Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats & Petticoats series
This is for the most part a great and varied mix of classic tunes from the 50's and 60's. I won't go into details on individual tracks as although i love some more than others, they're all classics really and anyone who loves this era of music will get good value for money here.

The reason for the four stars however, and this really bugs me... ever since the...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by Virgil Kane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars dreamboats
I was a bit dissappointed with the songs on this album, should have looked at it more closely. But over all its quite good.
Published 11 months ago by vivienne moon


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats & Petticoats series, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
This is for the most part a great and varied mix of classic tunes from the 50's and 60's. I won't go into details on individual tracks as although i love some more than others, they're all classics really and anyone who loves this era of music will get good value for money here.

The reason for the four stars however, and this really bugs me... ever since the 2nd collection in this series, there has appeared a blight on what would otherwise be a fantastic collection of tunes and i feel i should mention it in the hope that others will speak up and maybe for collection no.5, if there is one, they will omit to include those versions of tunes by cast members of the theatrical show that have no right standing alongside all these greats.

They are:

Dreamboats and Petticoats 2 (disc 2) track 20 - Jason Donovan - dreamboats and petticoats
Dreamboats and Petticoats 3 (disc 2) track 27 - Daisy Wood-Davis - dream baby dream
Dreamboats and Petticoats 3 (disc 2) track 28 - Scott Bruton - You won't catch me crying
Dreamboats and Petticoats 3 (disc 2) track 28 - Scott Bruton - Dreamboats and petticoats
Dreamboats and Petticoats 4 (disc 2)track 27 - Scott Bruton - runaround sue
Dreamboats and Petticoats 4 (disc 2)track 28 - A.J Dean - Poery in motion
Dreamboats and Petticoats 4 (disc 2)track 30 - A.J Dean - Did Your Mama Tell You (How To Rock & Roll)

I don't want to knock these kids singing these tunes, i'm sure they are all very tallented and have that X factor and all that. But they are not the orignal and they should be kept seperate. For those that love the songs from the show there is the 'Dreamboats And Petticoats - The Cast Recording' to fullfill your needs. So i'm baffled as to why these tunes have crept onto these collections? Has the show funded the release of these collections? If so, the albums will still sell without these 'foreign' tunes.

My advice, would be when you buy and upload to your itunes, delete these tunes that don't belong in these collections and you'll have a much better, uninterupted listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dreamboats, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
great c d which goes with the rest of the collection hope there will be more to follow it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure nostalgia, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. June Neilson "art lover" (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
Another great mix of songs from the 50's and 60's. Some Pop, Skiffle and Trad Jazz amongst other genre make a great nostalgic trip back to this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dreamboats and petticoats at its best, 8 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
Dreamboats and Petticoates at is usual best, fast delivery, well packaged, Would definately recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's Music, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
I am in the 70's Age Group. I'm afraid that I do not have a lot of time for the more Modern Music - SORRY!! However these album collections namely 'Dreamboats and Petticoats are just down my street. The 1960s were a terrific time for'Popular Music' The songs had real Tunes and more important - Good Lyrics.I still remember most of the Words to this day I am very happy with these albums. They bring back a lot of wonderful memories. Most Enjoyable !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the golden oldies, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Penny (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I love all the golden oldies and this one did not disappoint. I knew nearly all the words to each song!! Great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats and Petticoats Four by Various Artists, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Ms. R. Chapman (Wirral, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
Amazing music from a time when music was music. thought the first three where good but number four is also as good. if you like music from the 60's then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamboats and Petticoats Four, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
Dreamboats and Petticoates Four at it's usual best, Great Music taking me back to my youth, Very fast delivery, well packaged, Would definately recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DREAMBOATS&PETTICOATS FOUR, 11 Jan 2011
By 
P. A. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
This is the 4th Dreamboats&Petticoats item that i have bought after buying Nos 1-3. This is just as good as the previous CDs with great songs which bring back a lot of good memories,and i would definitely advise anyone to buy this and all the others as well. I look forward to hopefully No5 being released!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars foxylady, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dreamboats and Petticoats Four (Audio CD)
i love all the dreamboats and petticoats cd, i buy them every year for presents for me and my family (goes down a treat with aunties and uncles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamboats and Petticoats Four
Dreamboats and Petticoats Four by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews