Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UB40 at their best
This is my favourite UB40 album, it sounds as though they're playing in your living room, very rootsy and Earl on Bass in pumping it very loudly. I truely believe that this album ranks alongside all-time reggae classics from Marley, Dennis Brown. This album opened up the way for a lot of artists in the UK to follow suite. Ali's voice sounds excellent and the band as a...
Published on 28 April 2001

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Terrible sound quality, thrown in bin.
Published 4 months ago by Michael B.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UB40 at their best, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Signing Off (Audio CD)
This is my favourite UB40 album, it sounds as though they're playing in your living room, very rootsy and Earl on Bass in pumping it very loudly. I truely believe that this album ranks alongside all-time reggae classics from Marley, Dennis Brown. This album opened up the way for a lot of artists in the UK to follow suite. Ali's voice sounds excellent and the band as a whole sound raw and full of genuine energy. There are so many highlights on this album (every instrumental for instance), but if I was forced to pick just one, it would have to be the fantastic King - a moving tribute to Martin Luthur King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Re-Issue Package, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
N. J. Lawrence (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Signing Off [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
UB40'S Signing Off has always been one of my favourite albums of all time, with classic songs such as "King", "Food For Thought", "Tyler", "I Think It's Going To Rain Today" amongst others. This 30th Anniversary Edition is an excellent package, containing the original album remastered, a 2nd disc of B-sides, 12" Mixes and BBC Radio 1 Sessions and a DVD featuring the videos to the singles, debut appearance on BBC'S "Top Of The Pops" T.V show and the "Rock Goes To College" concert. Also inside is a booklet with the story behind the making of the album and comments from the band members. This is a fantastic collectors item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome album, 12 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Signing Off (Audio CD)
before they settled into a blander niche, ub40 were a mighty british reggae band with the avowed intention of bringing dub into the charts and the mainstream. how they succeeded! tyler, king, food for thought and burden of shame were heartfelt political statements of their time set to infectious grooves,weird echoey dubs and ali`s unique vocals. the standout track has to be "madam medusa" which is the finest anti-thatcher record ever(they encored with it at glastonbury 1983 a few days after the tories election victory, introducing it as more relevant than ever), almost 13 minutes long with one of the longest and most atmospheric dubs ever committed to record- simply outstanding and worth the price of the cd on it`s own. signing off is simply one of the finest reggae albums ever made,totally unique and never bettered- buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before they got boring, 21 Jan. 2003
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Signing Off (Audio CD)
The first album, complete with the contents of the free ep record that was slipped in with the original LP.
A reminder of what a great band this was before it became the Reggae equivalent of Status Quo.
Fabulous songs beautifully presented. All that lush saxaphone riffing and passion.
A mighty rhythm machine. The only UB40 album you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UB40's Finest, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Signing Off [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
This is by far UB40's best album. I bought this album when it was first released on vynal and brings back happy memories. The CD starts off with the superb Tyler which sets the standard for the rest of the set. The extras include 12 inch versions of the hits and tracks not included on the original album (Dream a Lie, The Earth Dies Screaming). The DVD is a bonus as this includes a 45 minute live set from televisions Rock Goes to College and the group perform the songs with energy and enjoyment.
I already had an old copy of Signing Off on CD but decided to buy this Deluxe Edition because of the extras included and I am very glad that I did. I cannot recommend this highly enough and if you have an old copy of Signing Off, sell it and buy this Deluxe Edition - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just How good is This?, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Signing Off (Audio CD)
There is a lot of criticism, not entirely justified, that UB40 became the reggae band for people who don't like reggae.Well, you pays your money and you takes your choice,but in my humble opinion, some of their most commercial stuff is very very good indeed. Before that however, there was this. A truly mighty, accomplished and extremely defiant debut album.Post punk, this identified with black britain in a similar way that the Clash had done for white disaffected teens.It challenges the norm socially (Eight black guys and one white guy in one band) Politically (more of which in a moment) and musically (reaching into deep Jamaican dub at a time when it certainly wasn't fashionable)and quite frankly redefines the idea of british protest music. Tyler ("is guilty. The white judges said so")King ("where are your people now? Chained and pacified.") Madame Medusa, Food for thought, the list goes on.A veritable feast of in your face direct challenge to the establishment.All set to a terrifyingly good dub/sax/reggae backing of a quality rarely seen or heard even now, and even more so back then. (There were other Bristish Reggae acts but none had the impact, the confidence, the sheer musical nerve of this band.)To think this was a debut is unimaginable. After 30 years it sounds as fresh and innovative as ever it did.Just breathtaking, and brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food for Thought, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Signing Off (MP3 Download)
Fantastic musical start to the Eighties, lyrics so relevant at the time, echo today's current political mess, this was a brilliant 1st album, brings back many great memories, PUNK, then Ska & 2 tone, wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this great re-issue, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Signing Off [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
This is a treasure trove of UB-40 from when they were very innovative and interesting.
The songs are captivating at times and seductive at other moments.
Great production and thought was put into Singing Off.
This has been a favorite of mine for over 20 years and I am glad it's available now as a 3 disc set.
The DVD contains some excellent concerts and clips from the same era this album was conceived.

A must get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
S. Pike "musicmad" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Signing Off [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
One of the most iconic albums of its time this 30th year annivirsary set is brilliant especially with the inclusion of the 12 inch version of i think its going to rain today. A simple must have for all UB40 fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UB mad not to buy it!!, 6 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Signing Off [2CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I'd forgotten how good this was,strange as I used to play it in the cold cell of my council house bedroom endlessly.The bonus cd includes the 12 inch version of Dream a Lie,a forgotten song that I'd forgotten I loved.My god,growing up in the 70's and 80's!It would have been so dull without music like this.
It's hard to remember how important music was,it still is,but not in the same life changing that it was then.Anyway back to this 2010 re-issue,it's two cd's and one dvd.The sound still has that warm slightly organic vibe that took the chill off those cold teenage nights.And has that odd feeling as if you were doing somthing to change the world just by listening to it.Odd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Signing Off
Signing Off by UB40
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews