Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archeresque
ok it has some typos but this is an excellent read and archeresque in its scale and intertwining of plots which is a fantastic achievement for a first novel.
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable old-fashioned blockbuster novel
The success of this novel is a very modern phenomenon, Christopher Smith having self-published on Kindle and cracked the Amazon best seller lists without a big publishing house behind him. You can't say he hasn't earned his success. The book also contains many modern details, the banking crash and high tech trappings of parts of the story. Apart from that though, what...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by James Adamson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archeresque, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
ok it has some typos but this is an excellent read and archeresque in its scale and intertwining of plots which is a fantastic achievement for a first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fifth avenue, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
I purchased the download version for my kindle. Although the writing was a little grating at the very beginning, and there were typo mistakes throughout, it soon became interesting and I was grabbed by the plot. It is not a future classic, but I couldn't put it down. Even the ending was satisfying. I would certainly buy another novel by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant!!, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
a brilliant book with an exciting twist! definately worth reading.... amazing book for a freebie! fifth avenue is a brilliant book & christopher smith is an amazing author - definately a good read!! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read!, 21 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
I like thrillers and this book was recommended to me, I wasn't disappointed, Christopher Smith is an absorbing novellist.

I will be looking out for more of the same, a recommended book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoy it!, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
It's not a classic and it will never be, but I definitly enjoyed it. There's very few typos and I don't identify with the characters but the plot gripped me from the start. For a free book it was an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable old-fashioned blockbuster novel, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
The success of this novel is a very modern phenomenon, Christopher Smith having self-published on Kindle and cracked the Amazon best seller lists without a big publishing house behind him. You can't say he hasn't earned his success. The book also contains many modern details, the banking crash and high tech trappings of parts of the story. Apart from that though, what you've got here is basically a straight-ahead, good old fashioned blockbuster novel that used to dominate airport bookshops once upon a time. And it's perfectly enjoyable for all that.

Smith cranks up all the key elements of this lost genre: opposing business conglomerates (and this is the only place that still calls such things conglomerates these days), dominated by patrician heads of the family. Murky boardroom dealings underpinned by violent skullduggery behind the scenes, characters driven by ambition, neuroses and their guilty secrets. And a tidy helping of various Mafiosos and bad guys acting as agents provocateurs.

It's old fashioned in style and the writing is effective without too many thrills, but it the pages pretty much turn themselves and it builds to an explosive climax with plenty of twists and turns along the way. For an entertaining read that's not too heavy, you could do a lot worse, and hats off to the guy for putting himself on the best seller list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 6 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book took me with the first chapter. It's great to see new writers coming in with good books. Really recommend to read this if you like thrillers.
This book will take you through the field of wealth and what people are ready to do for money, non stop action and you never know who will be next and who will be the killer. Also there is love involved and deep feelings.
Story is well played and easy to go with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story from a very promising author, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
Purchased this as it was highly rated in the Kindle bestseller chart.

This was a great decision as I was hooked on the story from start to finish. Couldn't wait to read the second instalment in the series and will be avidly be looking out for anything from this author in the future.

I think we may just have uncovered a bit of a gem......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read!!, 18 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I downloaded it when it was free on the Kindle.

It's a fast-paced thriller which I took with me on holiday and didn't/couldn't put down until it was finished. I read it in one sitting on my sun lounger...

I love the style of writing of this book and will definitely read Christopher Smith books again. You can almost feel his characters jumping off the page at you as you quickly read this book. I know Louis Ryan was the villain in this, but what a character! You could almost visualise meeting this awful individual and being absolutely terrified of him. George Redman was no angel but his character was nowhere near as menacing as the dreadful Mr Ryan. All the characters were well-crafted but the writing for these two individuals was outstanding. The climax to the book is BRILLIANT.

Excellent, excellent thriller. Keep 'em coming Mr Smith! Just downloaded Running of the Bulls so hope it's as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner!, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Fifth Avenue (Book One in the Fifth Avenue Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read by Chris Smith and I admit I probably downloaded it because it was cheap - but it is a great story, lots of twists and turns. Will be buy others by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews