Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shock! Horror! A film aimed at pre-teens that adults will like
I took my eight year old son and 12 year old niece to see this film at the cinema. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it however it was Halloween and I thought I would give them both a treat.
As The Hole is marketed at a younger audience, I thought it may come across as silly and perhaps a little patronising. Thankfully the writer and director have credited their audience...
Published on 9 Dec. 2010 by Lola Creole

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun 80's adventure style family movie
Let's get this out of the way first: as far as characters go, this is every film aimed at young teens or children you've ever seen. Big brother is devoted to little brother but spends most of the film pretending he hates him. Little brother is a touch weird and gets into lots of mischief. Headstrong girl next door that big brother fancies decides to get involved in their...
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun 80's adventure style family movie, 18 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Hole [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Let's get this out of the way first: as far as characters go, this is every film aimed at young teens or children you've ever seen. Big brother is devoted to little brother but spends most of the film pretending he hates him. Little brother is a touch weird and gets into lots of mischief. Headstrong girl next door that big brother fancies decides to get involved in their capers. Mom is too busy to notice anything going on.
Got that? OK. So far so standard.
The amusing hook of this film is that the new home they've just moved into has a hatch in the floor that may or may not be a gateway to hell, and once opened, weird and creepy things start happening.
These aren't too creepy or gruesome - after all, this is a family movie - but any kids with a clown phobia will have an amusing time, and there are some smart shocks with traps, creepy near escapes, and some funny gags where the kids have to try to explain why they're acting strangely to Mom.
Like Gremlins in style and pacing due to the same director Joe Dante's talented hand, this isn;t quite as much of a classic but does have a lot of fun performances and many entertaining set pieces. And if it does feel a bit patronising with its cod-psychology here and there, the inventive design, caper-film feel and exciting ending still make it one that's worth watching. Fun and nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shock! Horror! A film aimed at pre-teens that adults will like, 9 Dec. 2010
By 
Lola Creole (London,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hole [DVD] (DVD)
I took my eight year old son and 12 year old niece to see this film at the cinema. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it however it was Halloween and I thought I would give them both a treat.
As The Hole is marketed at a younger audience, I thought it may come across as silly and perhaps a little patronising. Thankfully the writer and director have credited their audience with having a brain and have created a film that is intelligent, well written, atmospheric, suspenseful and more than a little bit creepy.
The special effects were impressive, the actors believable and the `scares' well conceived. I was pleasantly surprised or should that be un-pleasantly surprised given what this film's about. It even made me jump once or twice and, as anyone who knows me can confirm, that doesn't happen often.
Whether or not this film should be a 12A I couldn't say. Strangely enough, my son (eight) loved the film and didn't find it scary whereas my niece (12) was scared out of her wits and remained so long after the film ended. I suppose it depends on the individual. Perhaps mum or dad could watch it first and decide whether it's the stuff of nightmares.
This mum's view - Thoroughly entertaining and well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holey - exciting!!!!!!, 12 July 2011
By 
Tracy Davies (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hole (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
I only bought this because it was in 3D and I've just bought 3D tv, I didn't really expect too much.
It's a classic storyline to begin, they move into a new house, find something in the celler etc........its rated 12, so not that scary, seen it all before..... Wrong.
The little girl, the clown, the policeman. The way they slither into the box, the dad, this was a really good film, good story line, fantastic 3D experience. If i hadn't know it was a 12, i'd have thought it was a 15 or 18 classification.
You'll find yourself shouting, omg don't go into the cellar, pool, bedroom and wanting to look away, but not being able to tear your eyes away.
Fantastic film, definitely worth buying. This is a definate 5 star movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the idiot who gave it 1 star. This is a FANTASTIC 3D EXPERIENCE!!!, 20 Jun. 2011
By 
C. Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hole (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
You may be a bit confused over which review to believe. But for all of those who still have faith in the world I advise you to completely ignore the previous reviewers comment and listen to this (my Blu-ray.com review)

'The Hole' is actually a pretty decent film. I wasn't expecting much from it, but boy did it deliver. Going into this expecting another run-of-the-mill kids film I discovered that it was much more than that, much more of a dark, disjointed, psychological thriller, with some disturbing images such as a little dead girl crying tears of bloody and crawling down a hole akin to something from 'The Grudge' or a policeman lacking the back of his head.

The picture quality, especially the 3D, holds up well, and the color palette is very vibrant, even whilst viewing in 3D mode. Watching the movie in 3D is a whole new level of entertainment, and it is one of the best discs out there for lack of crosstalk (which is only a slight problem in about one or two shots of the whole film - if that) So I would definitely recommend that if you are looking for another 3D movie that was natively shot in 3D, has a great depth to it (that completely adds to the films immersive experience) and practically no crosstalk then go for this, you will not be disappointed.

Overall not only was this a great film, but this is a great disc, the extras may be lacking and feel a bit too much like promotional material but the 3D on the disc is vastly superior to a lot of other discs out at the moment, and is definitely demo-disc material worthy. I would probably place this 3D disc just behind Avatar in terms of depth and quality, but way above lacklusture 3D titles such as Piranha or Clash of the Titans.

So, anyone who shares my opinion please take the time to review this and get it up to the (at least) 4 stars it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hole [DVD] (DVD)
I Really enjoyed this movie , creepy scenes with a dark storyline no matter if your a teenager or adult you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family friendly spine tingler, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hole [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
How satisfying... clearly, the film has a younger generation in mind, with the main protagonists being of teen and pre-teen age.. and yet, this is a film that has appeal for all ages. Indeed, as it says on the tin, a family movie. One would almost be tempted to say that this has an old fashioned appeal to it, a pre-torture porn innocence in its horror motifs.. a Gremlins [Blu-ray] [1984][Region Free] for a new generation. How fitting that this is the return of Joe Dante to the big screen.
It's a deceptively slender tale - the titular hole is discovered, suitable padlocked and sinister, in the basement of the house our young heroes have just moved in to. With the (literal and figurative) girl next door, the hole is unlocked - and darkness enters their lives, as they start to face their inner fears. This leads to some genuinely spine tingling moments, and occasional spooky scares. Creepy limping girls and manic puppet clowns are just the start...
The final act has little surprises in store, and does not entirely live up to the nicely paced and tension generating build up, but still manages some intriguing and expressionistic ideas which presumably made the 3D worthwhile in the cinema. On the smaller screen these tend to stand out as "oh, that must have been the 3D moment" moments, in a slightly distracting way,however.
Were it not for the age of the actors on screen, I would be surprised to hear this was skewed at younger demographics.. it was satisfying enough for me as an adult, and spooky enough to appease my need for thrills. But as I look back on it, it had none of the gore that seems so de rigeur these days, and clean language as well as a surprisingly positive theme about facing fears, making it suitable for those that might otherwise blanche at the excesses of most `scary' movies. If I had kids that were getting tired of Disney and keen to sample something `more adult', they could do a lot worse than this. But don't feel you need kids to give this a whirl.. stick it on, turn it up, turn the lights down, and lose yourself in some old fashioned movie making - in a good way. I for one am glad to see Joe Dante back doing what he does best....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCARYEST FILM IV'E SEEN!!!!!!, 14 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Hole [DVD] (DVD)
The hole 3D absolutely scaed the pants off me. This film is a great taster for real horror for younger kids who like getting scared. The tension in it was unbearable. It makes you want to get out but you just can't.
In it there is a little girl who cries blood, says she doesn't want to die and walks like she is being wound up like a clock. There is also is a clown who just appears everywhere, laughs and continuously tries to kill a little boy by throwing stuff at him or trying to drown him.
The story follows Dane (Chris Mossogolia) and his liittle brother finding a hole in there basement (hense the name). It is said that when the darkness inside the hole see's you it brings your worst fears to life and they come to haunt you. There is so much tension in it. There is lots of lights going out, doors being locked and the door knobs being mysteriously turned. With the help of the girl next door, the brothers try to fight the things coming out of the hole but with nobody to help, it will be difficult.
I don't understand what on earth they were thinking when they rated this film a 12a. Ive already mentioned the girl who looks like death. There is also a policeman who looks pretty normal except for the fact he is suddenly in the house although the door is locked. But then he turns around and the back of his head was missing! This film should definately be a 15 for the reason it scares you half to death...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun movie with subtle but effective 3D, 2 Dec. 2011
By 
RexBo (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hole (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
I bought this disc because I wanted to try out my new 3D setup and it seemed like a fun movie. As a horror fan, especially the gory ones, I thought the movie disappointed as a straight-up horror movie. That's my fault for not reading reviews on IMDB. However, the movie did not disappoint as a whole because it was well-done; the story that sounds like a cliché-ridden a dime a dozen horror flick is in fact different (and better, intelligent) fare than usual. I am usually a bit apprehensive about movies where children are playing one of the lead roles because they can get annoying and dominate the movie sometimes, but in this case the little brother did an excellent job, playing his part with a great sense of humor and good acting.

On with the added value of the 3D version. 3D was subtle, hardly ever gimmicky and it really helped my immersion in the movie. I watched a bit of it in 2D because I was disappointed by the effect at first, but then I realized that 3D does add depth to this movie (duh...), not only in the literal sense but also helping you to get drawn into the story.

All in all, this is a well done movie that I would give 3 stars if it was a 2D movie, but I added one star for the effective 3D. Just don't expect a bloody horrorfest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISINGLY CREEPY, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hole [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For a 12 rating,this is creepier than i thought it would be,plus for a film i remember being laid into a little when it came out,it's not half bad.
There's these 2 brothers who are forced to move with their mother to another house,another city,for reasons given as the movie goes on. They discover a covered and padlocked hole in the basement. It seems this hole is bottomless,they capture the neighbour's interest,she's already caught the older brother's interest and they start to wonder what is with ths hole,all she knows is the previous owner of the house was a bit weird.
Now the hole has been opened,odd things start to happen,the girl sees a traumatized little girl,with a creepy and odd walk. The young lad sees a clown doll seemingly haunting him and just freaking him out. It soon becomes clear that they have to sort out the mystery of the hole before it gets the better of them.

This could be seen as a film about facing up to your fears before they manifest themselves into demons and destroy you.
Perhaps it's a little slow at times,but i'd say it's done very well,it kept my interest. Some compare it to THE GATE from years ago,it's got something of that to it,but i'd say it stands up on it's own as a teen horror of sorts. I'm far older than a teen,but i was impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Jun. 2012
By 
PAUL SMITH (CAMBS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hole (Blu-ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
This is the forth 3d film we have watched and the 3d is stunning, it works realy well, the depth is brilliant, i highly recomend, saw 3d was one of the others , it was ok, but this is far better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hole [DVD]
The Hole [DVD] by Joe Dante (DVD - 2011)
£3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews