Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for money
I would highly recommend this shotblasting cabinet. I was not expecting it to be such good quality for the money I paid. I've been using it for cleaning brake callipers and it's done me proud. You definitely need to attach a dust extractor / vacuum to it though. If you don't, visibility reduces to zero in less than a minute.
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Turra

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very flawed product, but about as good value as you're likely to find
I bought this cabinet maybe a year or so ago now, so I'm qualified I think to comment objectively on it having used it a great deal now.
Fundamentally, if you have a suitable compressor to run it on, then this is a mega useful thing to have, if you compare against not being able to do any blasting. That's the important thing to consider really, but beyond that basic...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. J. DEBACKER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for money, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
I would highly recommend this shotblasting cabinet. I was not expecting it to be such good quality for the money I paid. I've been using it for cleaning brake callipers and it's done me proud. You definitely need to attach a dust extractor / vacuum to it though. If you don't, visibility reduces to zero in less than a minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very flawed product, but about as good value as you're likely to find, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. DEBACKER (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
I bought this cabinet maybe a year or so ago now, so I'm qualified I think to comment objectively on it having used it a great deal now.
Fundamentally, if you have a suitable compressor to run it on, then this is a mega useful thing to have, if you compare against not being able to do any blasting. That's the important thing to consider really, but beyond that basic comparison it is fairly pants, considering that it could be a LOT better without really costing much more at all to make.

Here are the main issues with this cabinet from my own experiences (not in any order):
1) The blast media does not feed correctly, meaning it constantly seems to get blocked. The pickup tube lies along the base of the cabinet and has an outer tube that I think is for keeping the supply ventilated so it feeds correctly. Good idea, except that the entire thing sits on the bottom of the cabinet and is thus buried completely in the media. And therefore does not allow air in. I made a vertically attached replacement for the pickup tube (with a second vertical tube to vent air in - it joins the main pickup just above the bottom), and it now never clogs up as a result. Result.

2) The integral light is rubbish. It's not bright at all. Easily improved by fitting more lights around the inside of the cabinet by whatever means you wish.

3) The media gets EVERYWHERE, since the joins of the cabinet's panels are not sealed correctly. The first thing to do if you buy one of these is strip it down and silicone the joins, but being careful not to leave excess on the inside of the cabinet, since that will inevitably come loose and cause blockages.

4) Dust! This isn't really the cabinet's fault per se, but it is a problem, and a big one with these small cheap cabinets. You don't get much use at all before the air in the cabinet is thick with dust, and you can no longer see what you're doing. It's pretty infuriating.
The solution is to hook up a vacuum to the outlet on the other side of the filter (above the air line attachment point). But it's not that simple. Ideally you need to be able to control the vacuum to run at a very low power, otherwise the gloves in the cabinet inflate and become very difficult to do. Some form of venting inline with the vac (however you attach it) also helps to reduce the suction to a sensible level. Building some form of water trap is generally considered a big plus point.

So yeah, compared to not being able to do any blasting this cabinet is brilliant, and appears to be an exact clone of the common brands like Clarke/Sealey etc, but at a lower price. So in that respect it's a cracking buy. But if you're expecting to buy something that just allows you to get blasting and be pleased, without any issues, then be prepared for some frustration to put it politely.

I don't know if buying the larger, dearer ones gets you better build & features, but if you need a small cabinet, buy this then modify it to make it good.

And don't forget, for any sort of blasting you really kinda need a beast of a compressor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so happy with this, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
Purchased this for small item cleaning, however the shortness and stiffness of the air and media hoses make it very difficult to move gun inside cabinet.one asumes you use a vacuum cleaner as extraction of dust , I used a wickes industrial one (like for cleaning your car) but when the filter on the blaster is clean my vacuum nearly sucks the plastic viewing screen right out and the gloves go dead straight. However within minutes the paper filter on the blaster clogs up and vacuum sucks itself silly. I am still experimenting with the amount of media in the cabinet to achieve dust free / media staying in the pick up area. I'm using regular abrasive media but feel this has too much dust and am going to get some glass media to try.Its difficult to see how much media is coming out of the gun as the dust is bad but it doesn't seem a lot as it has taken a long time to clean a sample item only 6" long? I've brought a new compressor today as my original doesn't keep up so this has been a costly exercise?
In all, consider the size of item to clean,(cabinet size) is your compressor good enough, (needs constant 100 psi) Dust extraction problem!!
Iv'e not given up yet but I'm close to in 2 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI..., 12 Dec 2012
By 
S. C. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
The cabinet itself seems well constructed. which is what I primarily bought it for. Am fitting smaller blast gun for delicate work so cannot comment on one provided. The only downer so far is lack of details re spares such as nozzles and filters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars garage tools, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
first class ,best tool for my garage cleans rust from many car and bike parts very happy with the price,thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
Highly recommended !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality sand blaster, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FoxHunter Sandblaster Cabinet for Glass Beads, Sillica Sand, Alum Oxide, 100 PSI Maximum Shot Blaster Sandblastering (Misc.)
I am very pleased with this product, the only problem I had was the damage it incurred during transit, though no damage to the packaging, after repairing the dent and seal a great. It would have travelled better flat packed as there are full assembly instructions included. A great product 100% recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews