Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!
I wanted to buy some new music for my husband which he had never heard, but might like, so I trawled through iTunes listening to samples. I came across Agnes Obel having listened to a ton of stuff and was captivated by the quality of her voice and by the quite entrancing structure and complexity of the music. It was like finding the proverbial needle in the...
Published on 13 Jan. 2011 by J. Staines

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars High hopes
Enjoyed the few track I had heard but this album is too much on one level. Rarely gets a trip to the CD player any more despite one or two excellent tracks.
Published 19 months ago by M. J. Bryan


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars would give this 6 stars if i could, 8 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Philharmonics (MP3 Download)
She has such a beautiful voice and the lyrics are also gorgeous. If you want to buy it but its not available here - they have the CD on play.com for £6.50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs LD, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. L. M. Dicken "Lindy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
I heard Riverside played on radio 2 and loved it from the start. so buying the cd has not disappointed. Its a lovely gentle experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be sure to get the Deluxe edition, 22 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
If you like Eleanor Rigby by the Beatles, then there's a very good chance you'll like this... especially if you really like the the background arrangement of cellos and what-not.
Also, if you like Scarborough Fair by Simon and Garfunkel, in particular the haromonies, there's a good chance you'll like this)

Also it's unusual to get an album where there is not one song you don't like.

Agnes Obel uses voice(s), Cello (I think), Piano and the odd instrument on other tracks (e.g. Accordion on the live version of Louretta) to creat a sound which is both lush and spare at the same time. There is some kind of subtle percussion on some tracks, but it's so understated, I could not even tell you what it is.

If you like plenty of screeching a la Alanis Morrisette... then look elsewhere. Personally, I like a little bit of discord now and then, e.g. Tori Amos - Space Dogs (in fact if you like her singing Horses, there's a good chance...).

Agnes and her backers have the confidence to sing in a really laid back and melllow way, on some of the songs it almost sounds lazy. For instance on Over the Hill she just sighs out some of the words - and it's just right. I think that I'd say that the vocals are understated, rather than restrained.

Be sure to get the Deluxe version which has an extra CD with live versions and some songs which are not on the Studio CD. It is worth it for Sons and Daughters alone, and the live Louretta is just brilliant. BTW, none of the tracks on the extra CD are duds either.

The live production is just as good as the very good studio production. You only know it's live from the applause at the end.

Enough chat: have a listen on Spottify, or search up tv 5 monde and have a look a the music to see her perform a few songs live. If you like 'em you'll like the lot.

My favourites are Studio CD: Riverside, Beast, Avenue (when the chorus kicks (Foolish...) in, it gives me the same warm feeling as when the main instrumentation kicks in U2's Ultraviolet), Close Watch, Over the Hill, On Powdered Ground; Extra CD: Katie Cruel, Sons & Daughters, Louretta, the instrumental Riverside is very good too - a new twist on the original. I really like the vocal one, but think it could easily be over-played. There is a trip-hop remix of Riverside on the EP, which I will probably buy at some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
After picking this album at random I have not been disappointed. It is beautifully recorded with an even flow between tracks both when played in order and on random. The simplistic and non-fussy orchestration make it a very easy album to enjoy when you want listen to some music but not be overpowered by it.
I hope her future albums are of equal calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning album, 15 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
In the current sea of good albums, by good female singers, this is one that stands head and shoulders above the rest. Looking forward to the next one and much more from the exquisite Agnes Obel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agnes has a voice of purity like that of the water in her homeland, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Craig Flint "Craiglington" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
I adore this artist and album. Agnes has a voice of purity like that of the water in her homeland. As a massive huge Nordic-noir fan I was not disappointed. On Powdered Ground is especially gorgeous. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple piano and sparse crystal clear vocals - mesmerising, 27 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
The simplicity of the piano makes me think of think of perfectly shaped raindrops or snow and when combined with the sparse but beautiful crystal clear vocals the effect is mesmerising
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 6 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
I came across this on a link and am glad I did. The music is beautiful and Agnes's voice is mesmerising. I can't fault it and its perfect for chilling out to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric.., 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Tp "TP" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
A lovely collection of songs, expertly executed and wonderfully played. A joy to listen to. If you want some chilling, ephemeral music, then look now further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, can't stop playing it, sparse and haunting, secondary cd with deluxe a great addition, love to hear this music live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philharmonics
Philharmonics by Agnes Obel (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews