Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Kitchen Aid
We suffered for years in our household with hit and miss egg timers or sheer guesswork with the result that often as not we were left with underdone or hard boiled eggs.

I was a bit sceptical about this device, but it really does deliver exactly what it promises and we get the eggs exactly how we like them every time.

We found that living in a hard...
Published on 18 Nov. 2010 by Brett H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will not recommend
This timer is not accurate. It indicated that the eggs were hard boiled but when I took them out of the water they were medium. It also released a strange 'plastic' smell when placed in the water. In fact, I think it is a cheap copy of the original brand. Will not recommend.
Published 2 months ago by Mariam


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Kitchen Aid, 18 Nov. 2010
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
We suffered for years in our household with hit and miss egg timers or sheer guesswork with the result that often as not we were left with underdone or hard boiled eggs.

I was a bit sceptical about this device, but it really does deliver exactly what it promises and we get the eggs exactly how we like them every time.

We found that living in a hard water area, the timer acquired a film over the surface after a while which made it hard to read. However, this was easily removed by wetting it and then rubbing hard with a glass cloth.

One tip is to take the pan off the stove just before it reaches the chosen mark. Whilst you are fiddling around getting the toast and/or egg cups and/or tea ready the eggs continue to cook in the hot water and end up just right. Even if you take them out of the water they will be very hot and will continue to harden up until you eat them, so bear this in mind if you are not immediately going to tuck into breakfast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eggscellent, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
Discerning - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
Groan. Yes, it is true that I seem unable to boil an egg to either my own or anyone else's satisfaction. "Too soft." "Too hard." Never fear, the panacea is here. It came instruction-less but I boiled the water and popped in an egg straight from the fridge and this thing. It has a flat base so it doesn't roll about with your eggs. It became evident how it worked - the colour changes from the outside in, giving you an actual representation of how your egg is cooking along with the guide printed on it. The lines are odd and I don't see why it couldn't be a series of ovals but never mind, it works. An egg cooked eggsactly to order!! A good stocking filler for a pedantic egg-eater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but works very well., 2 Oct. 2011
By 
A. Taylor "farheadingley" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
Keep this where you keep your eggs, for me in the fridge, thus the device is at the temperature of the eggs and you get a perfect egg every time, hard, medium or soft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't live with out it., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
Perfect little gadget for a cheap price. Gives me perfect soft boiled eggs every time. I recommend this egg timer to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... what it says and I find it invaluable for perfect eggs. This is the third of these gadgets ..., 21 July 2014
By 
C. Brown (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
Does just what it says and I find it invaluable for perfect eggs. This is the third of these gadgets I have had over the past few years; they last for ages and only need to be replaced when the boiling water eventually seeps into the seal around the edge. I find these much easier to use than a conventional egg timer and get a good result every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will not recommend, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
This timer is not accurate. It indicated that the eggs were hard boiled but when I took them out of the water they were medium. It also released a strange 'plastic' smell when placed in the water. In fact, I think it is a cheap copy of the original brand. Will not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Similar product used on holiday - Egg Perfect - did not smell or taint the water, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
Works ok, but the smell from the timer when it is hot is really awful. Similar product used on holiday - Egg Perfect - did not smell or taint the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have egg boiling hardness gauge thing, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
Excellent. My wife loves boiled eggs (unlike me) and uses this regularly with great results (or so she tells me). Her egg boiling arsenal also features a particular egg slicer styled after a chicken. Between them they have provided many years of loyal sandwich and salad garnish production of a superior quality. Bank manager be damned, invest and enjoy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea, but I have to say it doesn't ..., 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
I bought this item as I can never seem to get a boiled egg cooked to perfection. Great Idea, but I have to say it doesn't work perfectly, the first time I tried it I did it to medium and there was no yolk to dip my egg in, it was very much hard boiled!! Second attempt was more successful but I have to say it didn't take away my boiled egg stress haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashley Pop In Magic Colour Changing Perfect Boiled Egg Timer
I can cook my eggs perfectly now without wondering whether they are done. Brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews