Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough Compact Lock - Bronze Rated
Having recently had my bike stolen and purchased a replacement a good lock was high on my agenda to secure my new purchase.

I heard many good things about the Kryptonite Mini 7 lock so purchase one of them but while it is a good, strong lock. I found it a bit of a pain to carry as it was too big to mount on my frame.

I doscovered the bordo line of...
Published on 6 April 2012 by Stuart Duncan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
Slightly confusing at first however bought as additional security lock. It is a tight squeeze round lamp posts etc as is shorter than expected (no I didn't measure beforehand) and disappointed that key has to be in lock for it to close (rather than snap shut and go locks I have on other quality locks).delivery took an age however was made aware and knew due to offer/price...
Published 4 months ago by McBain


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough Compact Lock - Bronze Rated, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Bordo 6000 Folding Lock (Sports)
Having recently had my bike stolen and purchased a replacement a good lock was high on my agenda to secure my new purchase.

I heard many good things about the Kryptonite Mini 7 lock so purchase one of them but while it is a good, strong lock. I found it a bit of a pain to carry as it was too big to mount on my frame.

I doscovered the bordo line of Abus locks and they sounded like just the ticket. As flexible (ish) as chain locks but as tough as D Locks.

The lock is a good size, easy enough to get it round the frame, rear wheel and a fixed mount. Folds up in to a nice compact size which you can mount on the frame in its rubber holder.

The bars are covered in hard rubber to protect your frame as well.

When reading up on this lock I discovered that ABUS had released a sold secure silver rated version of the lock which I thought this one was. Sadly this lock is rated at bronze, as confirmed by the packaging.

Overall, really like the lock but ended up swapping it for the silver rated lock from my local store which was at the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but a decent lock, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I now own too many bike locks, but I got a good deal on this one. Comparing it to my Abus U-mini, it's a much more convenient size and it actually comes with an excellent bike mount. unfolding it and getting it around my wheel and frame can be a bit of a hassle, but no more than if I used a long D-lock to do the same thing. Not sure if I'd use it as my main lock, but I generally use the U-mini to lock the back wheel (and frame) to a post and then secure the front wheel to the frame using this, and the bright colours (the u-mini is bright yellow) certainly make it obvious that the bike is well secured, though whether you'd want to draw attention I'm not sure. I'm happy with the combination.
This lock is a little short, I couldn't do much more with it than get my frame and wheel together, perhaps the longer models would be more adaptable. The way it folds also makes it a little awkward to get it around stuff and to get the final section back into the lock. It's not like a cable lock, each joint only rotates on one plane, so you can't just grab the end and put it through your wheel like a cable, you have to unfold, slot it through your wheel, then rotate the ends so that the lock is facing the right way and then get the final section in and lock it. The key also feels poor in comparison to the u-mini. The u-mini is unbelievably smooth and feels strong and well-engineered. This one feels like it's a little off, needs jiggling a bit and wants some encouragement to sort itself out, which is a shame.
I paid about £20 for this. If you're looking for a primary lock, I'd probably recommend the Abus U-mini over this for an extra fiver or so, less moving parts to deal with and it just feels nicer to use. But as a secondary lock I can't imagine anything better really. Beats cables and definitely better than a second D-lock in terms of portability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent security, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value from Amazon again. Very sturdy lock with clever folding storage. Only downside is the sheer weight (but hope this is reflected in the security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, wish mounting straps were a bit longer ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product, wish mounting straps were a bit longer as they are too short to go round my mountain bike down tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain - Sold Secure Silver - £19.99, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this from Amazon for the grand total of £19.99 - what a bargain!!!!

Great lock, lovely red colour and Sold Secure Silver rated.

Lovely Stuff xxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compact and secure, 31 May 2014
By 
T. Kerby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a lock that is easier to carry than a u-lock (smaller, a bit lighter and easier to attach to frame) but more secure than a cable lock then this is the one to go for. I suspect the unusual construction would need a drill or grinder to attack rather than the bottle jack and bolt cutters that are the usual tools of bike thieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slightly confusing at first however bought as additional security lock. It is a tight squeeze round lamp posts etc as is shorter than expected (no I didn't measure beforehand) and disappointed that key has to be in lock for it to close (rather than snap shut and go locks I have on other quality locks).delivery took an age however was made aware and knew due to offer/price purchased that stocks were limited at time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great lock. Nice rubber feel to it so no scratching. Feels solid and secure. Not too bulky but feels solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid lock, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good solid lock folds down to an nice compact unit. The only down side is its somewhat heavy to carry around, but this is also a reassuring element to this lock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Bordo 6000 Folding Lock (Sports)
Excellent folding bike lock easier to carry than my large u lock never used in anger yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abus Bordo 6000 - Red, 90cm
£61.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews