant film, with a brilliant soundtrack. Dont just stand there - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty And The Beast
Beauty And The Beast by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews