Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget but Fantastic viewing
I had high hopes for this film, i had always hoped they would make a movie from the book i enjoyed so much when i was younger.

From the start you knew this was not going to be a high-budget Hollywood film and that worried me, slightly. Especially as the first 5 mins seemed a bit 'arty' like Bronson was. Panic set in.

Those 5 mins soon vanished and it...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by Darren Lawrence

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid biopic, but nothing amazing
Mr Nice is a biopic of the life of convicted-drug smuggler Howard Marks (played by Rhys Ifans - Notting Hill). The film chronicles his origins, education, love-life and, most importantly, how he fell into the life of an importer of illicit substances.

Rhys Ifans was practically born to play this role, the height, the accent and mannerisms are all spot on to...
Published on 28 Feb 2011 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid biopic, but nothing amazing, 28 Feb 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
Mr Nice is a biopic of the life of convicted-drug smuggler Howard Marks (played by Rhys Ifans - Notting Hill). The film chronicles his origins, education, love-life and, most importantly, how he fell into the life of an importer of illicit substances.

Rhys Ifans was practically born to play this role, the height, the accent and mannerisms are all spot on to Howard Marks (a welshman himself) and many times behind the dark glasses and long hair it's difficult to tell the actor from the man. The story is well directed, giving us enough of Marks' back story to understand his mindset and the choices he makes without getting bogged down in the minute detail. This is a truly picturesque cinematic experience, as we see Howard travel from his hometown in Wales, to his College in Oxford and as far around the world as Afghanistan to source his merchandise. When this is thrown in with IRA contacts and MI6 agents it makes for one extremely interesting tale that, regardless of your stance on drugs, you will end up willing Howard to come up smiling. ChloŽ Sevigny (Barry Munday) deserves a special mention for her brilliant rendition of Mark's wife and David Thewliss plays the quasi-insane IRA contact Jim McCann with great flair.

Where this film loses a star is making Rhys Ifans play Howard Marks at 17-21 which just looked ridiculous as Rhys Ifans really cannot get away with playing a character that young. What also lets the film down is the awful CGI of 1970's London that Ifans has been superimposed over. Even the grainy 'stock-footage' filter they lay over the top can't disguise how bad the CGI is and this is extremely obvious on Blu-Ray. Still, the desert scenes in Afghanistan are well shot and stunningly crisp so this isn't a problem that persists through the film.

There is a director's commentary and a couple of interviews with the Cast but it's really nothing special.

A really interesting biography of a man that has lived a very interesting - if illegal - life. Certainly one to make you think, recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget but Fantastic viewing, 8 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Mr Nice [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had high hopes for this film, i had always hoped they would make a movie from the book i enjoyed so much when i was younger.

From the start you knew this was not going to be a high-budget Hollywood film and that worried me, slightly. Especially as the first 5 mins seemed a bit 'arty' like Bronson was. Panic set in.

Those 5 mins soon vanished and it turned into a fantastic film. D

irection was great, the old footage with a Rhys Ifans superimposed over worked well, and although a bit OTT in parts was a great 120 mins.

I would recommend to all film lovers.

Over and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine tribute to an incredible man life., 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
Howard Marks is a legend amongst fraudsters and narcotics dealers alike. This film perfectly captures the maverick business man and his outrageous life. It opens in monochrome turning to colour when Howard smokes his first spliff as an undergraduate. Howard Marks is played by Rhys Ifans , who plays Marks as a charming, raffish boyo from the Welsh valleys. The film is a lighthearted, amoral comedy thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling indie movie, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
I'll try to keep this review as short as possible.

I had read MR Nice the book, and when I saw this had a (limited) cinema run, I jumped at the chance to watch it.

Overral I thought the film was great. Many reviews have said that the film had "bad special effects" etc. This was an independent film on a low budget. It's not Die Hard. The story was well told, if not slightly compressed, as is mostly the case when transitioning book to film. Rhys ifans played his part very well and was clearly familiar with the character. I found the film both compelling and hilarious, but at times very dark and grim.

I very much enjoyed this film, and the only reason I have four stars is because the film wasn't long enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mr Nice [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When i finished reading mr nice many years ago i was wandering when they would make the movie of it,then when i read senor nice i found out Rhys was going to be playing the role, then when i saw the trailer i became overly excited for the movie, and then i waited...and waited...and waited over a year and a half for them to release the full movie, i even saw it at the cinema which is rare for me.

The movie starts well with a brief recap of howards early life, getting into university, his first experience of marijuana, then they progress very quickly on to his career as a hashish smuggler.

The movie does miss out alot of his experiences, that would have made a great directors cut, but the blu ray only has 2 deleted scenes, but i understand that they cant fit the entire life of a man in a 2 hour movie, so i wont complain,

The movie is very entertaining and worth a watch to anyone who has or hasnt read the book, its a great tribute to a national hero,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, 6 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
I HAVE JUST FINISHED WATCHING THE FILM MR NICE, I HAVE TO SAY IT WAS PURE BRILLANCE, I LOVE RHYS IFANS ANYWAY, SO I AM BIASED BUT HE WAS PURE GENIUS, AND VERY TASTY LOOKING, THE ACTING I THINK WAS BRILL, I DIDNT WANT TO LEAVE THE FILM FOR A SECOND, I WOULD RECOMMEND IT ALL THE WAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommendation, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
Everything as promised. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings a smile, 25 Jun 2014
By 
J. Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
OK it's not the book, but very few films are, and this one somehow captures the essence of Mark's 'highs', lows, and his oddly inspiring life. This film makes me want to go travelling ... and do something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Nice [DVD] (DVD)
Favourite film ever, great quality. Loved the story line in the film to was absolutely outstanding to watch at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nicey Nicey, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: Mr. Nice (DVD)
Enjoyable enough film with some good performances, but the subject matter of criminals doing illegal stuff, does nothing for me personally. The tenor of the piece seems to be that soft drugs are an expression of personal freedom and don't do any real harm, so Mr. Marks was some kind of freedom fighter. Well, your personal view is your own, but that argument does nothing for me. The law should not be made by individuals as it suits there own purpose and wonts. I dare say that may be Mr. Marks' view, but the film could be let off the hook on the defense that it is just putting the book up on the screen, which I am prepared to believe. Rhys Ifans is a charismatic presence, as ever, although David Thewlis steals their scenes in great style, ChloŽ Sevigny however, does not have a great deal to do. Fair enough diversion for an evening, but there are better 'drug' movies and better biopics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Nice [DVD]
Mr Nice [DVD] by Rhys Ifans (DVD - 2011)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews