Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars55
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2011
A very affectionate spoof of 70's blaxploitation films. In fact, it's so affectionate and close to 70's detail that it pretty much transcends the spoof category and ends up actually becoming one of the best, baddest, daftest, hottest, coolest 1970's blax flick that never was.

It's one of those rare films where nothing goes to waste. Every opportunity is exploited to the fullest, be it a corny line, a bad continuity decision, or the right kind of hat on a pimp. You can feel from the off just how much fun was had making it and you can't help but be swept along. Sometimes i just watch the trailer to cheer myself up.

The soundtrack too is superb. Half of it (mainly the incidental music) is in fact british 70's library music, much of which was actually used in uk tv cop series etc of the 70's. A fine era for music and recording. The rest is all original but all recorded using only equipment made before the early 1970's, thus giving it a 100% authentic feel. Some seriously good songs that are a total pleasure in their own right, written and performed by Adrian Younge.

A happy film with style, heart and a whole hunk of A grade s-o-u-l. Check this sucka out.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
I'd been looking forward to seeing this ever since I first saw the trailer and fortunately it did not disappoint.

It just grabbed my attention right from the start. Within the first 30 seconds I was chuckling away & that was just at the advert for Anaconda Malt Liquor. In fact I think I had a smile on my face for the duration of the film.

The look, the dialogue, the soundtrack... Ok it is a spoof as much as it is homage but I felt wrapped in a warm fuzzy wave of blaxploitation nostalgia, as if I was nesting in a large afro.

The plot is about how Black Dynamite is out for revenge on the suckas responsible for the death of his brother. So it's time to get on with some kung-fu & take down the bad guys.
Black dynamite himself has a busy back-story, as he was in 'Nam & the C.I.A. He made a promise to his mother on her deathbed and he was also an orphan. The intentional mistakes in the film are great, highlights being 'Dynamite' getting distracted by the boom mic being in shot and an actor being replaced during a fight scene after getting upset when another actor slaps him during a fight scene.

Somehow everything comes together really well in this movie and jokes that would just fall flat on their face in say, Scary Movie, Epic movie or whatever rubbish they are doing next, just works really well here.
Fans of blaxploitation will probably enjoy this more but even if you're not familiar with the source material you should still check it out as it was so much fun to watch.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
Black Dynamite is out of sight!

If you are a fan of 70's Blaxploitation movies, then BD is for for you. Michael Jai White is oustanding as the Blaxploitation hero. He is a super cool cat who is part Shaft, part Superfly, part Black Gunn and Part Trouble Man who is out to stop the Man and get the mutha, who killed his brother.

Can ya dig it?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Excellent film. This is sophisticated comedy, yet gives the impression of being very simple. That's part of its beauty.

I bought this as I'm a fan of Michael Jai White (and thought 'Blood and Bone' was great). Here, you'll find all the usual kung fu magic, although with a 70's feel.

White co-wrote this film, and obviously has a great sense of humour. This movie takes the piss out of 70's action films, and it's hugely entertaining.

Why it's not been released in the UK on Blu-ray I don't know. So I bought the German version. Plays perfectly.

From beginning to end I was either smirking, laughing or nodding in appreciation.

It's been followed by an animated series ... I hope there'll be a 'Black Dynamite 2'!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Black Dynamite is one of the better spoofs in recent years, though with the likes of Epic Movie as competition that sounds like damning with faint praise. Taking on the classic blaxploitation flicks of the 70s, it gets the look and the attitude right, but it's never quite as funny as it could be, especially compared to 1988's I'm Gonna Git You Sucka!, which had a much higher laugh count. Michael Jai White is Black Dynamite, the ex-CIA Superfly who can satisfy three women at once and who's declaring war on the jive-ass mothers who killed his kid brother and are swamping the ghetto and the local orphanage with drugs. But drugs are only the tip of a fiendish plot aimed at the black community that goes all the way to the tippity top in the hallowed halls of the Honky House...

The film's low budget works in its favor thanks to some judicious vintage stock footage and the cast playing it commendably straight, though the jabs at the dodgy filmmaking of its predecessors are a bit hit and miss. There's a lot of fun to be had, whether it's the OTT fights, the righteous speechifying or a wonderfully bizarre sequence where Black Dynamite and assorted pimps unravel the Man's dastardly plan thanks to their knowledge of M&Ms, numerology, local dialling codes and Greek mythology, but it tends to work better as a straight pastiche of 70s blaxploitation flicks than as a comedy at times. White has the moves, the attitude, the dialogue and the jacket to have passed the grade in the real thing but even at well under an hour and a half the film threatens to outstay its welcome, getting distinctly ropey and feeling a bit too forced in the last half hour as it tries to cram in every genre climax, from CIA plots to Kung Fu islands to a martial arts smackdown in the White House itself. There's still enough to make it worth sticking with, but it falls short of the target a few too many times to become the classic it wants to be. Still, the DVD offers a decent extras package - 17 deleted or extended scenes and some decent featurettes covering the making of the film, the blaxploitation genre and the 70's-style score as well as the Comic-Con press conference, but not the film's trailers that effectively spoofed the genuine 70s items.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This movie is hilarious. There are great references to other films and huge laughs all the way through. It just rips off the 'blaxploitation' era as they call it and definitely succeeds. My first copy of this was faulty and I was totally gutted, then got three more as they were in stock in a shop and gave the other two to friends just because I wanted them to see it that badly. LONG LIVE DY-NO-MITE, DY-NO-MITE!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
It ain't gonna flick the switch for everyone but this film is one of the funniest films I've seen in years. It hits the spot on every level. Maybe you needed to have lived through the whole blaxpoitation era to truly dig this bad boy but, as far as I'm concerned, there's only one cool cat I'm gonna call if I'm in the brown and runny stuff and that's my main man Black Dynamite!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Quite brilliant satire of Blaxploitation that sums up the genre perfectly without descending into mere parody.

This movie never puts a foot wrong in terms of photography, direction, poor camera-work, bad continuity and acting. Michael Jai WHITE, in particular, understands exactly what he is doing. The actor’s martial-arts skills perfectly combine Jim Kelly, Jim Brown & Fred Williamson into a stylish and physically-astute performance of a “righteous dude”. Everyone here is just as pitch-perfect.

The critique of the White supremacy of deliberately allowing the sale of illegal drugs to Blacks (& of Blacks acting White) is well-presented, with an especial focus on White men’s greatest personal fear: The Black Man’s penis and the latter’s concomitant appeal to homosexual men and heterosexual women of all races, creeds & colors. (White’s greatest political fear - that the would-be oppressed will inflict vengeance upon the oppressor - plays a lesser role in the satire.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
The American Blu-ray is Region A locked, meaning that it won't play on standard UK machines.

If you want Black Dynamite on the premium format, then go over to Amazon Germany and buy the native copy released there. I had the German disc for Christmas, and the only thing you lose is the commentary track. All other extras are the same, with even a few exclusive (if minor) ones over the US edition.

You are sacrificing nothing in quality, as it comes with a DTS HD:MA English soundtrack which will shake the foundations, and the image looks exactly as intended. The German title is the same, and at first glance, you wouldn't even notice it's german! You can pick it up and import it for about the price of a new UK release, so what are you waiting for? It's worth interrupting your kung-Fu to get a slice of comedy gold!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
If you where around in the 60's or 70's you may recognise the look and style of this movie. The camera, music, acting, characters and even the colour is all paying great tribute to the action movies of over forty years ago, and in such a loving way. I would recommend being patient with this film as it has some very funny moments that are so ridiculous you can't help but laugh. I bought this primarily because of Michael Jai White, and to my surprise he is a very talented comedy actor. He is easily the highlight of the film's weird and wonderful characters and plays his role with an excellent blend of spoof comedy and over the top seriousness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)