Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read
When Poirot supposedly suffers a heart attack at an Argentinian restraunt , Miss Lemon books a holiday at a health resort on a small island on the South coast of Devon (accessible by a sea tractor).As soon as he disembarks, he is notices a huge amount of tension in the air.After conversing with other guests, Poirot discovers lethal ambitions in he minds of the guests.With...
Published on 4 Sept. 2004 by bertons2

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Implausible resolution
I didn't like this as much as the other Agatha Christie novels I have read. While I enjoyed the setting on a small island off the Devon coast with just a small hotel and an attractive coastline, the actual explanation for the crime struck me as unrealistically complex. Poirot's ratiocination is also suspect: he begins by identifying who he thinks is the most likely...
Published 8 months ago by John Hopper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it! :)

One of Christie's best! I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who likes murder mystery books, it's also based on a real island in Devon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding reading of an ingenious Christie mystery., 7 Mar. 2003
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As an example of how ingeniously a whodunit might be plotted, and how expertly an audio book might be read, this package could hardly be bettered.
Agatha Christie wrote "Evil Under the Sun" in the early 1940s. It was a time when the second world war had brought widespread misery, pain and austerity. A welcome antidote, therefore was to devise a little budget-priced escapism, to depict a group of guests at a sea-side holiday resort relaxing and exchanging gossip and tittle-tattle as they overlook a beach and the bathers who are using it.
The inane gossip and the lack of suspense in the opening pages might wear your patience, but keep alert! Many significant clues are scattered here.
The subsequent murder and the possible motivation relate mainly to a context of human relationships. A drug smuggling racket is occasionally suggested. Hercule Poirot is present, of course, to lead police, readers, and everybody else to the solution of the mystery, even if he needs to ruin a good pair of shoes and risk seasickness during the hunt.
Addictive and ingenious as her books can be, Agatha Christie's prose and dialogue are not renowned for literary merit. All the more remarkable, therefore, is the contribution of David Suchet. Such is the reading of the great British actor that the banal is transformed into the brilliant, the commonplace into the courtly, and the mediocre into the memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery and book in great conditions even if used!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the movie a bunch of times but never read it. I know I'm going to love it just like every other Agatha Christie's book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 19 Feb. 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would recommend to any fellow Christie fans. One of my favourite Poirot story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 May 2011
of course this is brilliant this lady has never written a wrong word, i think this is one of my favourite Agatha books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some Christies wear better than others...., 21 Mar. 2009
and this one has stood the test of time fairly well. The usual entertaining and unlikely stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good used book, added to my collection, to be read but can be sure it will be a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, 8 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Under the Sun (Audio CD)
Sadly, the abridging process removes all the best bits from Christie's novel (the biddable Mr. Gardner, teenage Linda's inner struggle, Mr. Blatt's class consciousness, the hotel manager's painful superiority). That just leaves the mystery, pretty dully told. David Timson is not bad (and a lot better than David Suchet who doesn't do a great job of reading the full-length version), but he could afford to give different characters a lot more - well, character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent! One of Christie's best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVIL UNDER THE SUN, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil under the sun (Paperback)
I THINK IT IS ONE OF MISS CHRISTIES MORE EERIE STORIES,I DONT KNOW WHY.LOVE THE BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews