Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
62
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2010
Many people will have missed this on television because it was broadcast at the same time as the unmissable Downton Abbey. However, if anyone omitted to record it, let me just whisper to you that it consists of the most compelling acting and original script writing.
Single Father is refreshing in that it avoids all the cliches of bereavement, of parenthood, of family relationships. The unexpected turn of events rings true. Single Father even avoids all the cliches about Glasgow, showing the city in a more realistic light.

Acting of the standard that David Tennant unfailingly produces can mean only one thing.....Arise, Sir David!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
I was one of those people who had missed 'Single Father' because of Downton Abbey and purchased the DVD pretty quickly on recommendation of a friend who had seen the drama on the telly. I was not disappointed.

Although sometimes hard to watch (I'm not good with grief), I found this 4-parter absolutely un-put-downable and would highly recommend it to anyone, not only David Tennant fans.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
I have watched all four episodes of this brilliant drama and cannot recommend it highly enough. It tackles some very challenging issues with a reality that is refreshing. The acting is fantastic, enabling the viewer to be totally absorbed by the story line. As a father myself, I can feel myself being transported into the emotional turmoil the death of a partner and mother to your children would bring. The fact that there is a lightness to this story as well means you are able to continue watching all the way to the end, being entertained and challenged at the same time.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
A brilliant television drama with a top notch cast - i liked David Tennant as the single father as he adds humour , drama and tragic emotions to his character and falls in love with Rita's best friend as he feels alone. And misses his wife very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Single father is a story about the mourning of a very loved one, a wife and mother ; despite this, it's not a despairing story. It tells how the family manage to cope with their sorrow, life everyday and some unexpected secrets...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Tennant doesn't put a foot wrong here and all the kids are magnificent actors. It disappoints slightly in that Rupert Graves is set up to be slightly sinister with a potentially good plot development, which doesn't come to fruition. But we enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I've watched Single Father many times and I just love it! David Tennant and Suranne Jones have such great chemistry and the kids are just adorable! I can highly recommend watching it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
When i first watched Single Father (the first episode) i was astounded at the intricacy between the family members, and the lull into the Tyler's family life. The bustle and noise of the children, the relationship between Rita and Dave, and the friendship between Rita and Sarah. Everything is so easy to relate to, and the shock of Rita's death can't help but overwhelm you.

This is the most beautiful, heart-wrenching programme i have ever seen, the actors are superb and i was surprised at how wonderful the kids were as well. AS far as the plot, the script is a masterpiece and the emotions are tense to say the least!

As soon as it comes out, I will certainly be buying it, and i would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I'm a David Tenant fan so it wasn't hard to like this - a great and moving story with a good twist at the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
I can't review the DVD as it hasn't yet been released, but I've seen one episode of this wonderful drama and am basing my review on that.

If you haven't yet seen "Single Father" (the first episode aired on BBC1 on 10 October 2010) then I urge you to do so. With clever camera work, a brilliant script, and sublime performances from all involved, the story unfolds at a hectic pace but it is not without moments of humour, and quiet reflection. We're almost literally thrown into the middle of a normal, chaotic, modern young family, and the issues that are addressed are done so with brutal yet sympathetic honesty. The whole cast bring a breathtaking realism to their characters with astonishing skill, particularly in the more emotional scenes, and Murray Gold's wonderful music score threads itself through the emotional roller-coaster of the unfolding events.

This is unmissable, five-star, award-winning drama, showcasing the best of British talent.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)