Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halleluja Rosie lea.
I decided to write this review as a means of helping other people discover this wonderful album the same way that I did.
I'd bought "Village Green" and was just browsing through the site and I noticed all these rave reviews for "Muswell", I thought at the price it was worth a chance and am I glad I took it.
A bitter-sweet look at life in England at the time this...
Published on 19 Jan 2005 by fizz buzz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Decline and Fall of The Kinks
After a string of great albums from Face to Face to Lola Vs Powerman The Kinks went into terminal decline. I remember buying this album at the time and thinking they had sold out to America. If songs about old west Virginia and Oklahoma weren't bad enough, Ray's constant whinging about modern life began to increasingly jar. Although the production was crisp, it lacked...
Published 2 months ago by Nigel W


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final great album, their best of all?, 4 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
The marvelous Muswell Hillbillies.

It is ridiculous to speak of such poor efforts as Schoolboys In Disgrace and A Soap Opera, and the Preservation albums also, in the same breath as Muswell Hillbillies, let alone call the later only 'solid' and the first few 'great', as the other reviewer here has done. Everybody's In Showbiz (the album immediately after it) had a couple of true greats, in Celluloid Heroes and Motorway, but then every single Kinks track of the next 25 years was a notch down, until 'Million Pound Semi-Detached' came out in '97. (It was written in '88, but may have been tampered with terribly - production-wise by Ray - had it come out then.)

Muswell Hillbillies - in contrast to every album since by the Kinks or Ray Davies - has not only the high quality that those to come conspicuously lack, but it is remarkably sustained. The tracks Muswell Hillbillies, Have A Cuppa Tea, Oklahoma USA, Holiday and Kentucky Moon are some of the greatest songs that the Kinks ever made. The other reviewer shows again unfortunately that he is all at sea, missing these accept for Holiday, and mentioning Skin And Bone, Alcohol and Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues as the best tracks here. Yes, they would be amongst the best tracks from every forthcoming Kinks album, but the best on Muswell Hillbillies, no way.

Magnificent writing is to be heard on Muswell Hillbillies, Have A Cuppa Tea, Oklahoma USA, Holiday and Kentucky Moon, with also Uncle Son and Kentucky Moon very strong.

Brilliant 60's singles, at least half an album of sheer genius with 'Village Green Preservation Society', the excellent 'Lola' album and the great 'Arthur' (though marred by too much playing minus vocal and words such as on the otherwise superb 'Australia'), are topped off by the wonderful Muswell Hillbillies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muswell Hillbillies, 5 Oct 2013
This album is perfect.

This is the greatest album the Kinks ever made and thus the greatest album about England ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kinks at their best, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Stefano Biggi (genoa (italy)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
I must admit i've overlooked this album for quite a while,i thought it was not worth listening after arthur and green village became my kinks favourites, i was wrong,this is a trully enchanting album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock for the sake of timelessness, 14 April 2012
By 
Hans-henrik Christensen "Hans-Henrik" (Århus, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
This is an album, that I found a bit boring, when I bought the vinyl back in 1971.
It was in my Pink Floyd, Chicago (the jazz rock version) and Hendrix period, and I still like their work. But the "Muswell Hillbillies" has been growing since now. It is such a cohesent, low-powered and intense album, that you can listen to it on and on without being fed up. Genious lyrics and music combined with the usual Davies wit and craftmanship. This album is on my top 5 together with "Arthur", "Wish You Were Here", "Abbey Road" and "Every Picture Tells A Story".
Hans-Henrik Christense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Kinks become more serious (and less enjoyable), 30 May 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
This album's title 'Muswell Hillbillies' in many ways perfectly reflects its contents - a strange brew of english vaudeville mixed with a little country rock and an occasional jazzy brass accompaniment. Lyrically this album seems to reflect well the working class life of the Kinks youth with all insecurities that tends to go with it. It's almost like a whole album based on the theme of the Kinks earlier hit 'Dead End Street'.

While the english vaudeville, country rock and jazz influences seem far more compatable than one might imagine, 'Muswell Hillbillies' mood generally and despite a number of fine tracks is rather dour and depressive despite the fact lyrically the album is not without humour.

'20th Century Man', 'Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues', 'Holiday' and 'Muswell Hillbillies' (amongst fine other songs) are really fine examples of the album's greatness but unfortunately consistency isn't maintained throughout and many of songs although continuing the working class theme lyrically, fail to really spark as songs in themselves.

'Muswell Hillbillies' isn't without merit, certainly but one has to be in the mood to listen to it. At this point the Kinks were starting to see themselves as serious album artists, and while 'Muswell Hillbillies' is deserving of being considered in a more serious light, much of the old wit and inevitable excitement seems long gone.

Yes, it works on its own terms yet what is displayed here has a lot less genuine appeal than the Kinks earlier work.

Worth 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muswell Hillbillies, 15 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
I have always liked The Kinks music, but must admit had not seen this album, so decided to buy it. Really liked it quite laid back but very them. I really do like it and play it a lot. Really glad it has been remastered, otherwise would have missed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising gem, 26 Oct 2010
By 
N. Margerison "neil" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
I was not previously aware of this album (from 1971) until Amazon kindly forced it on my attention. If you like the Kinks this will entertain and occasionally delight. Have a cup of tea! neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No surround sound, 30 April 2014
By 
Stephen Hall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
This may be better quality, being an SACD, but it's only 2.0. Sony will be pleased, but not me. If you like the Kinks and it's missing from your collection, but it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muswell Hillbillies., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
Another great album from The Kinks. Did not sell many copies on release but has sold well over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muswell Hillbillies (Audio CD)
I reckon this is the Kinks at their very best. Not their best known work, but full of keen observation and social comment, and brilliant sing-along tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muswell Hillbillies
Muswell Hillbillies by The Kinks
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews