Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!
I wanted to buy some new music for my husband which he had never heard, but might like, so I trawled through iTunes listening to samples. I came across Agnes Obel having listened to a ton of stuff and was captivated by the quality of her voice and by the quite entrancing structure and complexity of the music. It was like finding the proverbial needle in the...
Published on 13 Jan. 2011 by J. Staines

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars required taste
I was into to trying out new artists and I decided to give this a go!
It is in many ways a required taste and it did nothing for me, not one stand out track at all!
Published 9 months ago by Mr. B. P. Fitzpatrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great singer songwritter, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
Liv W (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
Beautiful album, but not easy to find in the UK. She has the purest voice and some wonderful calm, mellow songs, full of feeling. I'm off to her concert in a couple of weeks. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars piano based ditties, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
dan (north ayrshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
Expect here some relaxed and quiet songs, sung with a pleasingly foreign lilt. Fresh and original, pianos and guitars are the main instruments, especially piano, forming the background to the various vocal melodies. All rather pleasant, and certainly not mind-blowing, stuff. Relax and enjoy, what else can you say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
Interesting, timeless and artful songs, the bonus tracks on the extended version are maybe not all 100% of the same class but one forgets this is her first major release. A hint of welcome 21st C. weirdness mixed with a sense of the past puts her nearer to Joanna Newsome than Kate Bush or Suzanne Vega, but somewhere in that area !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
This is seriously mellow, and seriously different. Danish singer Agnes Obel has a soft but hauntingly expressive vocal style, and the melodies are subtle but very hard to clear from the head after a few listens. All piano, acoustic guitar and vocal, with very little percussion, these songs have a stripped-down feel, as if all of the unnecessary bells and whistles (metaphorically) have been removed leaving the essence of the beautifully crafted song to speak for itself. Stand out tracks for me are Riverside, Just So and Brother Sparrow - pleasingly the record company appear to have invested something at least in promoting this album as there are official videos out there for Riverside and Just So. Definitely one for a rainy Sunday afternoon by the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes it's delightful, but there's a lot of that about., 6 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Philharmonics (MP3 Download)
Philharmonics is a delightful and charming album from someone with undeniable musical talent, but frankly one hasn't had to look far to find such albums in the last ten years. Even within the relatively small cross section of angelically voiced female singer songwriters, heavily influenced by decidedly aged music (English folk songs or pre-war jazz), with interesting names and from Nordic countries, the Icelandic Emilíana Torrini provides staunch competition. This album is full of piano work, but only at the end of many songs (such as the beautiful last few seconds of Just So) does the music truly flow and one become aware of Obel's skill. Some songs simply feel plodding with distinctly Chopin tinged flourishes added on as an after thought, which would be manageable if the lyrics were truly impressive, but they aren't. They're not bad, just not mind blowing, which is a bit of a shame for a heavily lyric driven genre. I know it's a lot to demand complex, poetic metaphors from someone who speaks English as a second language, but Emilíana Torrini manages it and English is her third. It's a fine album, and certinaly one I'll listen to again and again, particularly when writing, but few of the songs stand out, which makes the lack of variation from track to track all the more apparent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album from a very strong femail vocal, 18 April 2012
By 
Derek Winstone (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
Agnes Obel? Never heard of her. This turned up one afternoon when I had nothing better to do than try out Amazons recommendation. You have to love the recommendation system they use. This album is brilliant. The production, her voice, the material, all contribute to a very professional album. I would recommend you listen to the short excerpts like I did. It'll make you interested enough to send for the CD. You'll be glad you did. I'm still enjoying a new set of speakers and this album really does them justice. If you're an audiophile looking for music to show off your equipment this won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PHILHARMONICS BY AGNES OBEL, 24 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
Beautiful debut album!
This is a real grower, very good production superb sound quality.
Voice and piano, a spare soundscape, very thoughtful lyrics, gets better with every listen!
Subtle use of other instruments and voices. Delicate guitar, maybe a Tenor guitar?
Makes for a daily listen, once on, hard not to listen all the way through!
Look forward to seeing her live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bewitching listen, 30 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
This is more of a dusk rather than sunrise type of album, but that's a bonus for me. The music and the vocals are beautifully arranged, ethereal, never shouted, never overdone. Safe for a couple of instrumentals (lovely, anyway), the songs tell small precious stories about nothing much in particular, they're more like secrets whispered in your ear by the earth and the water that keep coming up in the lyrics. There is also a cover version of John Cale's "Close Watch", which is one of the most shimmering gems on this album and made me want to trace back the original.
Hope the artist will have more to offer in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
After picking this album at random I have not been disappointed. It is beautifully recorded with an even flow between tracks both when played in order and on random. The simplistic and non-fussy orchestration make it a very easy album to enjoy when you want listen to some music but not be overpowered by it.
I hope her future albums are of equal calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 23 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philharmonics (Audio CD)
A really lovely album. For the most part beautiful. If the first track does nothing for you then back to the boy bands with you! It does border on the twee occasionally, but it is marginal and as an avid listener of 'popular' music for very many years I'd definitely recommend this as a must have whatever your musical tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philharmonics
Philharmonics by Agnes Obel (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews