Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches" (see my review). I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that...
Published on 3 May 2010 by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the product, not in Darwin's work, of course!
This review is not about the content of the book itself, of course!
It is about the seller and what they declare and show before a customer buys.
First, the cover is not the one in the picture. It's a modern asphalt road with a light beam shining over it.
On the side of the book the image is very dark on the middle so the black letters of the tittle of the...
Published 5 months ago by Daniel F.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy, 3 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches" (see my review). I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that recent pieces of knowledge were not available to Charles Darwin this book could have been written last week. Having to look from the outside without the knowledge of DNA or Plate Tectonics, he pretty much nailed how the environment and crossbreeding would have an effect on natural selection. Speaking of natural selection, I thought his was going to be some great insight to a new concept. All it means is that species are not being mucked around by man (artificial selection).

If you picked up Time magazine today you would find all the things that Charles said would be near impossible to find or do. Yet he predicted that it is doable in theory. With an imperfect geological record many things he was not able to find at the writing of this book have been found (according to the possibilities described in the book.)

The only draw back to the book was his constant apologizing. If he had more time and space he could prove this and that. Or it looks like this but who can say at this time. Or the same evidence can be interpreted 180 degrees different.

In the end it is worth reading and you will never look at life the same way again.

The Ascent of Man by Jacob Bronowski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the product, not in Darwin's work, of course!, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is not about the content of the book itself, of course!
It is about the seller and what they declare and show before a customer buys.
First, the cover is not the one in the picture. It's a modern asphalt road with a light beam shining over it.
On the side of the book the image is very dark on the middle so the black letters of the tittle of the book are impossibile to read.
Inside, well, how should I say it... When you buy a reproduction of the first editions of this masterpiece you expect that it contains the text that was published the first time.... NOT A PHOTOCOPY OF EACH PAGE OF A PRE-1929 EDITION!
I can not say it is completely unreadable, but almost all the text looks like a simply photocopy of an old typewritten document, with blurry letters, like faded text.
I was not expecting an particular kind of high quality book, but for £21 + delivery to Italy (Total of 36!) I was surely expecting a better product.
I even ordered the hardcover edition, because this is not any ordinary book.
Now anybody can tell me why people is allowed to sell things that do not match the pictures they publish or the descriptions they tell us about? Neither the picture nor previewed pages (showing perfectly printed text) are what I received.
I this point I don't think it's worth it sending it back and paying for the delivery again to get part of my money back and keep on spending my time searching for this edition but printed in a decent modern way and not just photocopied!
Am I too demanding? Maybe! Anyway you can check the photos and see it by yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 28 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as amazing now as it must of been when first released. read it, read it agian, then re-read before getting everyone you know to read it, hopefully you'll lead someone away from the darkside. whilst reading, really think about the massive impact this book has had and wonder at the amazing theory being proved on a daily basis. a true great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read what Darwin actually wrote, 17 Feb. 2015
Take this Kindle opportunity to read what Darwin actually wrote in the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection.

The theory is carefully argued, with many practical examples. Unfortunately this Kindle edition lacks illustrations. If you read only some of the chapters - to get the flavour so to speak - it will be a worthwhile experience.

I was impressed with Darwin's humility : this book is not a hard sell, but rather a journey down a crucially important scientific path that once started was impossible for Darwin not to explore fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Darwin delayed publishing this book for years because, arguably, religious fanaticism was even more prevalent then than it is now. Eventually, with other scientists moving towards the same conclusions as his own, he released it (and predictably it met with great criticism from the establishment).
Still in this more secular age many parents would prefer that Creationism was taught in schools rather than Evolution (and presumably Alchemy instead of Chemistry and Astrology instead of Astronomy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how great was this?!, 18 Jan. 2012
This fascinating read is a must-have. I bought it to help with my work, and found that it was utterly brilliant! It opened up a new world that made me think how special it would be to discover a new species! For me, Charles Darwin is the most incredible man there ever was. He and David Attenborough are my favorite men ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating introduction to the theory of evolution, 24 Jan. 2011
Charles Darwin is undoubtedly one of the most important scientists of his time. Although some of the knowledge in this book is not current, has been built upon or is wrong, it remains an important text.

I would recommend this to any person who is remotely interested in the evolution of life on Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 29 Jan. 2013
Im very interested in this subject, and this book is obviously the most important to start with. I was expecting to find a lot of it difficult to read as im not scientifically minded, but the book was written in a very easy to understand way.
Brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that changed the world, 30 May 2014
By 
teatime (directly above the centre of the earth) - See all my reviews
A book that changed the world, Darwin is to biology what Newton is to physics. Although the idea has progressed considerably since this book was written (Darwin had no knowledge of DNA) it is still worth reading such a wonderfully written and important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great science and great literature combined, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. A. G. Newman "Science Teacher" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Because it takes the biggest idea in science, and maybe the biggest idea in human history, and communicates it in such a lucid and understated manner, On The Origin of Species isn't simply a book. It is a milestone that marks a fork in the road for mankind's journey. We will decide to can continue on a path that values evidence, reason and curiosity or one that exalts beliefs, faith and authority. It's not just about the origin of all species it is also about the destiny of one - ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews