Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased good value
Very pleased with them. Did not think they worked but I had not realised you need to take off the top and turn them on.
Published on 12 April 2011 by T. Walton

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disposable decorations: fun & effective short-term but very poor longer term
Bought in late April 2012 they were fun and effective in the summer. However, by August 2012 only 12 were working and by early December 2012 (less than 8 months after purchase) we're down to 3 lit very dimly for no more than 2 hours in the evening. Is this simply a product of the reduced day-length failing to adequately charge the batteries? No - 17 of 20 don't work at...
Published 21 months ago by Stubers


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disposable decorations: fun & effective short-term but very poor longer term, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
Bought in late April 2012 they were fun and effective in the summer. However, by August 2012 only 12 were working and by early December 2012 (less than 8 months after purchase) we're down to 3 lit very dimly for no more than 2 hours in the evening. Is this simply a product of the reduced day-length failing to adequately charge the batteries? No - 17 of 20 don't work at all. Is it a result of poor quality rechargable batteries? Not alone - I opened up one of the non-functioning lights today and there's rust on the printed circuit board. With decent rechargable batteries costing more than these lights it's not worth buying replacement batteries. Instead I've bought replacement stainless steel lights (8 for 15 being the eqivalent of buying 8 decent rechargable batteries!) from a different vendor similar to some I bought 3 years ago that are still going strong with the same batteries; they have solar panels about 4 times as large and a single AA battery rather than the AAA battery these run off. They are brighter, last longer through the night (presumably they can trap & store 4 times as much power)and there's no rust on the printed circuit board of one I opened this evening for comparison with the smaller ones.

These lights are recommended as a cheap solution for a special event, such as marking the path to a marquee at a wedding, but are best regarded as 'dispoable decorations' rather than permanent/semi-permanent garden lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Small and broken, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
These garden lights are rather small and out of the twenty I ordered (which was two separate ten packs in one box) one was defective /broken. It was actually the internal switch that was totally pushed in so could only have been defective when made and not damaged in transit. If you are looking to provide a decent light source close to steps(as I was) these are not a good call. On the plus side I am not worrying that anyone is going to steal them from my front garden! I suggest the seller adds a photo with them lit in a setting so you know what to expect to avoid disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased good value, 12 April 2011
By 
T. Walton "TREC" (norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
Very pleased with them. Did not think they worked but I had not realised you need to take off the top and turn them on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 14 Oct 2011
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
Very disappointed with these lights. Several didn't work on arrival and were replaced by the supplier by more lights which also now do not work. As the days get shorter the light given from these solar posts gets dimmer dimmer. Now only about three lights work. This is a shame as I bought them with the hope that as the winter nights came in there would be more illumination around my garden. Would not recommend them. My solar fairy lights seem more reliable.Solar Brite 50 LED Super Bright White Decorative Solar Fairy String Lights, choice of light effect. Ideal for Trees, Gardens, Festive Parties & More...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
Very poor. No spikes included, so difficult to place in ground. One broken light and one with a part missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garden Solar Powered Post Lights, 29 May 2011
By 
John Bosson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
I have found this product to be as advertised and meets the purpose for which they were bought. Arrived promptly and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it said on the box!, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
I know you can pick these up in any shop on the high street but I really did like these lights - they are sturdy and I could almost land an aeroplane in the garden at night, they are so bright!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rusty within 3 months, 14 Sep 2011
By 
A. Burton (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
After just three months these had all gone rusty and 12 out of the 20 had stopped working. Not good. We do live in a coastal location but I would have expected better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solar lights, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
received lights very quick work very well only fault was that they had stupid sticky labels on them and had to soak then rub off which was a small pain in butt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: 20 GARDEN SOLAR POWERED STAINLESS STEEL POST LIGHTS NEW
Absolute rubbish. Half of them packed up after a few nights and the others are indistinguishable even in the dark. I bought them to add light to the foliage in the planting beds. They are more visible in the daylight and look stupid. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews