Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thirteen Problems
In many ways “The Thirteen Problems” could be described as the archetypal Agatha Christie novel, featuring as it does 13 separate mysteries which are jam packed full off typical Christie characters.
In fact it’s sort of like a Christie novel within a Christie novel as the settings for the stories are in classic Christie style. For the first 6...
Published on 29 Jan. 2006 by Rich Milligan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected.
Item arrived within estimated time, but the condition was not as good as expected being decidedly battered. I cannot consider the description of Very Good to be appropriate and was disappointed with the product. I am still deciding whether to return for refund.
I have tried to submit this in seller feedback, but for some reason it keeps coming up as "We experienced...
Published 9 months ago by mb


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thirteen Problems, 29 Jan. 2006
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
In many ways “The Thirteen Problems” could be described as the archetypal Agatha Christie novel, featuring as it does 13 separate mysteries which are jam packed full off typical Christie characters.
In fact it’s sort of like a Christie novel within a Christie novel as the settings for the stories are in classic Christie style. For the first 6 mysteries we are a guest at the legendary Miss Marple’s house as she hosts 5 distinguished guests. There’s her nephew, the writer Raymond West and his fiancée the artist Joyce Lempriere. Then we have the staples of any Christie situation, Dr Pender the elderly clergyman and Mr Petherick, a solicitor. The party is rounded off by the ex-police commissioner Sir Henry Clithering.
For after dinner entertainment the guests decide to each tell a tale from personal experience where the outcome is either unknown or a puzzle to be solved. And so begins the first meeting of the Tuesday Night club as each guest retells his or her mysterious story. At first all the guests suppose that little Miss Marple, knitting quietly in the background, will either not play along or will be quite bemused by the goings-on. Little by little they must adjust their opinions of the white haired spinster as she correctly surmises what has happened each time.
The second set of 6 problems are again retold in an after dinner setting, but this time at a neighbour of Miss Marple’s, Col and Mrs Bantry. Whilst organising the dinner party Mrs Bantry asks Sir Henry who he’d like to invite and sensing another round of mystery fun Sit Henry asks for Miss Marple to be invited along. The other two members of the gathering are the famous and beautiful young actress Miss Jane Hillier and elderly Dr Lloyd. Again each member of the party regales their companions with a tale of suspense, murder and mystery.
The final problem is set in real time as once again Miss Marple tells Sir Henry that in the case of a recent murder the wrong man is about to be arrested and she implores him to step in and prevent a miscarriage of justice.
The problems themselves are interesting and intriguing and presented in a easy reading short story format, just right for reading one and then putting the book down for a while. The mysteries are by and large distinctive Christie-esque ranging from the fascinating to the border-ridiculous. The language is also typical Christie with many an insulting class reference but the talk of this bygone age is a delight to read. Fans of Christie will of course spot some plot constructions of some of the problems were expanded on into full novels, although certain elements were changed.
A highly recommended read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mr review, 4 Feb. 2012
At Miss Marple's house on Tusday, 6 people tell a murder mystery that happend to them in their past, then eveyone has to guess who did it and how, then the person telling it, reveals the murderer and how he/she did it.
Then at a later date at a dinner party another 6 people do the same thing. Then at the end Miss Marple has to prevent the wrong person being hanged in another murder mystery.
There are 13 stories in this book, a chapter per story. Here's my rating for them.

The Tuesday Night Club - 8.5/10
The Idol House of Astarte - 4.2/10.
Ingots of Gold - 6.9/10
The Bloodstained Pavement - 9/10
Motive v Opportunity - 8.5/10
The Thumb Mark of St Peter - 9/10
The Blue Geranium 7.5/10
The Companion 8/10
The Four Suspects 7.5/10
A Christmas Tragedy 9/10
The Herb of Death 7.5/10
The Affair at the Bungalow 9.5/10(a good twist at the end)
Death by Drowning 9.5/10
(this is only my opinon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss Marple makes her debut as renowned arm chair sleuth, 18 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Every Tuesday evening a group of intellectual elites meet to discusss unsolved crimes. Charitably they allow an old, frail and very innocent looking Miss Marple to join them as an after thought. I mean really what could she possibly know about crime from livingthe small 'uneventfull' village of St. Mary Mead. Crime after crime Miss Marple manages to outwit her superiors by use of her insightfull in-depth knowledge of human nature, which she claims, is universal. The plots of these thirteen crimes are so intricate that it is shame that they each make up just a short story. Nevertheless first class Christie led by a first class Miss Marple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short stories for those who love Miss Marple, 23 April 2013
By 
A. Walsh "toniwalsh3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thirteen Problems (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A classic Agatha Christie, Miss Marple style, collection of 13 short stories. And of course she gets it right every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbelieveable., 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, was so immersed in the book i forgot to fall asleep, next time i see the clock it is 4am in the morning,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirteen mysteries, 10 July 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thirteen Problems (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Miss Marple and friends gather to talk about mysteries. Each tells of a mystery personally known to them - leaving out the answer as to who was responsible for the crime. The friends each then have to try and work out who did it. Naturally Miss Marple excels at this sort of thing though ex-commissioner of Scotland Yard, Sir Henry runs her a pretty close second.

These are intriguing stories which include all sorts of crimes not just murder. All are well plotted and well written with believable characters. The clues are there for the observant reader but most will fail to arrive at the correct conclusion. I only managed to solve one of them before the answer was revealed. Marvellous comfort reading which will transport you to a different era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be transfixed by the greatness of Miss Hickson, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found I already had these 'problems' in a boxed set, so the seller kindly refunded me and I donated it to charity instead.

Joan Hickson and Margaret Rutherfod (both very different 'Miss Marple's') are the quintessential heroin and Joan steals the show here. Highly recommended listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thirteen Problems (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy the classic murder mystery books then Agatha Christie has to be in the top 5 authors to read, both her Poirot and Miss Marples series are great to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 24 May 2014
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thirteen Problems (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another superb Christie book. Showing the best of
Miss Marple and her understanding of human nature.Much deserved five stars and recommended to all Kindle readers..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived within estimated time, but the condition was not as good as expected being decidedly battered. I cannot consider the description of Very Good to be appropriate and was disappointed with the product. I am still deciding whether to return for refund.
I have tried to submit this in seller feedback, but for some reason it keeps coming up as "We experienced a problem in recording your feedback". Perhaps they don't like less than positive reviews?
The supplier in this case was the book house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews