Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Knog Frog copies...but ok.
I bought these for my sons bike. I use a very similar looking product on my own bike called 'Knog Frogs' which are excellent, but much more expensive.

These are a lot cheaper but the design isn't quite as good....which i'll get to.

I like the double LEDs on these (Knogs only have one) which give off a perfectly decent brightness - not enough to see...
Published 21 months ago by Scale70

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for being seen than seeing where you're going.
These are small easy to carry around with you lights but lack illumination. If cycling down a dark unlit road or track these will not help your visibility at all, you basically have no lights. But what these are good for is highlighting you to other road and track users, allowing them to be aware that you are there, even if you cant see them, they're aware of you.
Published 11 months ago by msprigster


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Knog Frog copies...but ok., 14 May 2013
By 
Scale70 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
I bought these for my sons bike. I use a very similar looking product on my own bike called 'Knog Frogs' which are excellent, but much more expensive.

These are a lot cheaper but the design isn't quite as good....which i'll get to.

I like the double LEDs on these (Knogs only have one) which give off a perfectly decent brightness - not enough to see by, but good enough to be SEEN, which is what these are for. I like the various flashing patterns too. The batteries are well sealed up and seem waterproof. The silicone material seems pretty decent quality too, although the strap seems a little bit thin when stretched around something wide like a seat post. Time will tell.

My problem with them though (hence minus one star) is the little clear hook for the strap - it's not bendy. On my Knog frogs the strap and hook parts are both bendy and therefore bend beautifully around whatever you attach them too. On these the solid hook means that they don't quite hold on as tight in some places as i'd like them too. Perhaps not a huge deal, but the design just isn't quite as nice.

But for the price I paid (under a fiver) they seem great value and i'd buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Great value!, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Ian C (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
Not much to it really. They are a set of front and rear cycle lights, though they are so light and easy to fit and remove that you could use them for a number of situations to be honest.

They are very small with two super bright LED's on each and are operated with a simple click of the switch mounted on the top of each light. Press once for a solid, always-on beam of light. Twice for a straightforward blinking light and three times for a strobe effect. Personally I prefer the strobe effect for use on my cycle as it appears to command a bit more attention which primarily is what you are looking for!

They are very easy to fit, and remove. Simply place the light where you want it and stretch the band around your handlebar or seat post and clip to fit. Job done literally in seconds.

I would have given these 5 stars, however these lights are not really suitable for cycling off-road where you would want to see where you are going. They do provide a lot of light, but mainly seem designed for attracting attention. If you need to see where you are going as well as be seen, then these may not be for you. As a device for ensuring you are seen while cycling on lit roads at night, then for the money these little gems are really hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to be seen, 4 Dec. 2012
By 
Chris Wall "Chris W" (Hayling Island, Hants) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
Bright, work well and good value for money. Obviously if you need to see rather than be seen they are not bright enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life savers!!, 16 Nov. 2012
By 
Melvyn Frost (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
Brilliant ( literally) piece of kit. Small but very bright and easily attached to bike or helmet. I already have led rear lights on all my bikes but these can be seen from a long way away and really grab the eye in strobe mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for being seen than seeing where you're going., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
These are small easy to carry around with you lights but lack illumination. If cycling down a dark unlit road or track these will not help your visibility at all, you basically have no lights. But what these are good for is highlighting you to other road and track users, allowing them to be aware that you are there, even if you cant see them, they're aware of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LIGHTS!!, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
They look quite tiny, but fit properly on my helmet and I have got quite a lot of attention from them. A great purchase if you want an extra pair of lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
these lights are very good to make you much more visible than normal. You have a choice of flashing or constant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early verdict: Much better than more expensive lights, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
I have had these for a couple of days only. But I like them. The leds are really bright, and I particularly like how these fit into the aeration holes of my bicycle helmet. They do not stick out like my previous light, but rather, look like the light is embedded in the helmet itself. Much brighter than my previous light. There are two blinking modes, too.

I have not used these in rain, but the lights are covered by a rubber cover. So I do not anticipate problems there. Another possible issue that I have no experience as yet is battery life, but I expect no problems. Will revise if problems arise.

The lights are attached by a rubber band loop. Fits snugly in my helmet at least.

Overall a good product -- and the low price makes this a no-brainer choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for getting seen, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
A really useful light which is quick to fit/remove. No good for lighting your way home, but extremely useful for getting yourself noticed, without the faff of fixing brackets (this is useful on my kids bikes where there is not much space). Really cheap and unlike some other models on the market which I have used is really robust. These are in their second season now and still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat with one small flaw., 5 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. S. N. Cullinan "Sean" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport DirectTM Bicycle Bike Cycle Helmet Mega MiniTM 2x2 Twin LED's Silicone LED Light Set Black, Legally Flashing Light Set Conforms to Road Vehicle Lighting Regulations SI2005 No.2559. CE Approved (Sports)
These are pretty decent lights. They are small (think 4 £2 coins in a stack). But their brightness belies their size. They have two modes - flash and always-on. They are insignificant to look at and I believe ths makes them less prone to theft. The silicone straps can stretch a fair bit and wrap around any of the tubing on my bike. One inherent flaw is that my bike (which is not unusual) has no usable vertical bars to the rear. These light point in the direction of the bar that they are attached to. so if the bar is at 45 degrees to vertical, then they're going to point in that direction. The seat post is the most logical place, but my seat post is overloaded with other stuff. so think about your bike before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews