Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix for dipping into the Disco sound
I don't have a great disco collection or back catalogue, but I like most people, love to listen to the classic radio tracks. This collection has them all from ones we all know by name by the Jacksons, Sister Sledge, Chic, Earth Wind & Fire. The lesser-known tracks do not seem like fillers at all (like you seem to get on other compilations) and fit well in the...
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by Justintime

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very brittle sound!
Great compilation but they sound like they've been over processed in the high end.
I've compared the tracks with other CDs and they sound very brittle and tire the ear quickly.
Why do they need to do any more than just transfer the masters to digital??
Published on 19 Oct. 2011 by Mr. James Michael


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix for dipping into the Disco sound, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
I don't have a great disco collection or back catalogue, but I like most people, love to listen to the classic radio tracks. This collection has them all from ones we all know by name by the Jacksons, Sister Sledge, Chic, Earth Wind & Fire. The lesser-known tracks do not seem like fillers at all (like you seem to get on other compilations) and fit well in the collection.

In summary, 60 great tracks full of soul, funk and toe-tapping goodness to either bring back those 70s memories or introduce them to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very brittle sound!, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. James Michael "Music Manic" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Great compilation but they sound like they've been over processed in the high end.
I've compared the tracks with other CDs and they sound very brittle and tire the ear quickly.
Why do they need to do any more than just transfer the masters to digital??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant value, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Shop around the various dealers and you can get this very cheap. In terms of value, there are at least 30 top draw tracks on this (including a few quite rare gems). There are a lot of other tracks which can only be judged on individual taste.

For those interested in the music from this period, the album is an absolure must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Bought this while browsing what zoverstocks had for sale and they never fail to dissapoint! I love getting all these old albums which I once had on LP and tape, my collection is coming along nicely now thanks to their bargain prices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD MIX OF MUSIC, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Excellent mix of music on this CD, something for everyone. Price, delivery and quality of service very good. Would use this suppier again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real Disco Time Machine Splendid Experience!, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Eliezer P. Lopes (FLORIANÓPOLIS, SANTA CATARINA, BR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
We gave five stars because this collection really took us to the mid-seventies and later making us dance again to the beat!
The playlist on each CD was very well chosen! Hats off to that!
Sound quality is very good indeed!
We really loved most tracks!
Hats off to Ministry of Sound record company, too!
We recommend this product to those who appreciate to hear High Quality Disco Music as well as to all those who don't know what Disco Music was and why it is a big success, especially in Brazil, even among the younger generations nowadays!
So, if you love Disco Music like us, you'll have to agree that this CD set is really a bargain!
Don't wait any longer.... Buy it and have a really good time!
The songs are those you can hear on the radio, not extended, remixed or re-recorded versions!
Best regards,
Eliezer, Elizeu and Maria Conceicao, Brazil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got all the classics!, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking for a compilation that gave me all the hits as well as some forgotten beauties! No Luther Vandross though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes You Back, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the disco anthems from the '70s on one big album. Great to listen to to reminisce or have on in the background at gatherings or parties....invariably becomes a talking point....ending up in a '70s quiz night..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard this album at a get together and just had to buy it, really good album for a party or just back ground music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow great cd, 19 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Anthems Disco (Audio CD)
Disco lovers out there should buy this! Is a great mix of all disco. A 'must' for fans of this style of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthems Disco
Anthems Disco by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews