Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockinghorse, Jools Holland & his rhythm & blues orchestra - Big band making big noise = big fun!
It has been a bit of a wait since 2008's sublime `The Informer', but it has been worth it. Jools and his gang have come together to provide a swinging set of tunes that really entertain, and get one up and dancing with the really joyful mood.

Joining the big band is a roster of superb guests. The album kicks off with a keyboards duel between Jools and the...
Published on 17 Nov 2010 by Victor

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rather disappointing
Having bought several other jools holland cds this was not as good as i was expecting. A handfull of decent songs with a bit of life but all the rest a little dull and boring.
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by pixie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockinghorse, Jools Holland & his rhythm & blues orchestra - Big band making big noise = big fun!, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
It has been a bit of a wait since 2008's sublime `The Informer', but it has been worth it. Jools and his gang have come together to provide a swinging set of tunes that really entertain, and get one up and dancing with the really joyful mood.

Joining the big band is a roster of superb guests. The album kicks off with a keyboards duel between Jools and the legendary Allen Toussaint, a really intense battle that leaves you in awe of their technique. Later there is a soulful organ contribution from Booker T, on Duke Ellington's `Blues For New Orleans'. I've often wondered what Jools would make of a Duke composition and between them he and Booker create a wonderful tribute to the great jazz man. The standout guests have to be Chas and Dave. Given both their and the band's propensity for swinging rocking tracks with a touch of humour, I was expecting some fast rocker like Gertcha, but was wonderfully surprised with the reflective `'London belongs to me'. This a slow paced track that has some beautiful lyrics, and is more reminiscent of Chas and Dave's `Ponders end Allotments club'.

There are several tracks sung by band regulars Ruby Turner, Louise Marshall and Rico Rodriguez, along with a few rocking instrumentals. Of the instrumentals `String of pearls' is a real standout - an affectionate look back to the big band swing of Glenn Miller.

This is another classic record of well played swinging tunes from a band who clearly know their stuff, can work easily in a variety of idioms, and really enjoy making music. They all come together to make an irrepressible wall of sound that will have you tapping your feet and humming along. An absolute joy of a record, I cannot recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band, Great Album, 15 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocking Horse (MP3 Download)
Saw the band last Saturday in Bristol, terrific evening, lots of audience participation, many of the tracks on the album were performed, but what a mix of talents on the cd. Well worth a listen, go on buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
The music on this CD gets better and better - many great tunes -Holland at his best for me! If you like the artist, this is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rather disappointing, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
Having bought several other jools holland cds this was not as good as i was expecting. A handfull of decent songs with a bit of life but all the rest a little dull and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars terrific, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
just love jools holland. have seen him live a few times and this cd bring the performances back vividly. buy and enjoy with volume flat out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
Chose rating as not as good as the other CD's that JH et al has done but this is not to say that it's not a good album just not as much my cup of tea as I'd hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
After hearing onr or two tracks played on the television I bought this for my husbands christmas present. Very pleased with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One more for collection., 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
OK. Have several others but wouldn't say this is the best. See the band live - it is brilliant. Spoils you really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Jools, on a good day!, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
As a long time fan of Jools' Rhythm & Blues Orchestra I was surprised just how much of a step forward this album was. It's their best yet, and I've had it playing on a loop for several days - it just gets better and better.

A couple of observations:
1) Some of the best tracks are Jools Holland compositions - 'Father Time' and 'Enchanted Castle' are stand-outs. He seems to be in his prime right now.
2) Louise Marshall - why haven't I noticed her contributions before? Coincidentally she's the vocalist on the two tracks I mentioned above - vocally almost a cross between Ruby Turner and Sam Brown, and a perfect partner for Jools' writing talents.

It was Jools' 2011 Hootenanny that inspired me to look for studio albums that I might have missed, and I'm glad I did. If you've ever appreciated the 'get up and boogie' feeling that Jools' band inspires, get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More From The One-and-Only Jools Holland, 24 April 2011
This review is from: Rockinghorse (Audio CD)
More brilliant compositions from piano virtuoso Jools Holland on his latest album, all perfectly-crafted by this master composer and lyricist - such a pity Jools is singing only some of his songs and not all - his bluesy emotive voice suits his songs to perfection.
Marvellous to hear the divine Sam Brown's voice sounding as ethereal as ever, after all her recent throat troubles.
This album marks the recording debut of Jools' beautiful daughter Rosie Mae - an absolute delight.
As with several other Jools Holland albums, 'Rockinghorse' is cluttered with some extraneous 'guests', all unnecessary.
Many more 'pure Jools' albums are needed, such as some of his previous albums - The Swing Album, Beatroute, The Full Complement et.al - if we're having a Jools Holland album, let's HAVE A JOOLS HOLLAND ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockinghorse
Rockinghorse by Jools Holland (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews