Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Slices of the Apple
Out of all the Apple reissues released in 1991, Post Card was my firstselection. As a kid, I was fascinated with Mary Hopkin's vocal delivery ofThose Were the Days. Many years later, I found out that one of my auntsshared this particular fondness upon discovering that she had a 45 RPMversion of the song with the B-side that consisted of Mary Hopkin'sarrangement of Turn...
Published on 20 April 2004 by Jon Strickland

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thing of shreds and patches
So, there she was, catapulted from obscurity into the limelight by a monster hit that must gave taken everybody by surprise. Rather like an X-Factor winner, Mary suddenly had to follow this brief blaze of glory up woth an album.
What came out can charitably be described as an eclectic mixture, or more honestly as a bit of a mish-mash, as Mary tries on differnt hats...
Published on 10 Jan 2012 by Terrahurtz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Slices of the Apple, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Postcard (Audio CD)
Out of all the Apple reissues released in 1991, Post Card was my firstselection. As a kid, I was fascinated with Mary Hopkin's vocal delivery ofThose Were the Days. Many years later, I found out that one of my auntsshared this particular fondness upon discovering that she had a 45 RPMversion of the song with the B-side that consisted of Mary Hopkin'sarrangement of Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season). Bythen, the single was too scratched and too worn to be deemed playable, andto try find a replacement on any tipe of vinyl (LP or another 45)wasvirtually going on a "wild goose chase".
Fortunately, I would obtain these two songs on this CD, along with otherdelightful remakes which include covers of Lullaby of the Leaves, YoungLove, Love Is the Sweetest Thing, and Someone to Watch Over Me, the lastof which is probably my favorite.
In addition to these old favorites, Donovan pitched in two contributionsfor Ms. Hopkin to record, namely Voyage of the Moon and Lord of the ReedyRiver, both of which finely suited her voice. Another asset for Post Cardis Harry Nilsson's The Puppy Song, a lovable track that was almostreleased as a follow-up single to Those Were the Days. Also contained areY Blodyn Gwyn and Prince En Avignon, two tracks not sung in English, thelatter in French and the former in Welsh.
All in all, the instrumentations of echoing strings are quite serene andreminiscent of the Burt Bacharach musical arrangements present in theearly days of A&M Records, which had in its artist lineup Dionne Warwick,Jackie DeShannon, and The Carpenters. If Paul McCartney planned for awholesome image on the Apple label, then his decisions to follow theadvice of Twiggy and hire Ms. Hopkin and then select these songs for herto put forth were most definitely apt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE WIDE RANGING FIRST ALBUM, 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
I mainly bought this on the strength of those were the days
I was also interested to see what Mary sounded like on other material
i wasnt too disappointed this album was very enjoyable. what let it down
slightly was the idea of doing standards which as she says in the notes
was a test to see if she could do them justice They dont quite suit her voice
she has a pure tone in the style of joan baez What makes this collectionj
good is the extra bonus tracks which fills the cd up rather nicely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENCHANTING CD, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
THIS PAUL MCARTNEY PROD FRM 1968 IS A GREAT PERIOD PIECE.I REMEMBER TWIGGY RAVING ABOUT MARY AT THE TIME AFTER SEEING HER ON TV AND IT WAS TWIG WHO PHONED PAUL MCARTNEY ABOUT HER.VG REMASTERING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary has a wonderful voice, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful disc and brings back so many memories of the sixties. it is shame that more of her work was not readily available. This is a wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Postcard Mary Hopkin, 21 Sep 2011
By 
G. W. Whitehall "Gordon" (Liverpool (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Postcard (Audio CD)
Great Album addition to 60s Music CDs Collection
Those were the Days a great single well worth the Money along with all the other song she had a great voice and was one of Paul McCartney finds as he only lived across the Road from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The sweetest thing" in 1969!, 4 Aug 2009
By 
K. A. James (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Postcard (Audio CD)
There are mixed feelings about this LP from others and to some extent I share them. MH was a breath of fresh air at the time and I still love listening to her 40 years later so she had something. However some of the tracks are poorly considered - "Love Is The Sweetest Thing" sounds like a saturday night in a Working Men's Club version: other tracks are awesomely beautiful. Y Blodyn Gwyn and Inch Worm would stop the traffic, Prince en Avignon (is that PMC on drums?) grows on you, 'The Game' shows her voice off wonderfully. "Happiness Runs" is just beautifully silly - perfect for the time. As for the reviewer mentioning her absence from recording - there wasn't one. She is listed as a session singer on many albums recorded throughout the 70s and 80s especially LPs produced by hubby Tony Visconti. I don't think Mary particularly wanted fame and all the glitz - she only ever looked really comfortable when singing and that is a huge amount of her appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars POSTCARD, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
i REALLY ENJOYED LISTENING TO THIS CD AFTER MANY YEARS OF NOT HEARING IT. Enjoyed several of the hits...THOSE WERE THE DAYS of course being top of my list....shame they didnt include Marys eurovision song of KNOCK KNOCK WHO'S THERE AS A BONUS TRACK of the original....Nice to hear some Welsh renditions as well as the more commercial tracks. For any lover of the 60s music, this must be part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable - if you're in the mood, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
I had the vinyl copy of this without 'Those Were The Days' on it so when I saw this cd at a reasonable price it appealed to me. With it's mix of light pop and old songs it's a varied album and definitely shows the McCartney influence. As he produced it it's hardly surprising but it also displays his influence where song selection is concerned I suspect. Having written 'Those Were The Days' for Mary Hopkin which is an excellent pop song, some of the other songs tend to grate despite Mary singing them impeccably. I'm a big fan of McCartney but he does tend have a too varied mix of song style sometimes and I think this is the case here. It probably seems a bit too innocent and twee now and doesn't bear listening to too often. But this album is of it's time and if you're in just the right mood is enjoyable. But you have to be in that mood..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chezzer58, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
Mary Hopkins Album at her best. Great production great song great memories. Great packaging. Sixties Albums at their best. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Card (Audio CD)
Love this CD and the era. Great classic songs and vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Post Card (Bonus Tracks)
Buy MP3 Album£3.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews