Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen Up Party People !
2009's 'The E.N.D. (the Energy Never Dies)' was a fan-divider.
For many it was a nice surprise. For others it was the kiss of death;
a downward spiral to oblivion. I loved it to bits!

'The Beginning' invites us to yet another big night out. It's party album.
From the opening bars of 'The Time (Dirty Bit)', which cheekily
incorporates the...
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by The Wolf

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IN THE GROOVE AGAIN!
This album grows on you the more you listen. Not as good as their previous album but I am glad I got it anyway.
Published on 10 May 2011 by L. Ryan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
This CD is one of the best I`ve heard from the Black Eyed Peas,with a great mix of songs .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IN THE GROOVE AGAIN!, 10 May 2011
By 
L. Ryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (MP3 Download)
This album grows on you the more you listen. Not as good as their previous album but I am glad I got it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Erm....OK!, 12 April 2011
By 
Philippa Leah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
This albums is no where near as good as The E.N.D there is only 3 tracks that I like:
The Time
Love You Long Time
XOXOXOX
The rest for me a frankly a little bit boring and not much to brag about i feel they could have done so much better with this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
Very disappointing Album. I feel it was rush released off the back of the last Album they tried to copy the sound of the last Album (The E.N.D.) but have taken it too far it sounds like an experimental album or a load of B-Sides. I find it hard to name any songs which would be suitable for singles unless they completely change them. I think they would of been better off having it as a double album/re-release of the END with "The Time Dirty Bit" as the lead single. Do not buy unless you are an absolute fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good but not the best, 6 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
i brought this for my fiance for christmas, he says it's a good album but not as good as the E.N.D, he only likes 'the time' in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this is the beginning, please give me the E.N.D., 17 Dec 2010
My expectations for this album were really high, however following 'The E.N.D. with another quality album was always going to be a hard task but I didn't think it would sound like this.

The new style the B.E.Ps have taken on since 'the end' has divided opinion (mine included) but at least on 'the end' had some great anthems which had a unique style. Unfortunately most tracks on 'The Beginning' exude the repetitive, dull half arsed dance music normally associated with the one hit wonder of each weekly chart. This isn't helped by the lack of imagination of the lyrics which also are reptitive, dull and half arsed. Clearly the BEP's are feeling the hangover of all the non stop partying they are purveying because when I hear 'don't stop the party' it makes think that it was made whilst everyone was still drunk the morning after the night before.

However there are some tracks that save this album from being a complete disaster; 'the time (dirty bit)', 'fashion beats', 'the situation' and also some great samples that add more depth to this extremely shallow album.

The most frustrating thing is this album could have been brilliant. Will.I.Am set a new agenda for the BEP's with 'The End' and fans have followed the great anthems of 'The End' to this album with high expectations, unfortunately in my opinion it's a victim of the success of 'The End' and I'm left hoping the next album will take some cues from elephunk and monkey business and less from the autotune craze that plagues this one. Leave the mindless dance tracks to Cascada please Mr Will.I.Am and concentrate on what made the BEPs so good in the first place! Overall it seems rushed, uninspired and merely a poor imitation of the best parts of 'The End' which there were only a few.

'The Beginning' = Mostly filler and very little killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More consistent than previous albums but lacks any anthems, 3 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
"The Beginning" comes hot on the heels only 1 year after the previous album "The End". Unlike that album "The Beginning" doesn't deliver any real classics, though is by a long shot more consistent than their previous albums, there's nothing on here that really touches the likes of "Ive got a feeling" "Meet me halfway" "Rock your body" etc for sheer brilliance, though the tracks "Play it loud" "The Situation" and "Whenever" come awfully close and are by far the best tracks on the album. ( Maybe they will eventually become classics..we'll see?) As some have mentioned there's little Fergie on here,think she appears on about 6 songs or so and that's it and only really gets 1 track to herself, will.i.am takes centre stage and uses his old buddy auto tune to help him along, will is a very good producer and the musical backbone of the group but his rapping and singing skills are mearly average so it's a shame then that he gets so much of this album to himself, Apparently the album was recorded whilst on tour and it does smack a bit rushed in places, with it lacking some of the killer killer classic tunes of "The End" the album as a whole though is bar far the most consistent they have done so far and the electro production is both punchy and progressive. "The End" was an ok album but had 4 classic singles that made it sell millions, the rest of that album wasn't really that fantastic to be honest, so back and listen to "The End" and then "The Beginning" and clear that the latter is the more consistent album

"The Beginning" probably wont win them any new fans but as a whole album it works far better than their previous ones.

Also if you are getting this then get the Super deluxe version as it has 6 extra tracks over the standard version and another 3 over the regular deluxe version. You will only find the brilliant "The Situation" on either of the deluxe editions. The super deluxe also features "Everything wonderful" feat David Guetta which is another cool track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars insult to music, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Beginning (Audio CD)
If you're wondering about buying this CD, please think again! Many BEP fans weren't too happy about the E.N.D. due to its more pop-commercial dance sound. If you hated that album you will not like this album, since it is full of replayed, recycled and re-sampled beats and vocals that are incredibly monotonous (I love dance music, but this is an insult to anyone in the genre!).
If you loved the E.N.D. you will not like this album, since it is full of the same songs played over and over again. no originality here people! the songs never even reach a peak, they just drone on and on in a senseless babble. (even worse than david guetta's new work).
Like the review in the description, it seems as though the peas have steered clear of their fanbase and roots, so if you hated everything about the black eyed peas until now, maybe this album is for you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Dec 2011
By 
connor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beginning (MP3 Download)
Very quick download and much cheaper then apple. Even better with my student discount Even better that you can have this song on your phone and on apple devices rather than just having it on only one device
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money..., 26 Aug 2011
I used to like the band but sincerely, this is far from their best album... Just few tracks are worth it, and i was almost falling asleep in my car because it was anoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beginning
The Beginning by The Black Eyed Peas (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews