Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read
When Poirot supposedly suffers a heart attack at an Argentinian restraunt , Miss Lemon books a holiday at a health resort on a small island on the South coast of Devon (accessible by a sea tractor).As soon as he disembarks, he is notices a huge amount of tension in the air.After conversing with other guests, Poirot discovers lethal ambitions in he minds of the guests.With...
Published on 4 Sept. 2004 by bertons2

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Implausible resolution
I didn't like this as much as the other Agatha Christie novels I have read. While I enjoyed the setting on a small island off the Devon coast with just a small hotel and an attractive coastline, the actual explanation for the crime struck me as unrealistically complex. Poirot's ratiocination is also suspect: he begins by identifying who he thinks is the most likely...
Published 6 months ago by John Hopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 4 Sept. 2004
When Poirot supposedly suffers a heart attack at an Argentinian restraunt , Miss Lemon books a holiday at a health resort on a small island on the South coast of Devon (accessible by a sea tractor).As soon as he disembarks, he is notices a huge amount of tension in the air.After conversing with other guests, Poirot discovers lethal ambitions in he minds of the guests.With one of the best solutions (in my opinion), an excellent, original setting, and an added sub-plot, makes this a must have for all Poirot fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant book., 24 Oct. 2007
(4.4 stars ) Before writing this review I wasn't sure whether or not to give it 5 stars, I decided that there are some better Agatha Christie books, so I gave it 4 stars, I must say that I nearly gave it 5 stars. It was a throughly excellent read and I highly enjoyed it. I will now talk about some important aspects of detective stories that are used in this story and how well it uses them.

Setting: The idea of Poirot going to the seaside for a holiday and a murder happening there is an excellent idea to make the book interesting and individual, I felt that this helped to make the book more enjoyable, and I almost felt I like it was Summer and I was at the beach 8/10.

Characterization: This has never been considered Christies strong point but I think ( excluding one or two of her books ) she is usually quite at it good, if not great. This book is an example of one of her books with good characterization, the characters were interesting and I wanted to know what happened to them ( if you are looking for a Christie book with brilliant characterization, read Death On The Nile ) 8/10.

Plot: This book chronologically follows One, Two, Buckle My Shoe, my least favourite Agatha Christie book so far, but you can't tell that it does because it is so enjoyable. It ( like one, two, buckle my shoe ) is very complicated and they're are lots of misleading and clever clues.
The plot is basically this, Poirot goes on holidays to the seaside and can sense an evil presence in the seaside air and suspects that there may be a murder. Poirot's habit of never being wrong applies again here, when Arlena Stuart gets murdered and they are suddenly plunged into a complicated investigation with loads of interesting suspects and clues, but not too complicated for Hercule Poirot 9/10.

The Conclusion: I guessed the identity of the murderer by the time the body was found, I also guessed one or two clever clues, but I didn't guess the motive and didn't notice a lot of the brilliant subtle clues that were so cleverly disguised. If you are new to Christie or usually don't guess her conclusions, then you almost definitely won't guess this one, but I usually guess them. Despite guessing it, this is a truely complex conclusion ( another similarity to one, two, buckle my shoe ) and it will completely satisfy almost any reader, based on the way that all the clues fall into place 8/10.

To sum up this book is better than the average Christie, but not quite one of her masterpieces. I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ‘.....common among men’ (Eccl. 6:1), 21 Oct. 2014
‘Evil Under The Sun’ (1941) by Agatha Christie is an excellent whodunit. Having watched a set of Christie DVD’s I decided to read the books. ‘Evil Under The Sun’ is the best of the three I’ve read. Firstly a few differences between book and film: drugs, a fanatical vicar and a touch of witchcraft appear in the book while the film has to be content with an excess of show-biz types. The motive for the murder is easier to accept here than the film’s. One shortcoming in the book is that Poirot is supposedly on holiday (hard to believe) whereas in the film he’s there ‘on a job’.
In a typical Christie fashion the book is full of red herrings. In fact, one was so beautifully argued that I was tempted to consider the film had changed the killer! Poirot explains that detection is like doing a jigsaw puzzle, fitting in all the pieces and here are some of those he lists in this case: ‘Gabrielle No. 8, A pair of scissors, A broken pipe stem. A bottle thrown from a window. A green calendar......’ Enough to stretch anyone’s ‘little grey cells’. The characterisation is more complex than I’ve met in Christie’s work before – e.g. Arlena Marshall’s character is turned completely upside down to that as displayed in the film. If, like me, you find a film’s actors personifying a book’s characters, it works here even though the characterisation often differs – and that goes for the locations as well.
My title completes the Biblical reference to ‘Evil.... Under The Sun...’. The book is well worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic Poirot adventure, 27 May 2012
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Another classic mystery in which Poirot, holidaying on an island off the English south coast, stumbles into yet another murder investigation. Filled with Christie's trademark knowing wit, this is an interestingly different take on the locked room.

The setting of the story is ingenious, escaping the traditional manor house murder for a more approachable setting - the seaside - frees the characters up a little and makes them seem more open, as well as making the scenery feel more relatable for the modern reader.

There are possibly a few too many characters to keep track of, which I would like to blame for my complete inability to spot the culprit before the reveal. As it was they were once again a rich bunch with well planned back-stories to allow suspicion to fall everywhere.

Overall I enjoyed this return to Christie's works, and found this one to be more fulfilling than some of those I've recently read, although in my disappointment with not solving the mystery I wonder if some clues weren't left a little too late to reveal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Busman's Holiday for Poirot, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Under the Sun (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written and one of my favourites, Poirot goes on holiday for a rest and soon finds himself solving a murder instead. Young, beautiful and flirtatious Arleena Stewart is murdered on a sunny beach. Poirot soon find himself amongst a nest of vipers and opening a can of worms. Nothing and no one is quite what it appears on the surface and motives are in abundance. Poirot can't help but feel that this crime has been committed by somebody who knows what they are doing and has got it off to a fine art as it were.

Can Poirot solve this mystery before the holidays are over?

Very good book. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 July 2007
By 
Everything you come to expect from Agatha Christie: wonderful location, colourful characters, a plot with plenty of twists and turns and one of Poirot's most difficult cases.
One of her best.Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 18 Jan. 2008
By 
sam hrt (Lancs, England, Uk) - See all my reviews
Agatha Christie never fails to disappoint in any of her Poirot mysteries and this one is no exception. Set against Poirot's prescribed holiday on a lovely island we meet a range of characters as usual who are shades darker than they let on. The murder most 'unexpected' is not shocking in nature but the identity of the victim is unbalances you a bit - maybe because its the trademark 'obvious' character who gets murdered. As usual Christie draws a tight net around the murder reeling each person on the island as a possible murder/murderess. This book has the usual Poirot humorous comments, Poirot's smugness & Christie's twitchy characters. It's not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie - Evil Under the Sun, 30 Sept. 2010
Another glorious Christie mystery (even knowing the story well, from film and radio adaptations, could not diminish the pleasure). The facsimile edition is lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Implausible resolution, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Under the Sun (Poirot) (Hercule Poirot Series Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't like this as much as the other Agatha Christie novels I have read. While I enjoyed the setting on a small island off the Devon coast with just a small hotel and an attractive coastline, the actual explanation for the crime struck me as unrealistically complex. Poirot's ratiocination is also suspect: he begins by identifying who he thinks is the most likely culprit, constructs a sequence of events that allows for that outcome, and it turns out to be true. This is no Sherlockian working up of evidence dispassionately to lead to a conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intricate murder-on-holiday case for Poirot, 15 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
The murder of Arlena Marshall is arguably the most intricately planned crime to be found in all of Christie's stories and one of the best examples of a particular formula that Christie sometimes used. Good use of an everyday holiday situation and setting which in detail is essential to the plot. Poirot succeeds in unmasking the murderer only by resorting to other past similar murder cases elsewhere. Characters not as well developed as in some of the best Christies but otherwise one of the top dozen or so of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews