Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars92
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2014
This is haunting beautiful music, brilliant to listen to while working. It reminded me of paintings by Gabriella Kardos in her Flowers Falling phase. Obel has a crystal glass voice - fabulous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
Agnes Obel certainly does not sound like inexperienced debutant but Philharmonics is in fact her very first full album. And what an album. It has a very unique atmosphere and feel to it. After one listen you will probably be hooked - I was.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Yes it's fantastic! Slow piano melancholy meaningful melange from a beautiful sensitive soulful songstress. Minimalist but captivating. A unique experience. Quite addictive but very relaxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Came across Agnes in Spotify. She is different. Very soothing haunting voice. Some exceptional tracks. Won't suit everyone but if you want calm music, lovely voice, a hint of the classical...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
The simplicity of the piano makes me think of think of perfectly shaped raindrops or snow and when combined with the sparse but beautiful crystal clear vocals the effect is mesmerising
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
Philharmonics is a delightful and charming album from someone with undeniable musical talent, but frankly one hasn't had to look far to find such albums in the last ten years. Even within the relatively small cross section of angelically voiced female singer songwriters, heavily influenced by decidedly aged music (English folk songs or pre-war jazz), with interesting names and from Nordic countries, the Icelandic Emilíana Torrini provides staunch competition. This album is full of piano work, but only at the end of many songs (such as the beautiful last few seconds of Just So) does the music truly flow and one become aware of Obel's skill. Some songs simply feel plodding with distinctly Chopin tinged flourishes added on as an after thought, which would be manageable if the lyrics were truly impressive, but they aren't. They're not bad, just not mind blowing, which is a bit of a shame for a heavily lyric driven genre. I know it's a lot to demand complex, poetic metaphors from someone who speaks English as a second language, but Emilíana Torrini manages it and English is her third. It's a fine album, and certinaly one I'll listen to again and again, particularly when writing, but few of the songs stand out, which makes the lack of variation from track to track all the more apparent.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
I was into to trying out new artists and I decided to give this a go!
It is in many ways a required taste and it did nothing for me, not one stand out track at all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I love this music. I listen to it whilst working with clay in my pottery and it is perfect. It has a nice flow and is soft and gentle but with a strong musical sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I came across this on a link and am glad I did. The music is beautiful and Agnes's voice is mesmerising. I can't fault it and its perfect for chilling out to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
A lovely collection of songs, expertly executed and wonderfully played. A joy to listen to. If you want some chilling, ephemeral music, then look now further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)