Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christie at her best
Fans of Christie have marvelled at the 'quaint english country village with a dark secret' stories that we have known and loved for years. What a delightful departure in the ABC Murders. A brutal serial killer goades Hercule Poirot with clues as to the next victim, but he always arrives too late to save them. Why has the killer chosen to write to Hercule Poirot? What...
Published on 21 Feb. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
The style of writing is actually very modern, almost like a film where the action cuts away to give glimpses of the apparent criminal. The twist at the end was good but I didn't enjoy this as much as some of the other poirot books.
Published 10 months ago by Andy Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christie at her best, 21 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
Fans of Christie have marvelled at the 'quaint english country village with a dark secret' stories that we have known and loved for years. What a delightful departure in the ABC Murders. A brutal serial killer goades Hercule Poirot with clues as to the next victim, but he always arrives too late to save them. Why has the killer chosen to write to Hercule Poirot? What have the victims got in common? When will the killer strike again? A very clever and thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ABC Murders, 24 Aug. 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The ABC Murders (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most interesting Poirot mysteries. It is 1935 and Hastings has returned from Argentina to visit - will he and Poirot get to hunt a murderer again? Poirot is concerned by an anonymous letter he has received, stating, "look out for Andover, on the 21st of the month." It is signed simply, "ABC". When an elderly woman, named Ascher, is found murdered in her little newsagent shop, Poirot and Hastings become involved in a case which is different to any they have faced before. It seems a homicidal maniac is striking victims at random, based only on the first letters of their name and the place that they live. An ABC railway guide is always placed on or near the vitim. As the bodies mount, the families and friends of the victims propose working with Poirot, to help solve the case.

This novel shows why Agatha Christie is still the best crime writer of all time. The book may be set in the 1930's, but she has such an understanding of human nature and her plot and characters all stand the test of time. Her books never drag, are always immensely readable and Poirot - well, he is simply the best fictional detective ever created. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very unusual Christie story. Brilliant!, 4 Jan. 2011
An unknown person challenges Poirot to solve murders of unconnected people by means of a series of letters, one letter sent before each murder.

A tobacconist with the initials A.A. is duly murdered in Andover and a waitress with the initials B.B. is strangled at Bexhill-on-Sea a month later. Poirot receives a third letter threatening a third murder in Churston, Devon.

How far will the series of murders continue before Poirot discovers the killer's identity and the reason for the murderous procession through the alphabet?

ABC Murders is brilliantly original, unusual and inspirational for many similar serial-crime stories of other UK and US crime writers, and noteworthy for a concise masterpiece of exposition by Poirot near the story's end on the rationale behind serial murder and the reasons why this series was different.

Quite simply, brilliant! So too is the TV equivalent featuring David Suchet which, along with other episodes, painstakingly reproduces much 1930s period detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Poirot I have read., 6 Jun. 2001
By 
W. O'NEILL "Sochalien anglais" (Wirral, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fiendish puzzle, revolving around a series of totally random alphabetical murders and a sinister calling card of an ABC railway guide. Poirot has to be at this best to solve this superb mystery. The plot is exciting and the twists will keep you going right up to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christie!, 8 Aug. 2007
This is one of my favourite Agatha Christie Poirot mysteries. A great story that is very cleverly written to misdirect you as to 'whodunnit' leading to a satisfying ending where Poirot reveals all. For crime fiction fans this is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, 12 Mar. 2007
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is Dame Agatha at her best. A series of apparently motiveless murders connected only by the victim's initials, and copies of the "ABC of London" being left at the scene of the crimes. The readers attention is kept to the end. Certainly not a time waster for Christie fans. An enduring classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ABC Murders, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ABC Murders (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Hercule Poirot receives a taunting anonymous letter telling him there will be a murder in Andover on a certain date and signed 'A B C'. When a woman is found dead in her tobacconists/newsagents shop with a copy of the ABC train timetable open at the page for Andover it seems the letter wasn't a hoax.

Another murder is announced to Poirot - this time in Bexhill. Poirot is getting increasingly concerned and he and his friend Captain Hastings are soon hot on the trail of this mystery murderer. I found it a totally baffling mystery and I definitely didn't work out who the murderer was until Poirot himself explained in his inimitable fashion.

I really enjoyed reading this story and Agatha Christie could certainly teach many authors writing today a thing or two about plotting! The book is well written, the characters are varied and interesting. The book definitely justifies Christie's unofficial title - 'The Queen of Crime.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly Christie's best work, 30 May 2009
I've only read about seven Poirot novels so far, a number of which I consider to be quite weak, but this is simply superb! More twists than a twisty thing, and a really good ending which you just wouldn't guess in a million years. I would recommend this as a starting point for anyone wishing to get into Poirot - its an easy read, and you won't want to put it down until you get to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ingenious and well-plotted, 1 July 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The ABC Murders (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
'The A.B.C. Murders- is a Poirot book published in 1936. Colonel Arthur Hastings, Poirot's old friend, is the narrator and describes how Poirot received typewritten letters from someone signing himself (or herself) A.B.C. Each, horrifyingly, gives the date and place of the next murder and the killings seem to be in alphabetical order. Alice Ascher is killed at Andover, Betty Barnard in Bexhill and Sir Carmichael Clarke at his home in Churston. The killer leaves an ABC railway guide at each murder site. But why does A.B.C. write to Poirot? And why does Poirot's address seem to have been deliberately misspelt?
Episodes in the life of Alexander Bonaparte Cust are appended to each chapter told by Hastings. He is an epileptic, having served in the war and received a head injury leaving him with blackouts and severe headaches, and now he finds it difficult to get work. Poirot hopes to get new information by uniting the relatives against the murderer. The police are not helpful to Poirot, belittling his abilities.
Agatha Christie had used the device of combining first- and third-person storytelling in 'The Man in the Brown Suit' and she uses it again in this book. She enjoyed experimenting with point-of-view and had done so very successfully in 'The Murder of Roger Ackroyd.' As usual, she constructs an ingenious plot with many surprises and twists and turns and, also as usual, her characters are psychologically interesting. I'm not a great fan of Poirot - he does seem too ridiculous to be true - but that's a personal view and I recognise how popular and clever the Poirot books are, despite Christie's pedestrian writing style. This is a very good book and it may be my fault that I can't work up a great enthusiasm for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost too good, 16 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book just shows how great Agatha Christie's books truly are. I am a lover of murder mysteries, I can't stop watching them on TV: Diagnosis Murder; Murder She Wrote; Midsomer Murders are all shows that I adore. I was browsing for books in the library and thought that reading is like TV in your head so I picked up a book from Christie's shelf. But Agatha's books are much more than TV in your head, they engage you! You feel like you are traipsing along behind a short Belgian man discovering more clues as to who may have murdered Mrs Ascher or Betty Barnard.
Usually I hate reading books written in the first person (like a diary entry), there's something that makes me resent it. In fact, when I discovered this book was written in the first person I felt rather disappointed! But the fact that I adore this book and would easily call it a masterpiece shows how good Christie is! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I devoured it in three days (solid reading, it's not a tiny book)!

The reader is thrown into M. Poirot's apartment in London, along with Hastings. A letter is received saying that Mrs Ascher, in Andover, will be murdered. Due to the high quantity of letters that Poirot receives that are similar to this, it is not taken seriously, but the murder takes place and we arrive at the scene of the crime. The murderer progresses through the alphabet, the chase is on as Poirot and Hastings must aid Scotland Yard before the blood of 26 innocent people is spilt. But is this predictable plot all that it seems, or is there a more twisted, clever solution that lies beneath.

You will gasp incredulously at the simple explanation to the riddle that will stick with you forever.

Amazon.co.uk offer this book at an extremely low price compared to the RRP, it is an absolute must have along with two other novels: And then there were none - and - Murder on the Orient Express. They too were both written by Christie and are on Amazon.co.uk for up to 40% off the RRP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews