Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great
This is a collection of Hercule Poirot short stories.
Hercule Poirot has decided to retire from detective work, but before he does so he wants to massage is ego one last time, by matching the feat of the mythological Hercules.
As Hercules had to embark on 12 seemingly impossible tasks, so too will Poirot by handpicking 12 final cases.
If you are an Agatha...
Published on 16 Aug 2007 by Ordinary Bloke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, very good characterization
This is a pretty good book. It introduced some new characters that I liked, for example, Amy Carnaby, who I wished would be in more of Poirot's books, and brought up old characters, like Vera Rossakoff, and Japp. The physcology and characterization was very good, although it's not one of her best books. I loved the many different settings and enjoyed the way each...
Published on 2 Feb 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great, 16 Aug 2007
By 
This is a collection of Hercule Poirot short stories.
Hercule Poirot has decided to retire from detective work, but before he does so he wants to massage is ego one last time, by matching the feat of the mythological Hercules.
As Hercules had to embark on 12 seemingly impossible tasks, so too will Poirot by handpicking 12 final cases.
If you are an Agatha Christie fan, this is one of her best.
If you are new to Christie then this book is a good place to start.
Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and imaginative, 26 May 2011
By 
Jamie B (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't always enjoy Agatha Christie's short stories. For obvious reasons, they lack the range and complexity of her novels, and the culprit is easily spotted. Sometimes they are even practice runs for her longer novels. ('The Case of the Caretaker' from 'Miss Marple's Final Cases' becomes the brilliant 'Endless Night' for example. Endless Night (Agatha Christie Collection) by Christie, Agatha Masterpiece Edition (2007))

But I have no such reservations about 'The Labours of Hercules'. Ms. Christie obviously felt herself invigorated, just as much as Poirot, by this self-imposed labour. The writing is fresh and sparkling. There is plenty of crisp humour, and wry social comment, much of it just as relevant today. The range of stories is very different, encompassing not just the usual murder, but fraud, extortion, blackmail, theft, and drugs. Some of the tales are quite gruesome, the creepy and atmospheric 'The Erymanthian Boar', is a fine example of this.

I would love to see some of these tales dramatised with Suchet, but I suspect the production company have forgotten about this little gem, along with 'The Big Four'.

Nov 2013: I should note that since I originally wrote my review, the Poirot team have indeed remembered both The Labours of Hercules and The Big Four for the final series of 'Poirot'. Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 9 [DVD] Elements of 'The Capture of Cerberus', 'The Arcadian Deer', 'The Girdle of Hyppolita', 'The Stymphalean Birds' and 'The Erymanthian Boar' have all confusingly found their way into Guy Andrews' single episode screenplay. 'The Big Four' has been similarly (mis)treated. Guy Andrews (it might be noted) was responsible for ruining 'Appointment with Death' from the otherwise excellent Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 7 [DVD].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, superbly read, 29 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christie drew on Greek mythology for Poirot's "last" 12 cases. She enjoyed herself finding plots that fitted the fables, and also using her wit and social imagination. These stories are more "psychological" than usual, and involve clever scams and fake religions rather than straight murders and thefts. Nobody is quite who they seem. Poirot is reunited with his Irene Adler, "Countess" Vera Rosakoff, who still radiates warmth and charm despite the ravages of time, makeup and hair dye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Jan 2011
This is one of my favourite Poirot books and as an audiobook is well read by the character who plays Hastings. Poirot decides to emulate the 12 Labours of the classical hero Hercules and does so cleverly with use of metaphor and current day situations to represent the mythical labours. There are 7 discs of these short stories. Good to pick up and listen to in small chunks.

(One small thing for ipod users if you try to load on your ipod ITUNES doesnt recognise so you have to name each track or simply find the tracks as track 1 track 2 etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Varied And Enjoyable, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hercule Poirot decides to take on twelve cases, each of which relate to one of the labours of Hercules of the Ancient Greek Myths. Although they are short, the stories are very varied and enjoyable. Some of these were incorporated into the penultimate television episode with David Suchet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Poriot Best, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Labours of Hercules (Poirot) (Kindle Edition)
I am a great fan of Agatha Christie and enjoyed this book immensly. Each of the short storys was intresting and had me hooked, trying to guess who had done "it".
With some short stories you can feel a lack of character develepment, but this was not a problem, Poirot is a well know character, and even if you had not heard of him before, you quickly become familiar with his egotistical, but lovable ways.

The foreword is a bit confusing. Due to a jump to the first chapter by my kindle I only read it several days later when i went back to the beginning, It can very well be skipped with out losing any sense of the story, though it is an interesting discussion on names I suppose, and has Sherlock and Mycroft Holmes mentioned too, an interesting merging of fictional "worlds".

So I would definately encourage you to read it, the storys are light and interesting and the characters are all Christies best work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, very good characterization, 2 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This is a pretty good book. It introduced some new characters that I liked, for example, Amy Carnaby, who I wished would be in more of Poirot's books, and brought up old characters, like Vera Rossakoff, and Japp. The physcology and characterization was very good, although it's not one of her best books. I loved the many different settings and enjoyed the way each story related to each labour of the legendary Hercules. I recommend it for those who like short stories and see England of the 1930's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 12 wonderful short-story murder mysteries, 8 April 1999
By A Customer
I liked this book because while it's a collection of short stories, it is also a long story featuring Herclue Poirot. These 12 stories are almost more fun to read then a long murder mystery, because you can put down the book for a long time and then pick it up again without having to try to remember who all the characters are. One of my favorite Agatha Christie mysteries, I'd recommend it to all of her other fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top-class Christie, 24 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hercule Poirot takes on 12 cases that remind him of the 12 labours of the mythological Hercules, and Christie has fun spoofing the phenomena of society from invented religions to pretentious nightclubs. The wonderful Tom Adams cover of this edition doesn't bear much relation to the stories (the unwitting pot-head Miss Carnaby is a tubby spinster, not a raven-haired beauty), but never mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Labours of Hercules (Poirot)
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews