Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph over adversity
As a regular viewer of Gok's various television adventures I was always struck by how confident and full of beans this guy was, often envying his seeming endless ability to talk to anyone and everyone, without forgetting his championing of feeling comfortable in ourselves no matter what our shape or size. It must be said then, that reading his autobiography was a real...
Published on 10 Nov. 2010 by starryeyed

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Split Personality
This is not the type of thing I'd normally read as I feel it would be unusual for someone of close to my age to have enough life experience to be worthy of a whole book. However, I unexpectedly saw Gok Wan speak at the induction of a charity programme I'm involved in and he came across really well so I thought it would be worth a read.

A literary masterpiece...
Published on 28 April 2012 by Open Ears


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love gok, love the book!, 18 Oct. 2010
Bought it for a friend but ended up keeping it
for myself as I couldn't put it down! Really great read - so
honest, I loved it - go Gok! Keep up the fabulous work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 23 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Gok Wan's television programmes so I suppose I was already half way to being sure I'd enjoy his autobiography but I hadn't expected to find it quite so riveting. This story is written with heart warming honesty and reading about his battle to overcome his eating disorder (though he says he has not won the battle and will always have to fight to keep it under control) and lack of self esteem you can see why he is so brilliant at what he does. Knowing what it is like to have no self esteem and to loathe your body means he can really empathise with the women on his show. I also liked the way he wrote about his family - not only the love and support they have always provided, but giving us a glimpse behind the scenes of the Chinese restaurant business and family life.
I bought this for my sister's Christmas but had to buy one for me, too, as I know I'll want to read it again - though what I'd really like is a day's shopping spree with Gok Wan to advise me on what to buy! Reviewed by Mary Smith author of No More Mulberries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspirational, 9 Jan. 2011
By 
JoBoo (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Loved this book from start to finish.The love he had for his family and from them in return was very heartwarming to hear.On a few occasions it brought a tear to my eye when reading the private letters he wrote to his family, especially the one he wrote to his Father at the end of the book.I didn't realise that he went through such a trauma in his teens from being so overweight then going from that to being anorexic. He was so ill that he almost died. I've loved all his get Naked shows and have watched every one of them. I would have liked to read a little more on how he got his cosmetic/clothing range started in the book as it hardly mentioned this at all, unless it it featured in one of his other books?.It was a book that I read in a week as couldnt put it down ...loved it ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Read, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
Brought this book and couldent wait to start it once i did couldent put it down ,every spare minute i had it was in my hands.Gok is honest and frank about all that happened and there was many a time in reading it i found i had been in the same position and i brought back many memories(not so happy).The final chapter is the one where you actually need to read carefully as this has the most life changing words i have ever read in a book ,all he says is true and the words will mean something to every one.
Absolutley fab book and one that i will read again if i need a bit of a confidence boost.
Marks out of 10 must be 11 it was the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Honesty, 22 Nov. 2010
Being an avid fan of Gok Wan, i wanted to know more about him, the book has done this. It is brilliant and heartwarming, the way he has pulled himself up after being knocked down so many times,the honesty regarding bullying, being fat, anorexia and the fear of coming out to his parents which must have been a difficult decision to make. The way his parents accepted this, though his dad never spoke about it, shows what love is within his family.
It is a book that makes you feel there is always something out there for everyone and to keep going never give up on a dream. I am now nearly towards the end of the book although i can't wait to see how it ends, i don't want it to end as i would like to know how his life is spanning out now. On reading this book, Gok comes over as a very charismatic and interesting person, with loads of energy and great fun, this also shows in his T.V. programmes, I am sure lots of women feel great and motivated after watching him and reading his book.[ASIN:0091938392 Through Thick and Thin: My Autobiography]]
Brilliant book, can't wait for next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gok Wan = Beautiful Man, 24 Nov. 2010
Having been a Gok fan from the word go, I was desperate to get my paws on this book. As a young woman, 'How to Look Good Naked' has had a hugely positive impact on my body image, and the catwalk scenes never cease to have me in tears. I always wondered how a man could even begin to understand and appreciate the complexities surrounding the typically female subject of body image, but after reading this startlingly honest book, I see that Gok Wan is more than qualified. He has experienced major confidence knock-backs, enormous physical and emotional trauma and has come out the other side a warm and compassionate human being. Although I am often cynical when under 65's bring out an autobiography, 'Through Thick and Thin' is a captivating snapshot of a life and career that will undoubtedly continue to flourish. Whether you are a hardcore Gok fan or just curious about the flamboyant Chinese guy flouncing about on your TV screen, this candid book will reveal to you just how fabulous Auntie Gok is, inside and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Nov. 2010
As a huge fan of Gok and How to Look Good Naked I couldn't wait to delve into his autobiography and it didn't disappoint. On numerous occasions I laughed out loud at Goks' anecdotes. I couldn't have imagined the troubles he went though as a youngster but it has made me realise now the reasons why he is so good at understanding the issues women have with their bodies. I love Gok even more now from reading his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 26 Nov. 2010
By 
Gayl MacKinnon (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love watching Gok on TV and decided to buy this book. It was well written and I can identify with so many of the things that happened to Gok in his life. He has struggled with an eating disorder all of his life, being bullied, and just feeling for so long that he could not find his place in life. This book will make you laugh and cry. Thank you Gok, for sharing your life with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and inspirational!, 5 April 2012
I was never sure if i loved Gok, or thought he was annoying...this book makes me love him.

At the start of some chapters are some easy Chinese recipes which is a lovely touch that i haven't come across before
Gok's story is inspirational, he comes across as a really nice normal guy and not just a celebrity. Goks life when he was young was happy and normal with his family but he ate alot and came to be over overweight, this then led to anorexia, this story goes right from the beginning to his rise in fame and flows really well.

This book is incredible, Gok made his way up through his own hard work an determination and its so nice to read an honest story. This book isnt annoying or over the top which i thought it would be...its a really inspirational story and i would recommend giving this a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soooooo Gok!!!!!, 23 Feb. 2012
I hadn't read an autobiography in a long time, but love watching Gok and saw this in the library so thought I'd try it. I love the section on Gok growing up- his childhood and teenage years are really compelling to read!!! As he grows older you can see exactly why he has ended up where he has done and why he wants people to look their best and feel positive about themselves.

This book is written in exactly the same way and tone as how he speaks, and it was like Gok was in the room with me, telling me his stories as i was reading. I wasn't as interested in the end of the book as i felt I already knew what he had been doing in recent years, so almost skimmed the last chapter, but i thoroughly enjoyed reading about his life up until this point. If you like Gok, you will love his story xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews