Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ripping yarn
Anne Beddingfield has lived her whole life in a small village with her father, an anthropologist who cares only for Paleolithic Man. Anne longs for romance and adventure, and envies their maid, who "walked out" with an asssortment of young men. Then Anne's father dies suddenly, and Anne gets a chance at adventure when she witnesses the accidental death of a man at a...
Published on 16 Jun 2004 by L O'connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Too Romantic
Published 3 months ago by Miguel V


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ripping yarn, 16 Jun 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anne Beddingfield has lived her whole life in a small village with her father, an anthropologist who cares only for Paleolithic Man. Anne longs for romance and adventure, and envies their maid, who "walked out" with an asssortment of young men. Then Anne's father dies suddenly, and Anne gets a chance at adventure when she witnesses the accidental death of a man at a london tube station. Anne has reason to believe that this death is connected to the murder of a woman at a house in Marlow, but the police aren't interested in her theories. The enterprising Anne beleives that a ship bound for South Africa holds the answer to the mystery, and embarks without delay. There are a variety of colourful and eccentric characters on board ship, the charming Suzanne Blair, enigmatic Coloonel Race, creepy clergyman Chichester, delightful Sir Eustace Pedler, but some or all of these people may not be what they seem. A lot of exciting things happen to Anne on board ship, not the least exciting being the night when a glamorous wounded stranger takes refuge in her cabin. Who is he, and what does he want? Exciting things continue to happen when they arrive in South Africa, and Anne gets all the adventure and romance she has ever dreamed about, and more. Anne is a delightful heroine, adventurous and resourceful and humorous, and the supporting characters are equally charming. An exciting story, interesting characters, adventure, humour, and romance, what more could you want from a book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 4 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Man in the Brown Suit (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book: it is without the usual Agatha Christie's characters Poirot or Miss Marple, but this is not a problem. In fact they are fairly good replaced by a "common" woman (and this fact allows a little bit of romance, that is not necessarly a bad thing in a detective novel), who is way too curious for her own sake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man in the Brown Suit, 11 Sep 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Man in the Brown Suit (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of Agatha Christie's best stand alone novels - part mystery, part thriller and part espionage story - which takes us from a London tube station to revolution in Africa. It begins with Anne Beddingfeld, the daughter of a professor who longs for adventure. She spends her day trying to placate creditors and longing to 'step out' with a young man. When her father dies, she takes an opportunity to go to London, where, quite by chance, she witnesses the death of a young man at a tube station. Finding a piece of paper dropped by the 'doctor' at the scene, she believes the death to be linked to that of the murder of a young woman at the house of Sir Eustace Pedlar. With only eighty five pounds to her name, her deductions ignored by the police, she boards a ship bound for South Africa. On board she meets not only Sir Eustace Pedlar but his secretary Guy Pagett, the society beauty Suzanne Blair, the enigmatic Colonel Race and the attractive Harry Rayburn. If she can find out who the man in the brown suit is, seen leaving Sir Pedlar's house shortly after the murder, she hopes for a job on the Daily Budget and life as a journalist.

What follows is more of an adventure than the enterprising Anne could ever have dreamed of when she was tucked away in the quiet countryside. Some of the people Anne meets are certainly not who they appear to be and, before events have sorted themselves out, she will be kidnapped, nearly murdered (more than once!), face criminal gangs, find love and unearth the mysterious 'Colonel'. An excellent introduction to Christie if you haven't tried her books before. Sit back, relax and let the best mystery writer who ever put pen to paper take you on an adventure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your Kindle, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man in the Brown Suit (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
This is my all time favourite Agatha Christie book. The well worn, secondhand, paperback copy has gone on every holiday with me for years. After being given my Kindle for Christmas this was the first book I downloaded. What could be better than always having it with me wherever I went with my Kindle.

The plot is fantastic. Mystery and intrigue starts immediately in the prologue and then in chapter one we are introduced to the feisty heroine Anne who will be the main character in the book. She may be an orphan but once she sets off on her adventure you want to be Anne. The story is full of action, mystery and romance. You won't want to put it down once you start it, it keeps you guessing all the way to the end. I won't go into the plot but will simply say if you love Agatha Christie or just love an easy going, full of non stop fun mystery then get this. You will not be disappointed. I must have read it at least twenty times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man in the Brown Suit., 2 Jun 2013
By 
James "I'm a retired security guard. I enjoy ... (MARYPORT, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite Christie stories but cannot give this rendition five stars because quite simply I just do not rate Emilia Fox's reading. For my money I would have preferred the actress Jenny Funnell whome I have reading other Christie books on audio.However, the new packaging from Harper Collins is much better than the previous style, being much more compact and easier to access. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More a thriller than a Whodunit, 10 May 2014
Agatha Christie’s books are usually murder mysteries. This one does start with a couple of murders, and there are certainly some mysteries and puzzle within the plot, but the whole is far more of a thriller, with ongoing discoveries and revelations.

Written in 1924, it feels a little dated in its ‘colonial’ British style, but enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars agatha christir, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Christie has always been one of my best loved authors and find her writing exciting and and so adventurous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man in the Brown Suit (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Held me all the way through. Humour comes now and again, spell binding story makes you feel like you are the heroine Ann, falling in love with the hero .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expected, 30 Jan 2014
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man in the Brown Suit (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Agatha never disappoints.Another excellent plot and hard to put down. A five stars as usual and fully recommended to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man in the Brown Suit (Agatha Christie Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Have collectipm excellent all good mysteries easy to read and all diffrent a must for agata christie fans get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews