Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - compact and sturdy
I was tempted to buy a compact shovel when I saw an all-plastic model in a shop for about £15, thinking the price was reasonable and it would be handy. I decided instead to have a look on-line and saw this model.
It has a steel blade, is very light and easy to assemble. The base of the blade has a pair of notched discs, so you can set the angle of the blade. Twist...
Published on 3 Dec 2010 by Mr BD

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish
As others have said the shovel doesn't lock in place causing the blade to flip up and trap your hand. Returned.
Published 23 months ago by G Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - compact and sturdy, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
I was tempted to buy a compact shovel when I saw an all-plastic model in a shop for about £15, thinking the price was reasonable and it would be handy. I decided instead to have a look on-line and saw this model.
It has a steel blade, is very light and easy to assemble. The base of the blade has a pair of notched discs, so you can set the angle of the blade. Twist the handle of the shovel and it pushes against this disc to lock it into position. The handle also folds so when packed away it is no larger than the blade, and comes in a small bag.
Back-breaking work if you did have to dig a car out, because it is quite short, but better than having nothing to use and it fits into a very small space where a full-sized shovel might be too large to store (the smaller sporty cars, for example).

It arrived the day after I ordered it -and with a very nice Christmas chocolate too! Although I can't imagine that would be guaranteed to be in every order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What actually came - AA Winter Car Kit incl. shovel, 4 Dec 2010
By 
D. Carr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
Shovel:
Very compact, neat design, and lightweight but sturdy.
The shovel which came more closely resembled the Draper design than the photograph, with a collar which you tighten at the blade end of the handle to make the shovel rigid after unfolding. The design also allows you to set the blade at right-angles to the handle so that you can use it as a pick. The blade also has one serrated edge.
It seems sturdy and suitable for use i.e. to clear small areas of ice and snow around the wheels to get your car going. Those wishing to dig large areas of snow should look elsewhere; this is a small implement (approx 48 cm long unfolded, with a 11 cm wide blade) and you'll have to bend down somewhat to use it.

The Kit:
What I actually received (Dec 2010) was an AA Winter Car Kit - not just the shovel. I don't know if this is normal, or whether this was shipped as the result of lack of stock.
The kit contains: Folding shovel, dynamo 3-led torch, High Visibility jacket, Emergency reflective blanket, and carrying case (approx 22cm x 22cm x 6cm).

So, it's pretty good value if this is the normal deal. Just add your own Mars bar.

Kit Minus points:-
The instructions are on the cardboard sleeve which will probably be discarded on first opening the kit. Also, the instructions don't describe how to make the shovel rigid by tightening the collar, which might confuse some people. These are small points, hence 5 stars.

Summary: Very good compact emergency kit - probably small enough to have in the car all year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AA snow shovel. Similar to a Gerber Entrenching Tool, 26 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
This AA 'snow' shovel is very similar and almost identical to a Gerber Entrenching Tool.

For the price offered on Amazon UK, i ended up getting 2 of these.

Bought them not only for winter use, but for light duty shovelling for camping, hiking, gardening and as an emergency shovel .

Handle made of tough light weight nylon plastic, shovel blade is coated steel (not sure what type). The connecting rod between handle and steel blade is a rectangular piece of hollow aluminium. Beefy nuts and bolts keep the different parts in one connected piece.

After doing some research, the main noticeable difference between this and the other shovel I mentioned above is the thickness of the aluminium rectangular tube that connects the blade and the handle. The AA shovel's is thinner.

I have no idea if this blade is of the same quality and hardness as the Gerber. But for the price offered here on Amazon, I am not bothered!

The two pivot connection platelets at the center of the shovel blade are WELDED on, as opposed to being riveted as in many other foldable shovels sold here and online. This welded connection is something that's also found on the Gerber E-tool.

My guess is the shovels blades that are found on the AA shovel and the Gerbers come from the same factory. The only difference could be that the heat treatment for these might be done differently and maybe in different countries?

When folded, there's alot of free play at the shovel blade side (at the connection to the aluminium rod). I might add in some plastic shims/washers to remove the rattle/freeplay.

Overall an excellent buy.
Visually A Very High Quality Product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Shovel, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Mark Rodger (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
I bought this to sit in the boot of my car so didn't want a huge space filler. I needn't have worried, this shovel folds up and down very easily but is also very strong and sturdy at the same time. Given the recent arctic conditions I feel a bit better for having this in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 16 Jan 2013
By 
G Dixon "Blusox69" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
As others have said the shovel doesn't lock in place causing the blade to flip up and trap your hand. Returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AA Emergency Snow Shovel, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
Absolutely necessary for the car boot should you get stuck in the snow. It will now go everywhere with me in the wintry weather.
Neat, easily stored, easy to use - just the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AA Emergency snow Shovel, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
Returned it back as did not lock properly in place and the locking handle was too tight and difficult to lock and unlock. Maybe mine was a faulty one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AA Snow Shovel, 1 Jan 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
I was very pleased with my emergency snow shovel, it is very compact and easy to store when not in use.
It is so simple to use then fold away afterwards, brilliant invention and so well made. Thanks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small and Compact, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Mike C (Mansfield Notts. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
Bought 2 of these in preparation for a winter like last years. Small and compact and fits into the boot easily. Handy for emergencies but I wouldn't like to clear a drive with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compact and solid, 30 Sep 2014
This review is from: AA Car Essentials Emergency Snow Shovel (Automotive)
I have just got this so can't say what it's like in action! But all the parts (blade, shaft and handle) feel really solid when extended and tightened. No flex or bendy blade. The 3 sections unfold easily (they stay connected to each other so no dismantling etc) and are tightened with a single, big, easy to grip ratchet/knob. The whole thing extended is 58.5 cm. Folding it is just as easy and it fits neatly into a pouch (25 x 18 cm packed) that closes with a small piece of velcro on the front and has a 3 inch belt loop on the back. The handle is comparable to a normal, full-size spade (made of tough moulded plastic). The blade is steel (22 cm to the point and 15.5 cm wide), the shaft (2 x 1.5 cm tube steel with a plastic sleeve) is 14 cm.

I am not sure if you should be able to tighten the head at different angles but when I have tried this it slips - but fully extended straight out it is just fine. The weakest point is likely to be the double weld that joins the shaft through the blade but that is the risk in having a shovel that folds. As long as you don't try to lever massive weights at a time it should be fine. I think it is ideal to have in the car for an emergency dig-out! And a good deal for £7.50 bought as a separate item (and delivered in 2 days) rather than as part of a kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews