Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix for dipping into the Disco sound
I don't have a great disco collection or back catalogue, but I like most people, love to listen to the classic radio tracks. This collection has them all from ones we all know by name by the Jacksons, Sister Sledge, Chic, Earth Wind & Fire. The lesser-known tracks do not seem like fillers at all (like you seem to get on other compilations) and fit well in the...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by Justintime

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very brittle sound!
Great compilation but they sound like they've been over processed in the high end.
I've compared the tracks with other CDs and they sound very brittle and tire the ear quickly.
Why do they need to do any more than just transfer the masters to digital??
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by Mr. James Michael


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix for dipping into the Disco sound, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
I don't have a great disco collection or back catalogue, but I like most people, love to listen to the classic radio tracks. This collection has them all from ones we all know by name by the Jacksons, Sister Sledge, Chic, Earth Wind & Fire. The lesser-known tracks do not seem like fillers at all (like you seem to get on other compilations) and fit well in the collection.

In summary, 60 great tracks full of soul, funk and toe-tapping goodness to either bring back those 70s memories or introduce them to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very brittle sound!, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. James Michael "Music Manic" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Great compilation but they sound like they've been over processed in the high end.
I've compared the tracks with other CDs and they sound very brittle and tire the ear quickly.
Why do they need to do any more than just transfer the masters to digital??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant value, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Shop around the various dealers and you can get this very cheap. In terms of value, there are at least 30 top draw tracks on this (including a few quite rare gems). There are a lot of other tracks which can only be judged on individual taste.

For those interested in the music from this period, the album is an absolure must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing in the street!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
This was a replacement for a stolen copy so I already knew I'd love it. For a box set of more than 70 songs there are fewer than half a dozen that aren't so great. That's pretty good. If you were a teenager of the '80's this will take you back to those disco nights. Great tunes, great riffs and great base lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Really pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Michael Homer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
This has all the disco classics and with the added bonus of the Amazon player and MP3 download it saves you having to rip it for other devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BOUGHT FOR PARTY - BRILLIANT !, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT BACKGROUND FOR MY 1970's PARTY AND KNOW I PUT IT IN FOR HOUSEWORK TOO - GOOD SONGS I'D NOT HEARD BEFORE TOO !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be pretty comprehensive collection, 20 Oct 2013
By 
D. HORNE "davidhorne" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Not too much to say really. I don't plan on buying any more disco compilations as this one seems to have all the classics that I'm ever likely to need. Really good. Just need to get some friends around now and get it playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Yes, good selection of records on here, but if your like me, I always have favourites on every CD I buy, and tend to play these records when I put CD on, so end up not listening much to the other selection of records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Bought this while browsing what zoverstocks had for sale and they never fail to dissapoint! I love getting all these old albums which I once had on LP and tape, my collection is coming along nicely now thanks to their bargain prices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthems Disco
Anthems Disco by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews