Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise, Sir David!
Many people will have missed this on television because it was broadcast at the same time as the unmissable Downton Abbey. However, if anyone omitted to record it, let me just whisper to you that it consists of the most compelling acting and original script writing.
Single Father is refreshing in that it avoids all the cliches of bereavement, of parenthood, of...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Zoonie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, ruined by the ending
I was going to buy this for several rewatches, based on how much I enjoyed
the first three episodes.

Really fantastic acting throughout, its impossible not to engage with the characters although I thought Suranne Jones looked a bit wooden by comparison with some really good actors.

The lack of a happy ending though is very unsatisfactory. It...
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Constant Reader


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise, Sir David!, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Zoonie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
Many people will have missed this on television because it was broadcast at the same time as the unmissable Downton Abbey. However, if anyone omitted to record it, let me just whisper to you that it consists of the most compelling acting and original script writing.
Single Father is refreshing in that it avoids all the cliches of bereavement, of parenthood, of family relationships. The unexpected turn of events rings true. Single Father even avoids all the cliches about Glasgow, showing the city in a more realistic light.

Acting of the standard that David Tennant unfailingly produces can mean only one thing.....Arise, Sir David!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 July 2011
By 
H. O'Sullivan (Co. Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
I was one of those people who had missed 'Single Father' because of Downton Abbey and purchased the DVD pretty quickly on recommendation of a friend who had seen the drama on the telly. I was not disappointed.

Although sometimes hard to watch (I'm not good with grief), I found this 4-parter absolutely un-put-downable and would highly recommend it to anyone, not only David Tennant fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched all four episodes of this brilliant drama and cannot recommend it highly enough. It tackles some very challenging issues with a reality that is refreshing. The acting is fantastic, enabling the viewer to be totally absorbed by the story line. As a father myself, I can feel myself being transported into the emotional turmoil the death of a partner and mother to your children would bring. The fact that there is a lightness to this story as well means you are able to continue watching all the way to the end, being entertained and challenged at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sad but optimistic story, 16 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
Single father is a story about the mourning of a very loved one, a wife and mother ; despite this, it's not a despairing story. It tells how the family manage to cope with their sorrow, life everyday and some unexpected secrets...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 2 Feb 2014
By 
MT GUSTAFSSON "TezaG" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched Single Father many times and I just love it! David Tennant and Suranne Jones have such great chemistry and the kids are just adorable! I can highly recommend watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Anna Tolley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a David Tenant fan so it wasn't hard to like this - a great and moving story with a good twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad and enthralling, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
David Tennant gave an inspired performance in the tragic, complicated drama that is worth watching. I might watch it again! EW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
It would have been excellent if the Suranne Jones' character hadn't been so annoying, otherwise a very interesting and believable show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good show, 3 Jun 2012
By 
Cheryl "catsnhorses" (VISALIA, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
This is well acted and holds the interest. David Tennant fans will really like this mini-series. The story line is well written and provokes many emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is wonderful...., 19 May 2012
By 
K. Burgin (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Father [DVD] (DVD)
Terrific acting from David Tennant and the other adults plus achingly good performances from his 5 'children'. Very interesting story that avoids the cliches (no funeral scene!), twisting and turning in a way that tempts you to watch it all in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Single Father [DVD]
Single Father [DVD] by David Tennant (DVD - 2010)
7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews