Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking Christmas mystery
Hercule Poirot is spending Christmas in the country with his friend Colonel Johnson, Chief Constable of Middleshire, and suffering terribly from the lack of central heaintg ("Nothing like a wood fire", says Colonel Johnson, but Poirot disagrees). Disagreeable wealthy old tyrant Simeon Lee is bloodily murdered in mysterious circumstances, and Poirot is called in to...
Published on 5 Feb 2005 by L O'connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not her best
Predictable and too much exposition, still fun. She has done better, though this is still a fun read. I. Love her imagination
Published 23 months ago by Lord Moose


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Poirot's perfect Christmas present, 11 Dec 2011
Rich elderly patriarch and bully, Simeon Lee, invites his family, some of whom have been estranged for years, to spend a family Christmas together. However, before festivities can begin in earnest Simeon is murdered in a particularly violent and bloody manner. All the family are suspects and yet the circumstances of the murder, in a locked room that apparently no one can have exited from, makes it difficult to point the finger at anyone. Hercule Poirot, who is staying with the local chief constable when the crime is reported, steps in to assist the local superintendent in charge of the case. Using the character of Simeon Lee himself as the base for his investigation Poirot gradually strips away the layers of unreality that shroud the case and hones in on the murderer. This is a quality Poirot story, and not one just knocked out for the Christmas market. Despite thinking that I had nailed the identity of the killer at various stages of the book, Agatha Christie wrong-footed me to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facsimile edition looks and feels wonderful, 22 Dec 2006
This hardback facsimile edition is so Cristmassy it's almost revolting, it looks and feels as if it's from a different era. Whilst this review is too late for 2006, it would make a great cristmas present for any crime novel lover for 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot's Christmas by Agatha Christie, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hercule Poirot's Christmas (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 20) (Kindle Edition)
Hercule Poirot's Christmas by Agatha Christie is a Poirot mystery and it is very good; Agatha Christie is a very good author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars would use again, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book ,great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deaughters xmas gift, 6 Jan 2010
By 
wanted to give as christmas gift to daughter
order arrived in time and in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon's Misleading Cover Image, 21 April 2008
I would urge buyers who wish a specific version of this book to beware the cover image Amazon display, as this is not the cover image they are supplying. Amazon, despite displaying the black-topped signature edition, substitute the book supplied for a newer version of the cover. For someone collecting a particular version this is a frustrating piece of mis-selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hi world, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Claire (North Shields) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hercule Poirot's Christmas (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 20) (Kindle Edition)
books looks ok
once I have a chance to read I will add to this review but for now I think its daft being asked to leave feedback 2 days after purchasing a book
any normal working person takes a min of a few weeks to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poirot - no mystery: just an awful book., 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Agatha Christie I have read and I was looking forward to it as I knew that they were very popular. Therefore, I was very disappointed with its obvious plot, inane characters and dull, predictable language. The characters were unlikeable and the manner in which they kept throwing their heads back and laughing was overindulgent and amateur.
I'm sure if you read Christie as a child you would appreciate this for nostalgia purposes but reading one for the first time, I shall definitely not be reading another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews