Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM IF YOU DON'T ALREADY OWN IT!!
Lets get one thing straight, this is not a new Florence and The Machine album it's just the original Lungs album put together with a second disc that includes one real new track and a reworking of another track. the rest of the second disc includes remixes and live tracks. It also includes new artwork.

The original album is great of course and for people not...
Published on 16 Mar 2011 by nin/ja77

versus
33 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money
This sort of thing will only stop if we all agree to stop buying shameless attempts to rip us all off. This has one NEW track for over eight quid. That is a shocking rip off even for an industry that is well used to conning the music going public. It offers nothing new to fans of F + M, Pass it by and spend your money on somthing more worthwile.
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by Nick Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM IF YOU DON'T ALREADY OWN IT!!, 16 Mar 2011
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
Lets get one thing straight, this is not a new Florence and The Machine album it's just the original Lungs album put together with a second disc that includes one real new track and a reworking of another track. the rest of the second disc includes remixes and live tracks. It also includes new artwork.

The original album is great of course and for people not familiar with it and might know only one or two tracks then this would be the perfect time to get it. the album includes all six singles that have been released from the album from the haunting "Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)" which has Florence in full Kate Bush mode. "Drumming song" with it's heavy drum beats and catchy chorus is great. "You've Got the Love" which is a cover version of The Source and Candi Staton is probably the song you will know best and as covers go it's very good.

The first single released from the album was the brilliant "Kiss With A Fist" which has some great lyrics such as "a kick in the teeth is good for some". "Dog Days Are Over" opens the album with the sound of harps before the the drums come in to drive the track on, it works great. "Girl With One Eye" is a track you could imagine PJ Harvey doing with it's stripped back sound and talk of doing damage to a body part!

The second disc open with single "Heavy In Your Arms" that was used on the soundtrack to The Twilight Saga: Eclipse, it of course wouldn't have sounded out of place on the main album. Next up is a reworking of her cover version "You've Got the Love" with English rapper Dizzee Rascal called "You Got the Dirtee Love" which the two performed live at the 2010 Brits Awards. The last six songs on the album are acoustic performances from the iTunes Festival 2010 that have been previously available. The Horrors remix "Hurricane Drunk" and Yeasayer remix "Dog Days Are Over" There is also two tracks recorded from the Hammersmith Apollo they are "Strangeness & Charm" and "Swimming".

This is the fourth version of Lungs to be released and if you already own the album you have to ask yourself is it worth paying for the album again for the second disc or should you just download the tracks you don't already have. However for people who don't already own the album this is a great release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New version rather than a new album..., 4 Dec 2010
By 
S. Tillotson (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
Contrary to the previous review on this CD, there are TWO new songs on the disc! Yeah not great if you already have the original, but there are remixes, plus the Dirty Love song she did with Dizzee Rascal at the Brits this year and other live versions of the songs. I love Flo and think this is a great album - but it's by no means a must buy if you already have Lungs. Not sure where this trend of revising albums has come from - because let's face it if you knew a more padded out version was coming you probably wouldn't buy the original! But it is a good listen :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spyros, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
This album has kept me creative for sooooo many hours of my life. The weird sound that Florence and her 'machine' gave to the music -happy yet sad, real yet haunted- has become a drug to me. When songs like 'Howl', 'Heavy in your arms', 'Cosmic Love' and 'Blinding' begin, i instantly vanish from this world. Her voice is so powerful and original that she got in my list of favourite artist extremely easy. I feel like the music has been waiting so long for something like that... Sadly the Deluxe i bought does NOT contain 'The hardest Of Hearts' wich is probably my favourite of Florence but it does contain rare material like 'Hospital Beds', 'Swimming' and the wonderful 'Strangeness and Charm' wich is live. She has soaked me into her parallel universe and i think i'm gonna enjoy it here while waiting for 'Ceremonials'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Florcene - Between Two Lungs, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
Delivered quickly. Great album and the extra CD added a number of great songs. I purchased Ceremonials by Florence and the Machine first and wanted to get their first release. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
Full of imagination and easy to listen to. The live material has prompted me to try and see them live. Amazing haunting quality to her voice. Stunning. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
After nearly 4 years Florence and Machine's first album still sounds fresh and original. The deluxe edition is worth getting purely for the inclusion of Dirtee Love (feat Dizzy Rascal). Still an epic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply FAB., 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
I always knew Florence and the machine were stellar musicians and yet I was still surprised at how good Lungs was. If you're not a reaally dedicated fan though and are cash strapped I would suggest just buying Lungs by itself rather than Between two Lungs. Nevertheless, the songs in both discs are beautiful with Flo's voice swinging between soft sweet melodic musings and powerful penetrating vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
Brilliant enhancement for my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
bought as a present but being a bit of a Florence fan I bought a 2nd copy for myself is that testimony enough. Great music form a talented lady and her band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good album, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between Two Lungs (Audio CD)
I bought this for my mum for Christmas and because I bought the CD, I got a digital copy of it free, which is awesome. It's a really good album, and I particularly like the song 'Cosmic Love'. It came on time and in good condition, so thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Between Two Lungs
Between Two Lungs by Florence + The Machine (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews