Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vintage Christie
This was written in 1924 so is one of Christie's very early books. Not all of her short stories are successful, but I really enjoy these. They all feature Poirot and Hastings, but you can feel the difference in their relationship from the later novels: here Poirot can be unbearably arrogant (in Hasting's view), and Hastings himself duller than in later stories. The tales...
Published on 15 May 2007 by Roman Clodia

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd collection
This is an odd collection. There doesn't appear to be anything in particular to tie the stories together other than that they contain Hastings and Poirot - the settings are diverse and there doesn't appear to be any sort of chronological flow between them - in some the pair are living together and in others not. I'm not convinced that it works as a collection...
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by Jim J-R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd collection, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This is an odd collection. There doesn't appear to be anything in particular to tie the stories together other than that they contain Hastings and Poirot - the settings are diverse and there doesn't appear to be any sort of chronological flow between them - in some the pair are living together and in others not. I'm not convinced that it works as a collection.

Each story therefore is stand alone and this makes for easy reading, as beginning, middle and end can be devoured in one sitting... although the middle parts of each story seem to be the parts that have been removed to make them short stories. Each tale is characterized by 1. Someone reports a mystery to Poirot; 2. Poirot sits down and thinks about it; 3. Poirot announces the solution. To me this seemed a little bland - the speed doesn't give the reader much chance to think about the mystery before revealing the solution - but then this covers up the fact that many of them are unsolvable, or at least have many possible solutions, with the evidence available.

What is nice is that not all the mysteries are murders. There's a nice range of puzzles for Poirot to solve, which almost makes up for the grating way the characters stay the same and have the same arguments all the time. But only almost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The armchair detective, 6 July 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
To suspend disbelief is one of an author's important tasks and is particularly onerous in certain genres, including crime. In Agatha Christie's case, she is superb at distracting the reader from the improbability that an elaborately planned crime can be executed without any apparent hitch. Of course, the criminal always makes a mistake or two to the benefit, in this instance, of Hercule Poirot.

In 'Poirot Investigates', however, Christie asks more of us than usual. Poirot appears to solve most of these mysteries without venturing far from his home. His uncanny ability to work out the shenanigans on a transatlantic liner without being anywhere near the scene of the crime, for instance, invites ridicule. As ever, Christie teases us with some intriguing mini-plots, but this early collection suggests that while she'd cracked novel-writing, she still hadn't mastered the art of short story writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vintage Christie, 15 May 2007
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This was written in 1924 so is one of Christie's very early books. Not all of her short stories are successful, but I really enjoy these. They all feature Poirot and Hastings, but you can feel the difference in their relationship from the later novels: here Poirot can be unbearably arrogant (in Hasting's view), and Hastings himself duller than in later stories. The tales themselves are miniature masterpieces, and cover the ground that Christie will later make her own: unfeasible robberies, exotic mysteries (there's one set in Egypt), and twisted relationships.

Hugely enjoyable, especially if you're a fan of Hastings - as I am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Memoirs of Hercule Poirot, 28 April 2001
An entertaining mixed bag of short stories, in which the Doyle influence is still visible. None of the stories are poor - a marked improvement over POIROT'S EARLY CASES - all are solid, well-plotted, fairly clued, and most have some ingenuity. The best: "THE MYSTERY AT HUNTER'S LODGE", in which Poirot acts as armchair detective, and solves a murder in a locked gun-room, while breaking a cast-iron alibi; "THE MILLION DOLLAR BOND ROBBERY", in which Poirot solves an impossible theft on board a ship; "THE ADVENTURE OF THE EGYPTIAN TOMB", a good Pharaohnic Curse story; "THE DISAPPEARANCE OF MR. DAVENHEIM", in which a financier disappears from his home; and "THE ITALIAN NOBLEMAN", in which a blackmailer is bludgeoned to death in his flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just right for my holiday read
Each story was long enough to enjoy while on the sun bed round the pool
Great storys as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well written short stories, 3 Oct 2014
By 
M. G. Free "miklfree" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Poirot! Excellent, well written short stories. Easy and entertaining reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars POIROT INVESTIGATES, 26 Aug 1997
By A Customer
Vey good book with all the little details a reader wants : mystery, very good plot and puzzles, short stories in order not to tire you. I recommend it because of its unique caracter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot investigates, 8 Feb 2004
By 
This is avery enjoyable read, made up of 11 self-contained short stories featuring the famous Belgian sleuth, Poirot. With Hastings, he solves more fascinating cases, featuring film stars, suspicous occurances and a kidnapped prime minister. The stories keep you wondering who the criminal is, and the results are ingenious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good used book, added to my collection, to be read but can be sure it will be a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot excels, 20 Dec 2012
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot Investigates (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't disappoint. I enjoy Poirot mysteries immensely,pity I have almost read them all.Recommend all Kindle readers to do the same. I can guarantee Agatha Christie mysteries will give readers many enjoyable hours of suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews