Customer Reviews


414 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (125)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well impressed with 410 GPS
Impressed is the first feeling the Garmin 410 provides me. How cautious I was after reading so many split reviews on this and other models but made a leap of faith after the more positive reviews and purchased the Garmin 410GPS with heart rate sensor for the same price as older models.

The 410 is a very sleek GPS/watch, not too thick and large enough screen to...
Published on 25 Feb. 2012 by Max Curtis

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS... it's OK
In summary, this product is just OK. Not bad, but not something you can rave about. It's the first GPS watch I've ever owned so had done a fair bit of research before purchasing. From this I knew it wasn't perfect (but neither was the competition), but was sure I could overcome any issues raised by previous buyers and learn to love it.

However, in all...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Paul Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well impressed with 410 GPS, 25 Feb. 2012
By 
Max Curtis "Freerider" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
Impressed is the first feeling the Garmin 410 provides me. How cautious I was after reading so many split reviews on this and other models but made a leap of faith after the more positive reviews and purchased the Garmin 410GPS with heart rate sensor for the same price as older models.

The 410 is a very sleek GPS/watch, not too thick and large enough screen to provide a clear and easy to read display which is all user defined. After a look at the Quick Ref leaflet provided, I immediately placed the 410 on charge for just over 2 hours (3hrs is specified for a flat to full charge) then I had a little play just to get the feel for buttons and menu options available before tackling the instruction booklet and I found it very easy to operate and soon remembered the pathways to the various menu options.

Before you start getting frustrated because you can't see the information you would like to see...READ THE MANUAL PROVIDED ON THE CD. The manual is well written and easy to understand. Once I had completed this I was whizzing around and soon selecting the 3 different Training fields (Settings, Data fields, Training 1, 2 or3) and editing the fields to show specific info on my runs. I only used the first 2 trg screens and opted to turn Trg 3 off. Everything is user defined and it all depends on how much data you want access during or after your run.

The Bezel.. I have had no issues with the bezel. It is very sensitive so be very clear with your presses or your touch and scroll, I'm finding it easy to use and practice makes perfect. I do lock the bezel on runs to show my key data Time, Pace, Distance.

GPS..The GPS was very quick to acquire satellites, under 2 minutes on the first test at Exeter, Devon. On runs it again had no problems acquiring or tracking my location

I downloaded the Garmin Training Centre software and have paired the 410 with my Mac without too much stress. Data has transferred automatically when I'm in range, though I tend not to leave the Ant stick connected to my laptop (being mobile a lot) but once i plug it I choose to "Force Send" on the 410 to transfer immediately.

I have not used the Heart Rate sensor yet and I will update this review once I have.

Overall..after a couple of days of use I am still a very satisfied customer. Word of advice.. Read the manual first, Fully charge the unit before you play with it and the rest is childs play!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 189 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good mid-range GPS watch with some powerful features for serious runners, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Vinson (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
All in all I have been impressed with the Forerunner 410 and think that it has some very powerful features, although it does have a couple of annoyances which I will explain in my review below.

What's in the box?

The box contains the following items:

Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS watch
USB charger with multiple plug adapters for UK, US, Europe
USB cable with charging clip
Heart rate monitor module
Electrode strap (to which you attach the HR module)
USB ANT Stick (for wirelessly syncing the watch to your PC)
2 x velco wrist straps (including some additional links and a tool to attach these to the watch)
A quick start manual (both in multiple languages and on CD-ROM)
Operating manual (CD-ROM only)

Main features

The Garmin Forerunner 410 comes with a number of features that you would expect for a mid range GPS running watch (apart from simply telling the time!):

Virtual Partner: Before or during your run, you can configure a virtual partner to run at a particular pace or speed. Once set, you effectively race your virtual partner and feedback is provided on whether you are ahead or behind and by how far. This is a great feature to motivate you to run at a target pace during your run or bike ride.

Workouts: You can create three different types of workout on your Forerunner 410:

Simple Run for a specified time, distance or number of calories
Interval Run for a specified time or distance, rest for a specified time or distance, repeat for a specified number of times
Heart Rate Run at an intensity as specified by a heart rate zone or beats per minute. The time and distance is set as per the simple workout

Advanced workouts can be configured through the device's companion web based analysis tool - Garmin Connect - and allows you to configure combinations of simple, interval and heart rate workouts into one single workout.

Courses: Through the Garmin Connect website, you can create custom courses with location markers to track progress. These courses can be uploaded to the device and can be selected when you go for a run or bike ride. As you run or cycle the course, the device will track your progress and will help you navigate back onto the correct route should you stray off course. You can also run against your virtual partner whilst following a course.

Location Marking / `Back To The Start': If you are starting your run or cycle ride from an unfamiliar location, you can save the start point to the device and, should you get lost, you can navigate back to this point using the arrows on the display. You can also set location markers at intermediate points during your training session to help you find your way should you get lost.

Wireless Sync: The USB ANT stick supplied with the Garmin Forerunner 410 enables wireless sync both to and from the device and your PC. You can download all saved activities and associated data from the device whilst also being able to upload goals, courses and location markers from Garmin Connect via your PC.

Goal Setting: Through Garmin Connect, you can create your own goals such as 5km, 10km, half marathon and marathon (or any time or distance goal you like) and send these to your device to allow you to track progress against them.

Custom Data Fields: The device can be configured with up to three training pages which can be cycled through as you run or cycle. Each training page can be configured with a wide range of different data fields such as elevation, grade, average heart rate, laps completed and average time to complete a lap.

Garmin Connect: Data from the device can be uploaded to Garmin's web based training analysis tool - Garmin Connect. This is a very comprehensive analysis and general health tracking website which will store all your activities, display routes on Google and Bing maps, break down activities to show elevation, heart rate, pace and speed trends, allow you to create custom goals and courses and provides many different options to export your activities such as embedding in a web page (see below), sending to a friend via email and posting to Facebook and Twitter.

Sport Mode: The sport mode can be changed from the default of running to cycling and a separate bike mount accessory can be bought to allow you to attach the device to your bike.

Auto Pause: The device will automatically pause the timer when it detects a drop in speed below a specified level or when you actually stop. This is handy if you are running or biking on the street and you would like to pause your activity whilst waiting for traffic lights (or just because you need to stop!).

Auto Lap: Auto lap allows you to specify a GPS point or a particular distance at which you would like to track lap times. For example, you can press the lap button at any point of your run and if you pass that point again, the device will mark this as a completed lap. You can also use Garmin Connect to create a course with specific lap markers and upload this to the device.

Auto Scroll: The device will scroll through each training data page while you are running or cycling so you can see how you are performing without having to press any buttons.

Power Save: The device will automatically go into power save mode (displaying date and time only) after a period of inactivity (when not in training mode).

Training History: The device will automatically store your training data whenever the timer is running and can store around 20 hours of detailed tracking data. Once you sync the device with Garmin Connect, the history is permanently saved online allowing you to delete the data from the device.

Review

General Operation

The first aspect of the Garmin Forerunner 410 to get to grips with is the touch interface. The bezel around the face of the watch is used to navigate through menus and to select options.

A tap on the bezel is used to make a selection, toggle menu options and change pages. Holding down on one of the four areas - date / time, training, menu and GPS - will take you into the specified mode. Dragging your finger around the bezel is used to scroll through menu options and to increase or decrease values such as times and distances. Finally, holding down two fingers anywhere on the bezel will turn on the backlight.

In theory, this is quite a nice way of navigating around the options and bridges the gap between touching the screen (found on more expensive devices such as the Garmin Forerunner 610) and simply pressing buttons to make choices (a little bit old school).

In practice, navigating around the options using the bezel is a little hit and miss. Sometimes the watch will register a press or long hold correctly, other times it will not do anything. There is always the temptation to use two fingers to steady your hand as you move through the settings which causes the watch to get confused and either stops navigating or turns the backlight on.

After using a smartphone for a number of years, I have been spoilt by how little effort is required to move through the phone interface using a finger. In comparison, the Forerunner 410 is a bit of a blast from the past and takes a bit of getting used to. After a while, you get used to the slightly clunky navigation technique and realise that you have to be really deliberate about the use of your finger on the bezel.

The menu structure can also be a little difficult to get your head around. Once you get down to a certain level in the structure by tapping the bezel, another tap on the bezel takes you back up to the previous menu option which is signified by whether the display moves to the right or the left when you tap. Again, this takes a while to get used to and can lead to multiple corrective taps of the bezel before you finally get to where you want to be.

Perhaps the most frustrating element of the touch interface is scrolling through values using the `hold and drag finger' technique. The Forerunner 410 seems to take a while before it realises that you are dragging your finger which leads you to think that you aren't pressing hard enough. Inevitably, you take your finger off and put it back on the bezel, at which point the watch thinks that you have tapped or held the bezel and either moves to a different menu option, or sets the value before you had finished increasing or decreasing it.

Once you have mastered the touch interface and the menu structure, the Forerunner 410 is generally quite straightforward to use and the simple, interval and heart rate workout options will be adequate for the vast majority of runners and cyclists. If you are looking to simply start and stop the timer manually, this can be achieved within a single bezel hold on training and then pressing the start/stop button.

Interval training is probably the most involved activity to set up as you have to choose how far or long you want to run for followed by how far or long you want to rest for. On average, I found that setting up an interval training workout took around 3 to 5 minutes.

Display

The Forerunner 410 features a 27mm x 20mm LCD display which is clear and easy to read while you are training. The backlight is a useful feature when you are training in times of low light or darkness.

Locating Satellites

Before you start out on your run or cycle ride, the watch must locate the GPS satellites it will use to track your route. Sometimes, the Forerunner 410 can find the satellites almost instantly although generally it can take a little while, especially if you have just stepped outside or are near a tall building. The longest I have had to wait has been around 2 to 3 minutes which I think is acceptable especially if you use this time to warm up or stretch before you begin.

So far, I have not had any problems with the device losing a connection to the satellites whilst training or calculating my location incorrectly.

Conveniently, the date and time is set automatically when the device connects to the satellites saving you lots of additional presses and pushes of the bezel and other buttons.

Charging and Battery Life

The Forerunner 410 is charged via a clip with two electrodes which align to two recessed metal contacts on the rear of the watch face. It can be a little tricky to align the electrodes and the contacts up but no more so than aligning a mini USB connector into a port which I guess would be the alternative. The charging clip is USB powered so can be connected to a PC to charge if you don't have the adapter handy.

In terms of battery life, the official statistics from Garmin are that the Forerunner 410 will last for 8 hours in training mode (i.e. GPS enabled) or 20 hours in standard mode (displaying the date and time and using any other non-training functions such as viewing activity history).

Whilst I have never let the battery completely drain (I would hate for the watch to die when I was on a long run) my experience is that the device will last for 4 - 5 runs of around one hour duration per run before the battery indicator shows 10% remaining. For runners who are training 3 to 5 times per week, the battery life should not be a problem as long as you build the charging of the Forerunner 410 into your training regime.

Heart Rate Monitor

I purchased the Forerunner 410 with the heart rate monitor option to allow me to track fitness through heart rate zoning and BPM. The heart rate monitor strap is fully adjustable and very comfortable to wear. Once you have adjusted it correctly, you can barely feel that you are wearing it. While you are training, you can either set the device to scroll through the data pages and display your current heart rate, or you can tap the bezel to get a reading.

Wireless sync and Garmin Connect

The supplied USB ANT stick is used to connect wirelessly to the device from your PC. Getting the drivers installed for the ANT stick is fairly easy. The same cannot be said for the Garmin Connect software which requires multiple browser plugin installations and account registration at connect.garmin.com.

Eventually, I managed to get it all working and now, magically, every time I connect the USB ANT stick to my PC and make sure the device is close by, it automatically connects and syncs my data to Garmin Connect and, so far, it has worked flawlessly every time.

Garmin Connect is the companion activity tracking and data analysis website used to store and analyse all the data from the Forerunner 410. To say it is fully featured is an understatement and going through all the features will take far too long for inclusion in this post. Even for the serious runner, Garmin Connect provides more information than you could possibly know what to do with.

Garmin Connect tracks obvious data like distance, time, calories, pace, speed and elevation. It maps your activities using Google and Bing Maps. It provides information on your lap times and splits and provides charts of your heart rate, pace and elevation during your activity. You can also create your own custom courses, workouts and goals and send these to the device. You can export your activities to social networking sites or embed in a webpage as I have done below:

If you are familiar with other activity tracking websites such as Nike+ and Runkeeper then you shouldn't have any problems in navigating and using Garmin Connect. If you are new to tracking your activities and analysing the data then you make find the wealth of information a little daunting at first.

Round Up

All in all, I am pleased with my purchase of the Garmin Forerunner 410. The display is large and clear and generally the device feels solidly built. The heart rate monitor is very comfortable to wear providing additional data to help you track your fitness on top of splits.

Once you have overcome the rather clunky bezel touch interface, the Forerunner 410 provides some really good features which should satisfy even the most serious runners. The wireless sync is a welcome feature meaning you don't have to go around hunting for a USB cable in order to sync with the device.

The battery life is sufficient for an average running week and the USB charger is handy if you want to go for a quick run after work and don't want to take the full charging kit.

Garmin Connect is fully featured providing lots of information to analyse and monitor your progress towards your goals. If you have a very advanced training plan, setting this up in Garmin Connect and syncing to the device is probably going to take you a little bit of time but shouldn't be overly onerous.

Pros, Cons and Verdict

Pros

Solid build with large display
Decent battery life
Flexible workouts
Reliable connectivity to satellites
Wireless sync

Cons

Clunky bezel `touch' operation
Sometimes confusing menu structure

Verdict

A good mid-range GPS watch with some powerful features for serious runners. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


254 of 262 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Fantastic Gadget, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Graham Mccarthy "gmccarthy15" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
The Garmin Forerunner 410 is the replacement for the Garmin Forerunner 405 and Garmin Forerunner 405CX and as in this respect is a second generation device. The Forerunner 405 was almost a great device, small enough to be used as an everyday watch and a fully functional GPS runner's tool, but when the reviews started trickling in it became clear that it had a major problem, the sleek touch sensitive (iPod like) bezel didn't work too well when it became wet (with rain or sweat). The Forerunner 410 looks and works much the same as the Forerunner 405 but the troublesome bezel is now much improved.

The Forerunner 410 is primarily a runner's watch with just enough features to make it useful to cyclists; it's not really suited for the tri-athlete for several reasons. Garmin states that the Forerunner 410 is rated at IPX7, this means that it has been tested and found to be water resistant at a depth of one metre for 30 minutes. The GPS signal does not penetrate water so will not work anyway and the Heart Rate Monitor will not work in water.

The Forerunner 410 came with no charge at all in the battery, but charging is quick and simple; it was fully charged after about 2 hours. With the GPS enabled the battery will last up to 8 hours; this is borne out by experience. One improvement over the earlier Forerunner 405 is that you can now disable the GPS function and this extends battery life to around a week (apparently).

The Forerunner 410 has three available screens to view and each can be configured to display 1,2 or 3 of the 35 available data fields. Three of the 35 data fields will require the additional foot-pod for cadence information and a further eight fields will require the optional heart rate monitor. The Foot Pod is useful for capturing cadence (steps per minute) and for distance/speed when no GPS signal is available (in the gym and on the treadmill). The heart rate monitor strap is worth the investment and provides a wealth of additional data.

The GPS facility is excellent, it typically picks up the GPS signal well within one minute and so far it hasn't lost it. Tracking appears to be very accurate, typically within a few metres of the actual distance run. The elevation calculation can be a little vague (this is not the fault of the watch but a result of how GPS calculates elevation) but even this seems to tally on the Forerunner 410.

One of the most useful features is the Virtual Partner, this enables you to set a target pace for your virtual partner and track progress against him/her on your run. This is a fantastic feature for pacing yourself, especially in a race when it's so easy to start too quickly. It's easy to switch between the Virtual Partner page and the data pages on the watch by simply tapping the bezel. I've tried this in the rain and deep into a run with sweaty hands with no problem. I've even tried it with gloves on and it worked fine. The display can also be locked to prevent accidental activation.

The PC software setup was simplicity itself (I use Windows XP) and the watch automatically downloads the run data as soon as it's within range of the USB antenna (about 3 metres). The GarminConnect web site is free and gives a very good analysis of the data. It will show the route you took, heart-rate, speed, elevation and cadence and will even animate it to show all the readings as you ran - really impressive. There is also some free software available on the web (Sports Tracks 3.0) that is compatible with the Garmin 410 and that enables you to analyse the data still further.

The Garmin 410 is a really impressive piece of equipment and now that the bezel issues appear to have been largely fixed is definitely worth getting if you're a runner. If you're more of a Tri-athlete I may be tempted to go for the Garmin Forerunner 310XT as a more suitable device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 14 Mar. 2012
By 
M. Jolly "Jollyoldm" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
At the current price of circa £160/£170 this is great value. Forget the comments about the bezel you will master it. Just look at the price between the 210 and 410 - you are getting so much more for your money with the 410. I love the heart rate monitor but I am in my 40s and just found running. I never thought I could run a mile let alone 10 or 15 miles. The Forerunner 410 has helped me push myself and set speeds, distances and work outs I could have only dreamed of. Thank you Amazon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good unit, 14 Mar. 2012
By 
_andy (South Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
This is the third Garmin unit I have purchased, this time specifically for running.

Much like my previous two units, the functionality of the 410 is in my opinion amazing for its size. It locks onto GPS quickly, is accurate, stylish and not too heavy. I bought it with the premium heart rate monitor which is much more comfortable than the older style and works well. The battery seems to last for about 7 hours but is enough for my needs.

My only criticism is the bezel control. I know that the 410 has an improved bezel over the older 405 however I still find it fiddly to operate and often end up selecing options instead of scrolling past them which is really annoying.

Because of that, it drops a star. The unit is easy to charge, the wireless data transfer works like a charm and the ability to customise the display is superb. The training options including virtual partner, auto lap and auto pause are fabulous and I really like being able to keep track of my current pace as I run.

I also got it at an amazing price (150 quid) on amazon so was really pleased as it came with ANT+ stick, Premium HR monitor, spare flexible wrist straps and the charging unit and lead.

Overall, a great bit of kit, the bezel is a slight let down but I can put up with it for the other plus points. In my opinion Garmin makes the best GPS integrated units on the market (although their customer service could do with some improvment!).

I should note that I have yet to try this unit in the wet so cannot comment on the bezel functionality with rain and wet sleeves rubbing on it, however the unit has the option to lock the bezel when in use so I cannot see this being a major problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS... it's OK, 18 April 2012
By 
Paul Johnson (Lichfield, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
In summary, this product is just OK. Not bad, but not something you can rave about. It's the first GPS watch I've ever owned so had done a fair bit of research before purchasing. From this I knew it wasn't perfect (but neither was the competition), but was sure I could overcome any issues raised by previous buyers and learn to love it.

However, in all honesty I find it pretty frustrating. Using the bezel to navigate between menu's has been known to raise my blood pressure slightly, with it seeming to skip around to any menu/screen it wants except the one I'm trying to get to. This doesn't always happen but I'd say around 25% of the time. I also think the screens are not that logically set out, so if you do choose to buy be prepared to spend a fair amount of time wondering what the hell is going on.

The Garmin web access/watch-sync also took a few attempts to sort, but finally I seem to have overcome the demons.

On a plus side it's a good size, comfortable to wear, good price, and the data shown on the Garmin website is great. I would hope Garmin understand the issues regarding the unresponsive bezel, strange menu formats and look to improve in the future. In hindsight I would buy something else, but for now I'll continue the love/hate relationship I have with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch for Runners, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
I have been running on and off for about a year now and always used the Nike+ app on my iPhone with a Nike+ footpod. This worked really well, but as I have got more serious (now training for a marathon), the features of Nike+ just aren't enough and the battery on the iPhone just not good enough for a long run.

So, after a bit of research I decided to get a heart rate monitor watch and settled on Garmin as I had heard a lot of good things about the brand.

I was actually considering the 610 but found the 410 on offer on Amazon which at the time made it almost £100 cheaper with only a few features (which I arguably wouldn't use) which were different.

It's my first heart rate monitor so nothing else to compare it too, but having been using for a few months now I am very impressed.

First the physical side of things:

The heart rate chest strap is very comfortable and once on I don't even notice I am wearing it, even on a long run. The actual sensor itself clips to the chest strap with press studs so it can be removed and the strap can be washed which is good as it does get quite sweaty! The sensor is attached very firmly and I have no concerns that it may detach.

The watch itself is well built and feels very solid. It comes with a plastic/rubber-type strap already attached which I have been using and is very comfortable. Also in the box is a fabric/velcro wrist strap and a small screwdriver to allow you to swap them over. I find that my wrist behind the watch gets quite sweaty but this is going to be the case with any watch when exercising.

Not a huge fan of the charging system. It is a clip (like a peg almost) which clips over the watch and has two small pins which go into two small holes on the rear of the watch to charge it. Although this works fine and I have never had a problem, it doesn't feel very well attached to the watch and I find myself being over-careful how I place the watch when on charge as I worry it may unclip itself. I am always careful to wipe the back of the watch when taking off as well as I assume any sweat not wiped off could ultimately corrode the charge points - no sign of any problems to date but something to be careful of. The charge cable is a USB cable and is very small and compact so easy to carry when travelling. It comes with a USB plug as well but if you have a few gadgets like I do then you probably already have a few of these around.

The bezel - I read many reviews about this watch and quite a few were negative about the touch-sensitive bezel. Personally, after a couple of minutes of getting use to this I have had no problems. I have not used the watch in the rain so cannot comment on how it performs when wet.

So the features:

This watch has a lot of features that I will probably never use, so I can only comment on the ones I use.

When not being used it is a perfectly acceptable watch, showing time and date.

In any mode the screen can be illuminated by tapping the bezel at the top and bottom. This lights up the screen in a very bright blue light, which works very well.

The watch was very quick and easy to link to the heart rate monitor. When not being used it drops this connection, but is very quick to reconnect as soon as you activate the watch when the heart rate monitor is in range.

I have also purchased the Garmin Foot Pod which is the same size and shape as the Nike+ one so fits in my running shoes. This also connects to the watch and provides cadence information and allows the watch to calculate speed when indoors (on the treadmill for example). The Foot Pod cost about £40 so quite expensive but does the job well.

The display can be customised to display a number of pieces of information to suit your own personal needs. There are three screens (a tap of the bezel switches between them) and you can have 1, 2 or all 3 in use. Each screen can have 3 pieces of information on - 1 displayed large and 2 underneath it smaller. There is far too much information to list here but grab the PDF manual from the Garmin site if you want to see before you buy.

The virtual racer feature is quite good for seeing how you are getting on. I am training for a marathon and for a particular pace, so set the virtual racer for my target pace and then as I go can see whether I am ahead or behind the target pace and by how much (minutes and seconds).

Battery life is estimated to be about 8 hours with GPS activated. I have used it with heart rate monitor, foot pod and GPS all in use and it uses about 20% every 1 hour 45 minutes, so it is actually a little better than estimated in my experience.

GPS works well. The time it takes to lock onto GPS can be a little slow but this does vary depending on how long since you last used it and how much sky you can see. This is fairly similar to most GPS devices. You can connect it to the computer and download the GPS Quick Fix data and upload it to the watch but I have never done this so don't know how well it works. Never had it lose the GPS fix except when indoors (popping into a shop for example) but it locks on almost immediately when back in the open.

The watch uploads its data to the Garmin Connect website by a small Ant+ USB dongle which you have to plug into your computer. It's about the same size as the average USB memory stick. It's a shame it doesn't have Wi-Fi built in to connect directly to the internet but I guess that would impact the physical size and battery consumption.

The Garmin Connect website is a free to sign up to and use and is a really good training tool. You can see all the data about your run at every point of your run. If you have used GPS it will show you a map (choose between Bing or Google, standard or satellite) with your run plotted on it. Everything from heart rate, timing, elevation, cadence (if you use the foot pod), laps and much more is displayed. You can also compare one run to another and play them through to see how you performed at a particular time/place. Finally, the data can be exported to

To sum up, it's a great watch for runners and has a lot more potential than I use it for (read about them all in the specs) but after a few months I am very impressed and glad I purchased this one.

I have knocked off a star for the charging system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 210 or 410?, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. S. Daltrey (Chester, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
After some pain staking research into HRM/GPS watches (reading all the reviews, including DC Rainmaker) I was still completely undecided between the 210 and 410. With only a tenner between them, price wasn't the issue, however the reviews seemed to indicate that although the 410 offered more functionality, the touch bezel (although improved since the 405) made it more difficult to use. I was so undecided that I ordered both. After running through the manuals and playing with both, to me there's no contest - the 410 wins hands down and here's why:

1. It has changeable fields (you can set your own preference on the data you want and it's not complicated. This is particularly useful if you plan to use the device for cycling.
2. You can transfer data remotely using the ANT USB devise provided and the charger is a two pin connection instead of the 5 pin, IMO more difficult to use connector that comes with the 210.
3. It looks better, comes with changeable straps and seems more solid - the 210 strap is completely integrated with the watch case and seems rather flimsy IMO.
4. The touch bezel takes a little getting used to, but all the set up is done pre-run and cycle, you can lock the bezel and auto scroll through the 4 data screens or switch screens with a tap of the bezel. Having tried both, the touch bezel really isn't an issue.
5. You can shut the GPS down manually with the 410, which allows you to go into power save mode immediately following your run/cycle.
6. The 410 has the Virtual Partner option, which enables you set a target pace or course and race against it - great if you're looking for some additional motivation or to improve PB. I've not raced yet but if participating in a set distance run where the temptation is to start too quickly, his will no doubt prove invaluable.

Finally, I've had the 410 well over a month now and I can honestly say it's been excellent. Satellite fix is rapid and secure whilst the battery lasts well (at least a week for me and thats using it most days). The premium heart rate strap that came with the watch is very comfortable and connects immediately without issue. If you're looking for some motivation and great training tool, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS & HRM review, 2 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
I have now owned my Garmin 410 for 3-4 weeks, in which time I have used it 11 times. I only use it when running, not cycling (yet). For info - My runs tend to be a mix of on/off road and not tracks. They will range from 1.5 - 13.1 miles.

Overall, I am very happy with my watch, however, I haven't awarded it 5 stars as I've found the satelite accuracy not to be 100% perfect. I have run the same route 3 times, followed the same line of running but have had varying results. The differences have only been out by 0.05 of a mile over a 6.75 mile distance so nothing too bad. I have also experienced temporary loss of satelite during a recent run, though the weather was quite overcast so this may have caused the problem. Otherwise it's been pretty reliable. It picks up satelites quickly too, which is great.

Before I purchased the watch I read lots of reviews and was a little worried about the bezel facility and I agree it can be difficult to use and definitely requires some revision. That said, it works and I can use it, though it can be fiddly.

The options available on the 410 are impressive and quite vast. They have certainly encouraged me to run more and run faster, which can be a good thing as well as bad!

I charged to Forerunner up once it arrived (8hrs approx) and used it with Satelites on for 1hr 30 mins, leaving plenty of battery life left. I tend to charge my 410 once a week and it seems to last long enough for me. It's not died on me yet during a run!

Once you've completed your circuit, you can plug the ANT tool into your USB and transfer all the data you have just recorded across to your Laptop. Your watch will need to be held close to the ANT stick for it to transfer the data. The results will be uploaded to the Garmin connect site, where you can spend hours looking at all the data from your run.

I would definitely recommend the Foreunner 410 to other runners, it is a great piece of kit that impresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like the watch but the bezel control can be frustrating, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor (Electronics)
This is my first HRM watch and I'm not a serious athlete, just an older woman trying to lose weight and get fit in the process.

I use the watch for gym sessions with the GPS switched off and also for hikes of up to 12 miles. I particularly like it for the hikes to be able to see what my heart rate was at particular parts of a hike. Also for routes I do regularly, being able to compare my times. The software gives good feedback and it is satisfying to see the route on the map with calories burned etc.

I found the set up ok to do, but as I wasn't familiar with the bezel I made mistakes and had to go into the menu to reset those things. The bezel isn't the easiest thing to use and yes, you do get used to it, but it still is frustrating for me sometimes.

The heart rate strap is very comfortable and I can sometimes forget I have it on. I quickly learned how important it is to lock the bezel before starting a workout as the bezel can get knocked (and a setting changed) very easily.

Overall I am satisfied with the watch. I need to sit down and learn to use some of the other functions, just haven't made time yet. It was worth spending time with the manual at the start, something I normally don't do unless I can't get something to work on my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garmin Forerunner 410 GPS Sportswatch with Heart Rate Monitor
£159.95
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews