Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise, Sir David!
Many people will have missed this on television because it was broadcast at the same time as the unmissable Downton Abbey. However, if anyone omitted to record it, let me just whisper to you that it consists of the most compelling acting and original script writing.
Single Father is refreshing in that it avoids all the cliches of bereavement, of parenthood, of...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Zoonie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not bad, but straight to charity, not worth watching again
Published 23 days ago by jan g


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is wonderful...., 19 May 2012
By 
K. Burgin (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
Terrific acting from David Tennant and the other adults plus achingly good performances from his 5 'children'. Very interesting story that avoids the cliches (no funeral scene!), twisting and turning in a way that tempts you to watch it all in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done, 3 Jan 2012
By 
D. Edwards (West Allis, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
i stumbled across this as a listing on amazon and decided to take a chance on it. i'll never regret that choice. everything was exceptional. my only complaint is i wanted more. hopefully they'll make a second series, but at least we have this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chick flick with a conscience - feel good film, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
This film will make you laugh, cringe and cry..... and if you are anything like me you will be screaming at the TV and whilst, yes it does star David Tennant, you will not I promise, have any thoughts of doctor as David is fabulous and plays a very believable character. The plot is a little different but the story is true to life and deals with situations we have all found ourselves in maybe not always making the best decisions. I absolutely loved this film and would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, ruined by the ending, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Constant Reader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
I was going to buy this for several rewatches, based on how much I enjoyed
the first three episodes.

Really fantastic acting throughout, its impossible not to engage with the characters although I thought Suranne Jones looked a bit wooden by comparison with some really good actors.

The lack of a happy ending though is very unsatisfactory. It completely revised my opinion of a major character and had such repercussions for the story that the last 3 minutes ruined the whole thing. I now despise one character so much that I can't watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly acted, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
Well done to David Tennant and all the kids for this tender heart rending but ultimately heart warming drama. Sat and watched in one night as it was so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single Father!, 4 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful heart-felt tale of the fragility of normal life, and to the possibilities that are suddenly both frightening and demanding. How to consolidate a shattered family to every day life again

This story shows just how talented David Tennant is, a joy to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable drama, somewhat unrealistic, 25 Feb 2011
By 
H. Secrest (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
David Tennant is proving that there is life after Doctor Who. This is a moving family drama about a very complicated family and the trials it goes through when the mother is abruptly killed in an accident (this happens almost immediately, so no spoilers here--besides, the title itself is a giveaway). It is very well cast--the children are charming without being smarmy, and Laura Fraser as the wife and Suranne Jones as the love interest are both complex, multi-faceted women, each with her own appeal and her own faults. David Tennant plays a very believable harried father of too many children who is both overwhelmed by grief and trying to manage the day-to-day business of getting on with life. The dialogue is well written in general; there were no moments when I winced (yes, sorry, I wince very easily)--it's a pleasure to watch a series in which conversation is the main event.

One note: even though this series features young children, it is definitely NOT for young children. The box says recommended for ages 15 and up. While there is a small amount of violence (the mother's death as seen from blurry CCTV footage) and sexual situations, the themes are simply too disturbing and confusing for children younger than 15.
******** SPOILER BELOW************

I had a bit of a problem with the wildly implausible happy ending--it seemed too pat after all the drama. Obviously, we want these very likeable people to live happily ever after, but after all the pain and betrayal (both inadvertent and deliberate) they've been through, it all resolves a little too easily. I have to say the rapidity with which all the many tortured issues are tied up at the end detracted from my overall enjoyment of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant....What more can I say?, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
When i first watched Single Father (the first episode) i was astounded at the intricacy between the family members, and the lull into the Tyler's family life. The bustle and noise of the children, the relationship between Rita and Dave, and the friendship between Rita and Sarah. Everything is so easy to relate to, and the shock of Rita's death can't help but overwhelm you.

This is the most beautiful, heart-wrenching programme i have ever seen, the actors are superb and i was surprised at how wonderful the kids were as well. AS far as the plot, the script is a masterpiece and the emotions are tense to say the least!

As soon as it comes out, I will certainly be buying it, and i would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single Father - watch out for it at the BAFTAs next year!, 12 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. G. J. Metcalfe "helygen" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
I can't review the DVD as it hasn't yet been released, but I've seen one episode of this wonderful drama and am basing my review on that.

If you haven't yet seen "Single Father" (the first episode aired on BBC1 on 10 October 2010) then I urge you to do so. With clever camera work, a brilliant script, and sublime performances from all involved, the story unfolds at a hectic pace but it is not without moments of humour, and quiet reflection. We're almost literally thrown into the middle of a normal, chaotic, modern young family, and the issues that are addressed are done so with brutal yet sympathetic honesty. The whole cast bring a breathtaking realism to their characters with astonishing skill, particularly in the more emotional scenes, and Murray Gold's wonderful music score threads itself through the emotional roller-coaster of the unfolding events.

This is unmissable, five-star, award-winning drama, showcasing the best of British talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and heartworming film, brilliant performances by everyone in it!, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Elisabeth Henk (Bonn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story about a family that suffers the tragedy of losing the mother in an accident, so the father (David Tennant) is left rasing the kids on his own and possibly finding a new love on the way. The emotional performances are outstanding, this family drama touches you. Very well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Single Father [DVD]
Single Father [DVD] by David Tennant (DVD - 2010)
7.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews