Customer Reviews


645 Reviews
5 star:
 (564)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat
I took a risk on this album after I heard a snippet of "That Man" on the radio and loved the sound. I didn't regret it at all. It's a hugely enjoyable album with a 30s and 40s swing sound (and hints of the Andrews Sisters) combined with 2010 production. Caro Emerald is a really good singer and she gives very good material a real sparkle. There is an excellent brass...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars review of album
just thought her second album was better. i am still a big fan though and cant wait to see her in concert
Published 9 months ago by xxxxxxxx


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not sure the Deluxe is worth paying for, 18 Aug 2011
If you are a big Caro Emerald fan, this CD/DVD may be worth getting, but it doesn't compare to the live CD/DVD/blueray set Live in Concert with the Grandmono Orchestra. (Available from her website.) That DVD is excellent, and also includes the concert on CD as well.

Personally, I don't like the 3 remixes. The first two songs on the DVD are probably the best thing on the DVD, but these are from the above DVD anyway. The five songs from the club tour, are fine, but don't compare with the Live in Concert DVD. (It includes backstage footage if that appeals to anyone.) And then it just includes the two music videos for a night like this and back it up. (You can find these on youtube if you want to see what you are getting.)

So I'd advise getting the much cheaper CD of the album, and then the Live Concert 3 disc edition. (Or even just get the concert, as I think the live performances are generally better than the album recordings anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All catchy songs, 1 July 2011
By 
D. Martin (Romsey, Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd heard Caro on Chris Evans' Radio 2 show and listened to the samples on Amazon. It was obvious that they were all good songs and I am delighted with the CD. A vibrant mix of styles with jazz/40s elements. I've even booked tickets for her first show in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel Good Music, 1 Nov 2010
By 
K. P. Bagley (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard one track on radio and got Son to trace what it was as I had no artist or title. When he found it the complete CD just made me feel happy, perhaps not the best music ever made but it certainly made me feel good and happy and perhaps I am getting old but there is not much music around that does that - for me anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars catchy jazzpop, 12 April 2010
By 
This is the first album from a new dutch star.
It was released 29-1-2010 and stayed 8 weeks in a row number one on the album charts.
At the moment of writing this review it is still number one and has sold more than 50.000 cds(platina).
It contains the song back it up which was the most played song in the year 2009 on the dutch radiochannel 3fm.
Also part of the album is a night like this which was used by martini for a commercial on the internet.
This track was number one on the dutch singles charts; and is 4 months numer one on dutch download charts.
Very popular on the internet is her cover from lady GaGA bad romance(not a part of this album)
This artist is clearly inspired by jazz from the forties and fifties.
Movies from that time are also part of the inspiration.
Nice voice; catchy melodies and a scratching dj on the album.
Try this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caro Emerald, 19 Dec 2011
Sooooo good! The CD was all I hoped for and more! The bonus DVD is fantastic too!What a cool lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 25 Aug 2010
By 
N. Farcas (Luxembourg, Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I rarely listened to a CD more than I listened to this one! I love the 30's atmosphere of many of the songs and I love Caro Emerald's voice and what she does with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a cosy fleece blanket., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This woman can SING!
I first heard Tangled Up and fell in love with it, had to buy.
Found her album, was it going to tingle my spine like the single?
OMG! I had to buy it. I adore Caro Emerald's voice.
I need more.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG...., 5 Aug 2012
By 
Fred Chamberlain "666" (london u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deleted Scenes.. -Live- (Audio CD)
What a singer, what a show, this is just 100% pure awesomeness if you know the stuff Caro does then ive no need to carry on...but if you dont know then get this now, dont wait any longer...this is pure magic....not literally it is a music concert, wink wink....buy you will love it.Live in concert -cd+dvd+blu-ray- CARO EMERALD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy music, 26 April 2012
By 
Mr. A. Wood (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While Adele seems to dominate the charts with music to slit your wrists to, here is an album to put a constant smile on your face. 12 great tracks on the cd and then all of them given a different feel in a live setting plus a few extras. A great version of Bad Romance is a real highlight out of many. Favourite song? too many really, and while I love A Night Like This, Dr Wannado just edges it. Worst song? there isn't one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly different, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is addictive. She is so inventive at writing and performing catchy songs. It's a family favourite at dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews